12/30 Socrates AMPS 235 PMPS 440

Ilianna and Socrates

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-socrates-hypo.240557/#post-2708307

Hello! Still lower than usual with so little insulin..I am confused...In the begining of Decenber he had a full blood work and apart from diabetes of course ,he was ok ( he has slightly elevated creatinin levels 2.3 for the last 2 years ).The vet recomended to increase insulin to 2 units x2 from 1 unit because during the curve at the clinic he was all the time above 300. Thank God I had found this amazing group and only increased by 0.25 .But it seems it was already too much.As you can see on his spreadsheet he is now on 0.75. I also changed Purina DM to other wet food low in carbs.
Can this drop of BG levels be caused by something else,illness for instance?:confused::confused::confused::confused:
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Just saw this! Not getting alerts for tags.

The drop in BG levels could just be on account of change to a low carb diet. :-)

Please get at least one test in addition to the pre-shot tests? It does not have to be +6, it can be +2 in some cycles, +3 in others etc. Without the tests, we don't know how low he is going and whether the dose is too high or not high enough!
 
Not a bad start on this dose. Is it possible to get another test later in the PM hours? I'm curious as to what's going on at night...not many tests there. A lot of kitties do their best work at night...it would be a good idea to get a test before going to bed and then set a alarm and get one around 6-9+. You may be surprised.
 
Not a bad start on this dose. Is it possible to get another test later in the PM hours? I'm curious as to what's going on at night...not many tests there. A lot of kitties do their best work at night...it would be a good idea to get a test before going to bed and then set a alarm and get one around 6-9+. You may be surprised.
I will do it! I don't need an alarm,he wakes me up 2-3 times every night for food:joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful: Btw amazing spreadsheet!So detailed!!wow!!
 
PMPS 440 !!
He is still on 0.75 units as tiffmaxee suggested.Couldn't get hin tested between shots,he was too nervous and would not cooperate.Should I increase again to 1 unitfrom tomorrow or wait ? @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
PMPS 440 !!
He is still on 0.75 units as tiffmaxee suggested.Couldn't get hin tested between shots,he was too nervous and would not cooperate.Should I increase again to 1 unitfrom tomorrow or wait ? @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
Without any nighttime tests, I can’t suggest you increase. Cats often go lower at night and, before we increase the dose, we need to know how low the current one is taking him.

Thanks for starting a new condo and good job linking the last one.
 
Back
Top