12/30 Tiki - PMPS 151, +1 162,

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tonya and Tiki

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59640


How the heck did I end up in the blues after I skipped a dose AND had a fur shot yesterday???
 
Re: 12/30 Tiki - AMPS 194, +2 76!!!

always good to recheck a crazy number. test again and if it's in that neighborhood, you might want to give a couple of teaspoons of low carb food to slow tiki down.
 
Re: 12/30 Tiki - AMPS 194, +2 76!!!

just looking at tiki's ss - you haven't done the low numbers dance yet.

so you're prepared, you might want to reread the post about dealing with low numbers. it's also in the sticky, but i'll bump the post for you cuz i think it's more straightforward.

you don't need to do anything until tiki goes below 50, but you want to keep testing now, perhaps in another 30 minutes or so. non-diabetic cats can be in the 40's, so it's not a crisis, just time to monitor and respond if needed.

when they go below 50 you can pop open a can of high carb food and give a teaspoon of the gravy only. wait 20ish minutes for it to get into the bloodstream and then retest. repeat every 20 minutes or so til you're past tiki's nadir.

alternatively, you can give a drop (maybe the size of a dime) of karo syrup added to the regular low carb food.

once they pop up, they can still have wobbly numbers as the sugar wears off, so you have to be vigilant until you're past the nadir and secure that it's going to stay there.

don't overfeed because you want tiki to be able to eat when you want.
 
Re: 12/30 Tiki - AMPS 194, +2 76, +3 70

Julie - you missed the drama from the other night when I tested him for his night shot and he was at 70. We stalled and he went up and then came down again. So we skipped the shot and went to bed. Then yesterday I did my first official wet, stinky fur shot. So how in the heck is he in the greens when the shed should be waaaaay depleted??? Very odd.

Guess I am sticking around the house today.
 
Re: 12/30 Tiki/+6 81, +9 137, +11 137 DOSING QUESTION

I will need to give Tiki his PM shot in about 30 mins and was wondering if I should make any changes to his 2.5 units based on any of his low numbers today. We started this morning at 197 and came down to the 70's. If he doesn't go up over the 130's (time will tell) should I bring his dose down to 2.0?
 
Re: 12/30 Tiki/+6 81, +9 137, +11 137 DOSING QUESTION

The dose isn't reduced unless numbers drop below 50. I have a sneaky suspicion that Tiki may decide he's done with this dose tonight but you should shoot your usual dose.

Did you give any high carb today?
 
Re: 12/30 Tiki/+6 81, +9 137, +11 137 DOSING QUESTION

No, based on Julie's mention of 50 being the number to watch out for.
 
Re: 12/30 Tiki/+6 81, +9 137, +11 137 DOSING QUESTION

Thanks. The reason I asked is that there are times if you are working very hard to keep numbers from tanking, that may be a situation where a dose reduction is warranted. This wasn't one of those situations, though.
 
Re: 12/30 Tiki - PMPS 151

I am on vacation this week so I can accommodate low numbers this week....what happens when I have to go back to work? How do people deal with this when real life is calling?
 
after you have more numbers, for most cats you start seeing some patterns that help you predict. one of the biggest helps is if you can get a +2 before you leave for work. ideally, the +2 is similar to the preshot number. if the +2 is significantly less then you can expect to see dropping numbers over the next few hours. at least that's the typical thing - you'll have to watch and see if that seems true for tiki or not.

if you see there's a drop, then you can figure out your next step. many people who are gone to work mid-day have a timed feeder that will open so the cat can get some food. you can leave high carb in it to open up a couple of hours later. some people mix the food with water and freeze ice cubes or muffin cups and then leave out the frozen food and the cat eats it (hopefully) as it thaws.

I can get home to test at +5, which is before punkin's nadir, and sometimes my son is here and he'll do it. so if i see something that makes me concerned, i have options.

you might want to try out the frozen pucks now to see if tiki will eat them. i haven't done that yet but keep thinking i should.

i did see your skipped shot the other night, but i didn't see anything below 50 so i was assuming you hadn't done the carb-poke-carb-poke dance yet. just didn't want you to get caught without knowing the next step.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top