12/30 Moo, AMBG 334 - +8(?)- 73 (Questions) *Dental today*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
So today Moo had his dental cleaning complete with extractions.
HE was in the 300's before we went to the vet, so as can be imagined, when the vet checked his levels before surgery she said he was in the 400s.
They gave him .5 units of Lantus before or during surgery (not quite sure which, but around 10ish am)
I tested him at 7am but obviously did not shoot for the dental and since he had not eaten.
He had 5 extractions.
I brought him home about 430pm and he promptly scarfed down 1/2 can of wet food.
I gave him another 1/2 can of food and he has been munching on that now as well.
He is on pain meds and just had some at 6pm central time (about an hr and 20 min ag0)
I just tested his BG as well to see how he was doing. The vet said don't give him any insulin until at least 8 tonight depending on if he ate or not.
Well obviously he ate, but on my check of his bg i found he was only at 73!
He is never this low before insulin at night.
Obviously at this point right now I am not shooting, but am going to continue to check him and see if the #s go up with the food.
The pain meds he is on is bupernorphine.
Now she didn't say this would effect his numbers, but does anyone have any experience with numbers after dentals?
He is normally on .75 twice a day.
The vet even wanted me to bring him up to 1.0 tomorrow when back to our regular schedule and only do .5 tonight.
Thoughts?
 
I'd wait and decide on what/if to shoot until you get preshot numbers while he is on Bupe. Maybe time the Bupe dose so that it isn't wearing off when you are testing or test during the times when it will be full strength too to see what its doing to his BGs. Bupe almost always lowered BGs for me.

Glad Moo came out of his dental well!
 
Thanks! I will def keep an eye on his #s. It has been an hour and he has gone from 73 to 90. so he's on the rise for sure.
Ill keep an eye out.
Perhaps will end up skipping tonights shot and starting fresh tomorrow?
 
Anesthesia can significantly lower blood sugar. I'd plan on skipping tonight. It also would be smart to skip so you have 12 hrs between shots. This way you can shoot at your regular time tomorrow.

Go easy with the food. Anesthesia can also slow down stomach motility and result in vomiting.

I gave a tsp of food every half hour for a couple of hours to start with.
 
I agree with Julie - hold off on the insulin tonight. I've seen too many people have a cat go diving while still feeling the effects of anesthesia. Ditto on the food, you don't want a scarf on barf so do small amounts at once. I'd also stick with .75U tomorrow if that's your usual dose. Moo's SS doesn't show the units shot, but I assume it's .75 and you got green on this dose a few days ago.

Buprenorphine by itself doesn't impact the BG's (Neko's on it long term), but removing the pain can lower the numbers. I'd also make sure you test fairly regularly the next few days. We've had some kitties go down dose after dental once they've started healing.

Sending lots of healing vines to Moo.
 
Thanks everyone! I thought about that with the food but since he hadnt eaten since last night... i fed him. He has a bunch left in his bowl so he has stopped for now.
I just realized i forgot to update the dose in his SS when i updated it. Sorry, but yes, he has been on .75.
She gave him .5 today during the dental
Wanted .5 tonight and up to 1.0 tomorrow... but i had planned on bringing that info here for sure first knowing that vets don't always follow the #s as closely as most of us do!
Thanks again!
 
He's been going up. 73 to 90 and now 152 :). Still going to skip tonight and let everything get out of his system and start fresh tomorrow
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top