12/30 TAFFY Still not eating well AMPS 303/+2 293/+7.5 161/+11 310/PMPS 361/+2 314

Status
Not open for further replies.
How's he doing Julie? Any luck with your forays to find foods he will eat? Any word back from the vet??
Still no call from vet. I called them 3 hours ago. Calling again now. He has eaten some kibbles and a little more Rad Cat. I am in a very agitated mood, so I am trying to chill and clear my head. I love my cats tremendously, but I don't know how much more I can take of this merry-go-round. I do not have a supportive partner, unlimited finances, not to mention the extra cat chores and errands. I am sure everybody here has experienced these frustrations. i am going to take a break here too for the afternoon, at least. Thanks for your and everyone's support. I am just feeling overwhelmed and sorry for myself
 
Quick post and then really taking a little break, physical and mental.
Talked to vet. Good news: kidney values GOOD, liver values GOOD
This is pancreatitis flare. Panc enzymes quite elevated. They use a different lab then his previous tests so can't compare, but she says IDEXX values are 0-3.5 and he was 4.9
Instructions are: continue Cerenia tabs, pepcid, and bupe. No stim if he is willing to eat, even dry. Let him eat dry i/d, but not gorge. Continue insulin if he eats.
 
Julie, I am sorry you are going through a pancreatic flare with Taffy. They are no fun and very frustrating trying to find something they will eat. I agree ....... if dry is all they will eat then give it, but keep trying with lower carb food. Eventually Taffy will start eating, although I am sure you don't think that at the moment!:bighug:

Good news that the liver and kidneys are in good shape! That is a bonus!
Now you have a diagnosis of pancreatitis you will know how to proceed.
Pancreatitis needs pain relief, something for the nausea and SubQ fluids if kitty is dehydrated, and a lot of them do get dehydrated with it. Have you checked for dehydration.?

If he is "tripping" and has huge pupils, it is most likely the bupe. It should disappear when it wears off. Are you giving oral bupe? If so you may need to lower the dose a bit.
Another good med for nausea is ondansetron which can be given at the same time as cerenia....they work on different parts of the brain. That might help. If Taffy is nauseated he won't want to eat.

Hang in there. It is very hard if you have no support at home and have financial restraints........we all understand that.
I am just going through a pancreatic flare with Sheba and it is a very draining time for the bean.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Have you checked for dehydration.?
He got 200ml fluids yesterday at vet.
I am just going through a pancreatic flare with Sheba and it is a very draining time for the bean.
Sorry that you and others are dealing with this, too. I sure wish there was an easy fix or ideal food. I am trying to learn to step back for a little bit and chill so i don't lose it! It is a lot with the insulin and testing, Taffy's inhaler, then to add pilling multiple meds (pilling the worst for Taffy) and the food frustration. We are all in the same boat, it would seem.
 
Yes that's Zofran. Yesterday I added the two and it may have helped Gus turn that anti jinx corner. My vet said one or the other 0ndansetron ( I use the name Zofran, I can pronounce it) and the cerenia, but as they work on different receptors and are safe together I gave him both. The published primer on Pancreatitis management says ok to give both. He is much more comfortable today.

Julie it's ok to hit a wall and offload it here, we all do..that's one of the miracles of this forum, nobody judges when we do, rather they offer more hands of support to help us stand back up to fight some more..

This IS really hard..for so many many reasons and only the courageous even end up landing here fighting this fight...taking on this multi headed hydra we battle:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hang in there, we are here to listen and help where we can:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Out right
Yes that's Zofran. Yesterday I added the two and it may have helped Gus turn that anti jinx corner. My vet said one or the other 0ndansetron ( I use the name Zofran, I can pronounce it) and the cerenia, but as they work on different receptors and are safe together I gave him both. The published primer on Pancreatitis management says ok to give both. He is much more comfortable today.

Julie it's ok to hit a wall and offload it here, we all do..that's one of the miracles of this forum, nobody judges when we do, rather they offer more hands of support to help us stand back up to fight some more..

This IS really hard..for so many many reasons and only the courageous even end up landing here fighting this fight...taking on this multi headed hydra we battle:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hang in there, we are here to listen and help where we can:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Out right now. Updates soon. Need to do more reading, but it's useless when my head is not in it. My vet has is also giving pepcid. Idk if this is called for, but I am being a good client for now, and following instructions as best as I can. Vets get annoyed with me bcuz I don't always do what they suggest. She wants to do scans next, but I am pretty tapped out financially. I want to ask, if they did this and he was found to have inflamed panc or ? Wouldn't treatment be the same anyhow? Idk.
 
Have you considered an appetite stimulant like Fortiflora? It is a powdered probiotic supplement consisting mainly of animal digest, which is the same stuff they spray on kibble to make it so tasty and irresistible. Many here, including myself, have used it with success to get kitties to eat wet food when they otherwise wouldn't.

Before starting any supplementation, you should run it by your vet first to make sure any of its ingredients are not contraindicated for pancreatitis.
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't rush for an ultrasound. The p'itis number is not that high but it could be because it was just starting. Max was as high as 50 and often in the 20's. Just treat the symptoms for now. I wouldn't use Pepcid. Just give cerenia and if it doesn't work push to add ondansetron. What dose are the tablets? Sometimes they don't give a large enough dose as it doesn't all get absorbed. Good news on the kidneys.
 
I am glad you gave insulin today, that will also help him feel better. And it looks like he was coming down today. Did you get any other tests in today? I got a little too much experience this year with shooting when a cat won't eat. :rolleyes: Most of the time I gave Neko her full dose, cause I knew I could get food in eventually, whether by syringe or finally convincing her something was yummy. At one point, catnip sprinkled on top worked. Even when cats are going under anesthesia and can't eat, vets will usually suggest at least half a dose. Insulin is used by the body for other things than countering the food taken in.

Good to hear generally good blood work results even if pancreatitis is suggested. Sending along some more appy vines your way.:bighug:
 
I wouldn't use Pepcid.
Like I said, I was just trying to follow directions of the vet for once! :p But I would like to eliminate the pepcid. One less thing to pill.
What dose are the tablets?
On the Cerenia? I am giving 12mg (1/2 a 24 mg). He is at 14lb 8oz now so he could be in btwn the 12 mg dose or one whole 16 mg tabs? What's the dosing on the odenestron/zofran?
Did you get any other tests in today?
I got a couple. He got down to 161, which was good considering the skip and kibbles.

got a little too much experience this year with shooting when a cat won't eat.
Sorry. :( I could sure use your experienced advice, though. I have a full week next week and I am hoping things level out by then!
Good to hear generally good blood work results even if pancreatitis is suggested. Sending along some more appy vines your way.
Thanks!
http://catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

Here's a food list. Tanya's is newer but not all gave carb count.
THanks
 
Did not eat as well for dinner as he did earlier. He did eat some kibbles, but not too much of his RadCat. I could not locate him after dinner/shot and found him in the bathroom laying in the litterbox. I think he was doing this earlier today, too. He has never done this before. Does it mean pain?

I am also concerned about his prior issues with urinary probs when on dry. I think his urine pH was good at vet, I'll pick up a copy of everything tomorrow morning. But eating kibble could change pH over a few days. I could feed him his old food S/O, that's what he was eating when we got him. Or I could supplement l-methionine. I'll ask vet. Maybe I'll get a can of S/O to try (instead of the dry). He used to like it ok. I have pH test strips but it is so hard to catch him peeing and catch the pee! Last thing I need is to add UT problems! I did try to palpate his bladder and it did not feel full or hard, but what do I know?!
Gave bupe.
 
Last edited:
The dose for Zofran/ondansetron ?
I have the wafers which dissolve on the tongue. They are 4 mg per wafer and I give half a wafer twice a day.....ie 2 mg. They can be given every eight hours if necessary.
They are very good for nausea and work fairly quickly.
 
Do you have the "Where Can I Find?" link bookmarked? On the "Basics: New to the Group" sticky, near the bottom, is a link to stimulating a kitty's appetite. Rotisserie chicken was pretty much guaranteed to pique Punkin's appetite. Lunchmeat is another option, freeze dried meats, tuna juice sprinkled over food, parmesan cheese, oregano or catnip (they are related) . . . I'd feed dry if I couldn't get anything else to work, but I'd try all of the others in that link first. Even pulverizing the dry and sprinkling it over canned.

Also on the WCIF? link is a good thread about skipping shots when a cat isn't eating well. I think it would be worth reading in your situation and give you some confidence on how to deal with things when it's shot time. It's at the bottom in the section about my cat is ill. I'm copying just those first couple of threads here.
My cat may be ill/not feeling great/have a special condition:
Appetite, lack of appetite and skipping shots
Assist Feeding (video)
Assist Feeding Yahoo Group
We all get how discouraging things can be, especially if you can't get your cat to eat. Many cats have p-titis episodes and they do pass. Hang in there!! Punkin continued having chronic p-titis, but he mostly seemed ok and ate ok after the initial episode.
 
+2 = 314
Those kibbles are screwing us up!
He did finish the RadCat (total about 1oz) and I put out some more with kibble croutons
Bupe on board, he was very jumpy at testing. Thought that I cut him somewhere with the lancet bcuz he jerked and those things are so very sharp! But I could not find any cuts, thank goodness.
I'm going to let him alone for most of the night. I think that's safe.
 
What do you mean? Is he laying in his litter box? I'd take that to mean that he feels pretty awful. I'd try moving him to something cozy to give him an alternative. Sending healing vines to your sweet boy.
Yes, he was laying in the box. I did move him and he has his bupe on board now. In past, with Panc flare, he would lay int the bathroom on the tile but never b4 in the box.
 
Do you have the "Where Can I Find?" link bookmarked? On the "Basics: New to the Group" sticky, near the bottom, is a link to stimulating a kitty's appetite. Rotisserie chicken was pretty much guaranteed to pique Punkin's appetite. Lunchmeat is another option, freeze dried meats, tuna juice sprinkled over food, parmesan cheese, oregano or catnip (they are related) . . . I'd feed dry if I couldn't get anything else to work, but I'd try all of the others in that link first. Even pulverizing the dry and sprinkling it over canned.

Also on the WCIF? link is a good thread about skipping shots when a cat isn't eating well. I think it would be worth reading in your situation and give you some confidence on how to deal with things when it's shot time. It's at the bottom in the section about my cat is ill. I'm copying just those first couple of threads here.
My cat may be ill/not feeling great/have a special condition:
Appetite, lack of appetite and skipping shots
Assist Feeding (video)

Assist Feeding Yahoo Group
We all get how discouraging things can be, especially if you can't get your cat to eat. Many cats have p-titis episodes and they do pass. Hang in there!! Punkin continued having chronic p-titis, but he mostly seemed ok and ate ok after the initial episode.
Thanks, i definitely read about the shots, etc. I think I have tried all of the above tricks and I do rotate and keep trying. I am hoping that the dry, since he will eat it now, will just sustain him enough and work back to wet. He has eaten some RadCat with the dry.
 
Do you have the "Where Can I Find?" link bookmarked? On the "Basics: New to the Group" sticky, near the bottom, is a link to stimulating a kitty's appetite. Rotisserie chicken was pretty much guaranteed to pique Punkin's appetite. Lunchmeat is another option, freeze dried meats, tuna juice sprinkled over food, parmesan cheese, oregano or catnip (they are related) . . . I'd feed dry if I couldn't get anything else to work, but I'd try all of the others in that link first. Even pulverizing the dry and sprinkling it over canned.

Also on the WCIF? link is a good thread about skipping shots when a cat isn't eating well. I think it would be worth reading in your situation and give you some confidence on how to deal with things when it's shot time. It's at the bottom in the section about my cat is ill. I'm copying just those first couple of threads here.
My cat may be ill/not feeling great/have a special condition:
Appetite, lack of appetite and skipping shots
Assist Feeding (video)

Assist Feeding Yahoo Group
We all get how discouraging things can be, especially if you can't get your cat to eat. Many cats have p-titis episodes and they do pass. Hang in there!! Punkin continued having chronic p-titis, but he mostly seemed ok and ate ok after the initial episode.
Interesting stuff about the skipping shots. that is what my vet said at Dx. Taffy had low elevated Panc results at Dx and was at Dr for this when he was Dx's with FD. Doctor said, if he doesn't eat, give half dose of insulin. I did skip last night but his PMPS was low and no appy. I will try to give less and less dry and more wet/raw each day. And keep trying "tricks".
 
I think you can take a break for tonight. Better to have him eating the dry than not eating! You can only do what you can do - kitties have minds of their own!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top