12/30 Lucy PMPS=178;+2=166

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

12/29 AMPS=148 (0.75u); +2=178; +4=160; +9.5=158
12/29 PMPS=164 (0.50u); +2=144; +5.5=166

12/30 AMPS=184 (0.50u); +2=193 +9=182
12/30 PMPS=178 (0.50u); +2=166

Thank you, Dyana and Kim, for your support.
I am really depressed about this experiment (details in yesterday's condo), but I'm doing it mostly to prove my vet wrong.
I can't leave my vet thinking I'm overdosing Lucy.
Otherwise that will be where she's going to go every time Lucy doesn't eat or feel good in future.
I'm sacrificing Lucy's one week for this and it's so upsetting.

As for the timing of the fructosamine test, I want to do it when she will have been on a low dose for 3 weeks.
Since fructosamine shows the average of past 2-3 weeks, and I want to do it when that period doesn't overlap that 40s # she had once, so there will be no excuse for low fructosamine value.
Anyway this whole thing is making me guilty and unhappy, and I need to stop talking about this now.

Lucy's still eating fine this morning.
Not as perky as yesterday so far, but she's usually perkier in the afternoon than morning.
Today is the day the holistic vet comes!

Sending vines to all in need.
 
Re: 12/30 Lucy AMPS=184

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

This is just my opinion, but I think you should have a heart-to-heart with your vet...tell her exactly what you told us today - that this experiment is very upsetting to you because you don't think it is beneficial to Lucy's health. Share Lucy's spreadsheet with her - maybe even in a face-to-face appointment to go over the numbers and the slow and meticulous way you raised Lucy's dose which already proves that she's not overdose - there is literally no way it could happen given the approach you have taken with Lucy's dose increases.

You shouldn't have to sacrifice your cat (or experiment on her) to prove her wrong - not when you have all the real-time data in front of you in a spreadsheet. Itwould be a whole 'nuther ball of wax if you didn't hometest, but you do - you HAVE the numbers she needs to see Lucy that is not overdose. Honestly, an average really doesn't mean squat when you've got hour-by-hour numbers to look at. It seems pretty obvious to me that she is not familiar with the TR protocol - has she seen the official documentation on this approach to treating diabetes? Most vets aren't familiar with this approach, and maybe that is what is making her so obsessed with the idea that Lucy is overdose when we all know she isn't. The protocol is designed to get cats in good numbers WHILE keeping them at a safe dose - and you have done nothing that has taken Lucy out of that range.

More than anything YOU have to feel comfortable with how Lucy's treatment goes. If this is so upsetting to you (and I completely agree with you - I would be very upset, too), you need to tell your vet this. "Humoring her" over Lucy's health, well, it just bothers me...I don't like seeing you so upset over this.

More hugs...and good holistic vetty vines coming your way!

Amy
 
Re: 12/30 Lucy AMPS=184;+2=193

Average isn't as important as real time glucose, but NOBODY HAS ANY EXPLANATION WHY LUCY'S FRUCTOSAMINE CAME BACK LOW.
That one time 40's number could not have brought the "average" to low considering all the high-blue and yellows she had around that time.
I can't explain to the vet why I want to COMPLETELY disregard the fructosamine value.

I asked this question more than onece on this board, actually the first question I posted in the Health before I joinced LL.
I asked this question to more than one vets.
NOBODY HAS ANY ANSWER FOR ME.
 
Re: 12/30 Lucy AMPS=184;+2=193

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: It is hard to go against what the vet says when we know the vet is doing their best to help our kitties. I hope this experiment gets you both on the same page.

I'm glad Lucy is eating for you this morning. Sending good vetty vines for the holistic vet visit.
 
Re: 12/30 Lucy AMPS=184;+2=193

I'm sorry, Mariko - I forgot you mentioned the unexplained low fructosamine because I was so focused on how upset you were. I did a quick little search and found this article:

Fructosamine VS BG Curves

The second to last paragraph says this:
There can be laboratory issues related to fructosamine levels as well. Fructosamine is a protein, so anything that affects a pet's protein levels can potentially affect the results. If you have a pet who has increased blood lipids/fats (such as may occur with schnauzers), fructosamine levels may come out low. Hyperthyroidism in cats also artificially lowers the fructosamine levels. This makes it of questionable value for a diabetic cat that is also hyperthyroid.

This could be something to investigate.

I also wonder if there could be a lab error. Earlier this year, my Mom, who is in pretty darned good health, was told to get to the ER for a blood transfusion because something in her routine BW (I can't remember what) was so far off the charts they basically thought she was on the verge of death! It scared the you-know-what out of her, but it was all a lab error. So, it can happen.

Still sending hugs and prayers your way!
 
Re: 12/30 Lucy PMPS=178

Thank you very much, Amy, Carla, Rachel, for your hugs and kindness.
Amy - Thank for the info, and thank you for being so nice. I am now embarrassed I let my frustration took over me. I couldn't control it this morning.
Carla - Thank you. That is exactly what I'm trying to do, to be on the same page with the vet. It's easy to pretend I agree with what the vet says and do something else, but I want to avoid that if possible.
That's not right to do to people who are trying to help, even if it's her job.

I was feeling shitty all day today, but after the appointment with the holistic vet, I feel much better, for some reason.
It's not because of something she did or said, I don't know why, but I just feel good.
Lucy liked her too.
I'll post how it went in tomorrow's condo. I have to work now...... probably all night.

Lucy is feeling and eating good tonight.
She's even eating the Wellness Turkey, even non-moussey texture.
 
Re: 12/30 Lucy PMPS=178

I am so glad you are feeling better Mariko :-D And, of course, Miss Lucy too! I can't wait to hear about the holistic vet visit~
Hope you get a lot accomplished tonight :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top