12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/64

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u +6.5/272 PMPS 292 +2/241 +6.5/

just tested mikey at +6.5 BG was 42. Is anyone around to just help me out. I tested at 5:45am. Gave him 1/4can as usual. I should retest in 30min?

interesting that the last time he was this low was exactly 1 month ago
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u +6.5/272 PMPS 292 +2/241 +6.5/

Did you give him a little bit of high carb food? Just a bit - less than a tablespoon, then yes - retest in 30 minutes. You don't want to feed him too much because you want him to stay a bit hungry in case you need to give him more HC food again, plus you don't want to end up with a "scarf and barf". You want to keep repeating the feeding/testing every 30 minutes (ie, "lather, rinse, repeat") until Mikey tests conisistently in a safe range (at least over 50, but you don't want to over-carb him, either). Keep in mind that the effects of the food will wear off, so you do need to keep testing for a while.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u +6.5/272 PMPS 292 +2/241 +6.5/

That's what I thought but it's been a while since I've had him so low (and this is the lowest) just wanted to make sure. THanks!
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u +6.5/272 PMPS 292 +2/241 +6.5/

No prob - sounds like you've got it under control :cool: !

Congrats on earning that reduction, too!
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

I just gave him LC food (the FF pate which I normally feed) I didn't want to go right into HC and get a false food spike reading if I didn't need to. Was that a bad decision? He is rising but slowly. Do I need to give him HC?
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

I've been watching Mikey's ss updates and was just wondering myself whether now was the time to stop with the food and see what happens. I'm sure someone with more experience will be along soon to give you the answer. Good job today :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

You're doing great!!

You only need to give HC to bring numbers above 50. If LC is working to keep Mikey surfing, that's wonderful. Sometimes, you need to keep giving HC if numbers drop back down. The more time that Mikey is spending in those 50s and 60s (basically, in the greens) the more opportunity for his pancreas to heal.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

Now (at 9am) his BG is 118. Should I test again at 10am (+11)?
Also, am I shooting 2.5u this morning at 11am or waiting or does it depend on how high he is at PS?
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

Since it looks like Mikey is heading up, I think you can wait until AMPS to re-test. Mikey's in safe numbers. The only reason you would want to test at +11 would be if numbers were still bobbling around or if you were unsure if your AMPS was a dropping number. Given that you're seeing a nice rise, I think you can hold off until shot time.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

I am still going to shoot 2.5u or does it depend on what his PS # is?
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

Unless his numbers are way lower than what you're used to seeing, shoot your usual dose. If you're not sure, post before you shoot -- just don't feed.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

Hi Jen!
Good job with this!
Doesn't that number in the 40's mean a reduction?
Carl
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

Carl's correct. The 42 would warrant a reduction. I'd be attentive to numbers for the next couple of days though. It looks like you shot 2.5u yesterday AM. It's possible that you saw the effect of the dose increase in the PM cycle even though your reduced the dose back to 2.25u for the PM cycle.

Given how tenaciously that Mikey has held on to the yellows and pinks, I'm tempted to suggest that you hold the dose for 2 more drops into the 40s. If you look at this version of the protocol, it's what is specified. It's up to you how you want to handle the reduction. These are all options.
TR Protocol said:
Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

ok AMPS was 360! my goodness he went up fast!!! so i am shooting 2.5u? I know Carl asked if the #'s in the 40's warranted a dose reduction?

Am I to expect another "green episode" after his shot? I am supposed to have New Years Eve plans, lol
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

Given the bounce, I would shoot the old dose in order to help numbers come back down. Isn't 2.25u your usual dose, though? I'm not sure why you increased to 2.5u yesterday AM and then decreased back to 2.25u in the PM.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

sorry, that was my error (i corrected the SS). he got 2.5u last night NOT 2.25.
Yesterday was the start of an increased dose from 2.25 to 2.5 as per Marje recommendation since I was past 6 cycles with still being pink/yellow

With that correction, I am to shoot the 2.5u?
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

It's not a matter of cycles. You simply allow Mikey to drop a total of 3 times below 50.

Here's what I would suggest. Since I was basing my suggestion on the info on your SS that was incorrect, how about reducing the dose to 2.25u. However, I would shoot 2.5u this cycle. Given that Mikey is bouncing, shooting through the bounce this way will help to get his numbers back down a bit quicker. Remember, a bounce can last for as long as 72 hours.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

Ok. I will shoot the 2.5u now and then decrease to 2.25u for tonight. Is that correct?

You don't want to increase/decrease on a bounce, is that why I'm shooting the 2.5u now?
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

You're not increasing. You're holding the dose to help the bounce to clear more quickly. And yes, you can reduce to 2.25u this evening.

You can drop the dose now, if you'd prefer. Shooting through the bounce is just a strategy for this kind of situation.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

I shot the 2.5u now and will monitor him throughout the day and post as much as possible and plan for shooting 2.25u tonight.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

I would get a +2.

You can edit out the numbers from your PMPS from your subject line. The info is on your SS and it's now yesterday's data.
 
Re: 12/30 Mikey AMPS 310/2.5u PMPS 292 2 +7.15/58 +8/60 +9/

thanks for the reminder Sienne. With all the focus on the low numbers i forgot to start a new condo. I did a +1 because we are leaving but decided to take him with us. I've taken him with me before, i feel more comfortable than leaving him. I have my phone and will be able to post/reply from it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top