12/30 Mikey PMPS 277, +1 303, +2 283, +3 301 PM food change

Status
Not open for further replies.
Morning, Mary

I'm still working on my pots of :coffee::coffee: today after a little PJ party last night. So I need some time to clear my head and look at his SS again. I also know Jill and perhaps Libby will be putting their heads together on it. So try not to :banghead: too much yet.
 
Thanks, Marje! He's definitely surfing in yellow. I think that's progress. One very funny thing: Mikey loves boxes, as do most cats. I have several shoe and boot boxes under our bed that I've been saving for a project. Mikey discovered one he didn't know was there this morning. Just now when I went to test him, I found him that cool new box. I pulled the box out from under the bed, spun it so his ears were toward me, tested, spun it back around, then pushed it and him back under the bed. He barely blinked! Obviously this testing stuff is terribly stressful for him. :)))
 
Hey Mary. It looks like a bounce clearing day for the two of us...

If only testing was so easy every time! Just slide him out, test, slide back in.

I hope that the fine folks here come up with some ideas for you. You can really use a break all of Mikey's wild swings.
 
Thanks, Marje! He's definitely surfing in yellow. I think that's progress. One very funny thing: Mikey loves boxes, as do most cats. I have several shoe and boot boxes under our bed that I've been saving for a project. Mikey discovered one he didn't know was there this morning. Just now when I went to test him, I found him that cool new box. I pulled the box out from under the bed, spun it so his ears were toward me, tested, spun it back around, then pushed it and him back under the bed. He barely blinked! Obviously this testing stuff is terribly stressful for him. :)))

Thanks, Mike. His +9 reading as me totally baffled!
 
I think you're right, Mike. Now that he's finally clearing, I'm going to put him back to the 8% food. That's the one that came before the 3% that came before the 10% that came before... :) Don is on Mikey duty tonight, so I can go down to my brother's for a family dinner. While I'll only be about 20 minutes away, I don't want Don to have to deal with a dive or low numbers. You know me! C-O-N-T-R-O-L-I-N-G! Speaking of which, I'm going to get a +10 before I print out Don's 20 pages of directions. How does he stand me???? lol
 
I think you're right, Mike. Now that he's finally clearing, I'm going to put him back to the 8% food. That's the one that came before the 3% that came before the 10% that came before... :) Don is on Mikey duty tonight, so I can go down to my brother's for a family dinner. While I'll only be about 20 minutes away, I don't want Don to have to deal with a dive or low numbers. You know me! C-O-N-T-R-O-L-I-N-G! Speaking of which, I'm going to get a +10 before I print out Don's 20 pages of directions. How does he stand me???? lol

I see that you have been trying several varieties of food containing different levels of carbs. From you notes, it seems as if he prefers the 3% carb food over the 8% food.

How does he like the 10% food? Was he eating the 10% exclusively from 12-26-12/29?

Hope that you enjoy dinner with your family. :)
 
Hi Mary and Mikey!

I haven't posted in Mikey's condo before and just wanted to say hello. :cat:

He sure does have a baffling SS, and boy does he know how to bounce clear! :D:nailbiting: - and bounce, unfortunately. Those bounces are maddening. Until very recently, Eddie liked to keep a very colorful spreadsheet. If you didn't know better, you'd think that he was aiming to get as many colors on his SS as possible during each cycle. After bouncing badly for a year, my guy Eddie finally started to have less bouncing out of nowhere. Hopefully Mikey's bouncing settles down soon for you.

I'm very curious as to what suggestions you might get to help figure Mikey out. I've done similar food manipulations with Eddie in the past to try to slow him down or prop up some of his early cycle dives with varying degrees of success.
 
When Rusty is asleep in his little bed next to the radiator I often swing it around to get a good view of his ear. He wakes up, but is totally relaxed.
Sorry that Mikey is in bounce mode, but that's the way it is for some cats. They bounce until they stop bouncing. Good luck with the food experiments.
Happy New Year!

Ella & Rusty
 
I see that you have been trying several varieties of food containing different levels of carbs. From you notes, it seems as if he prefers the 3% carb food over the 8% food.

How does he like the 10% food? Was he eating the 10% exclusively from 12-26-12/29?

Hope that you enjoy dinner with your family. :)
The 3% maybe his favorite, but he'll eat any of them as long as they don't have chicken in them. He is not a chicken fan. I have to get turkey formula foods for him.

I had a wonderful time with my family. It's so wonderful to have them all together. I can't wait to see them again tomorrow. Depending on how much time Don wants to spend down there, we may need to bring Mikey with us, which is fine. He's easy!
 
The 3% maybe his favorite, but he'll eat any of them as long as they don't have chicken in them. He is not a chicken fan. I have to get turkey formula foods for him.

I had a wonderful time with my family. It's so wonderful to have them all together. I can't wait to see them again tomorrow. Depending on how much time Don wants to spend down there, we may need to bring Mikey with us, which is fine. He's easy!

I'm glad to hear that you were able to spend time with your family.:) I hope that you are feeling a bit better at this point.

Mikey seems to have flattened out with no crazy dives here lately.
 
I'm glad you got out, Mary. Good job, Don!!!

I think sticking with the 8% might be better. Look how many times he crashed on 0.1u with 3% food. IF you can get him flattened out, then you can raise the dose if his BG goes up.
 
Oh man! I'm so annoyed! I checked my e-mail this morning before T/F/S, and it only notified me of Mike's post, not yours, Marje. Mikey was so high this morning, that since there was nothing here, I fed 3%. Ugh! That will teach me. Should've checked here not just e-mail.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top