12/30 Lucy AMPS=271 +3=208 +6=174 +9=185 Advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
We are having some success with the increase to 2.75 units. It is a little unusual in that at +9 the reading is similar to +6 whereas usually by +9 or +10 the glucose levels are rising. So being new to tight regulation if we get a similar reading at +12 do I give 2.75 units? I ask because a few days ago we had a 3.2/58 at +12 after a 6.4/115 at +10. Thank you so much.

Today's readings so far:
AMPS 15.1 mmol/L/271 mg/dl
+3 11.6/208
+6 9.7/174
+9 10.3/185

My previous post is at:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/opinions-needed-on-whether-to-increase-dose.130507/
 
Hi Sandy. Yes we are seeing some action. It was 24/12/2014 that we had the 3.2/58 which was at +12 and lower than the +10 reading. I think there is an issue with seeing all the readings when you view the U.S. version of the spreadsheet. You can see all the readings on the world version thank you.
 
Ah, yes I see it on the world tab, thanks.

It looks like Lucy is on the rise so it should be OK to shoot - if you are able to monitor closely and have plenty of strips and HC food and Lucy will eat when you need her to.
It's also good to have an experienced member around if you shoot your lowest PS ever, for support.
I'm afraid I 'm fading and will be calling it a night.
 
Okay thank you so much Sandy. I have HC food and all I need. Have a good night and thank you again.
 
The PMPS is 7.7/138 so it has dropped from 10.3/185 at +9. I forgot to not feed Lucy to see if her glucose level rises without food. I gave her some food so I could test as I always test with a small amount of food and then saw the lower reading and forgot to remove the food and she ate it. It is low carb food and it doesn't seem to raise her glucose level too much but that is another reason to wait now and not dose as I am not confident. It is the same situation that happened a few days ago where the +12 was lower than the +10.
 
I know with tight regulation you probably dose at 7.7/138 but I am too anxious to do so and I don't know if Lucy's blood glucose will keep dropping so I will wait and monitor in order to keep Lucy safe as I am not experienced at this time.
 
Safety always comes first. In this case the worry wasn't so much the level but the fact it had dropped significantly from your earlier test numbers. This is something to be careful of.

If you shoot late tonight you will need to keep shooting late until you slowly (15 mins per shot or 1/2 hour at one shot) move back to your regular shot time. Are you able to do this?

I'm happy to keep an eye on you tonight if you like. If the +14 is rising I would go ahead and shoot the full dose providing you can manage the scheduling until you get back to your regular shot time.
 
Thank you so much. Yes it was the fact that the number dropped significantly which made me decide not to give Lucy the insulin dose. Yes I know it will change our schedule now but that is fine and I can slowly work back to an earlier time as you said. I am often up late in any case so not a problem to do that and I will test again at 14+ and post before dosing. Thank you again.
 
I tested again at 13+ and it was 8.3/149 but I am not confident to give insulin yet as Lucy ate at 12+ as I didn't think to not feed her then so it could be that her glucose level without food might be lower than 8.3/149 so I will test again in half an hour from now and see what the reading is then. Thank you.
 
8.3/149 at +13
7.8/140 at +14
So glucose level is down a bit. I gave no food with the +14 test. I had given a teaspoon of food with the +13 test.
 
Do I feed any food and when? Lucy is meowing like she is hungry now. Earlier when her glucose dropped between +10 and +12 she was meowing a lot for food.
 
Those numbers are all within meter variance, she's not dropping anymore. I would go ahead and shoot and feed. I can stay up with you all night if needs be
 
Thank you Serryn so much for your support and your wisdom. Given that Lucy had a good size meal at 12+ do you think the food is influencing the reading now? I am thinking if I hadn't fed her at 12+ maybe her glucose might be testing lower than it is. Sorry if I sound inexperienced because I am and I feel anxious. Should I wait a little more like another half hour or an hour and test again just in case? I really don't want to keep you up all night :)
 
It's no problem Voula we've all been there - you fed low carb didn't you? I think it's okay but if you'd be more comfortable waiting another half hour and Lucy's not going to start gnawing at your arm then we can wait a little longer

Are you on the east coast?
 
We have been doing relaxed lantus where I think you don't dose under 200 or is it 150 if you have enough data? So if we are going to do tight regulation you dose above 50 and that is anxiety provoking :nailbiting: so I wonder if I am up to that? :nailbiting:
 
Thank you. Lucy has settled on the bed for a nap now. Yes I am on the east coast. I am a bit of a night owl in any case so it is fine.
 
I remembered you said the Whiskas loaf was fine and we needed some variety and also the fancy feast low carb are mostly fish varieties and I didn't want Lucy eating so much fish.
 
Damn I didn't even ask which protocol you were following - so you are planning on doing TR? I have no idea about SLGS but if that's what you're doing I can go and have a look at the guidelines.

For TR we would normally dose above 50 - as long as it's not a falling number, you are data ready to do that and able to monitor. It is very nerve wracking to start off with but once you've done it a few times and you know you can manage the low numbers it is less so - our motto is shoot low to stay low
 
I'm in Perth. Was there a question about the food? A lot of the Dines are also okay - Vyktor likes the turkey and the kitten. Ziwi Peak is the best, all the flavours contain green mussel though - good for arthritis and minus a lot of the problems of fish - especially the bigger ones like tuna, not sure about the phosphorous though
 
Yes we were on the relaxed lantus forum but the vet said we should try tight regulation as I am home most of the time and can home test.
 
No question about the food. You mentioned in another post that Whiskas loaf was okay so I bought some as Lucy was getting a bit bored with the low carb fancy feast and the low carb ones were mostly the fish varieties. So I am happy to find a food which is low carb and doesn't have fish in it.
 
Yes relaxed lantus you hold each dose for more cycles and you don't dose under 200 at first but I think I read if you have enough data you can dose at 150 and over so the idea of dosing under 150 is a bit scary as I have rarely dosed under 200 as we have not had lower readings until now.
 
Phew, I had just assumed that you were doing TR - got to get used to this all in one board! Go vet, sounds like you've got a good one that's up to date on FD :)

Does Lucy like her Whiskas? - who would have thought that some of those Whiskas would be in the good food pile!
 
I just looked at our spreadsheet and I have only dosed once under 200 and that was with 2.5 units. We are on 2.75 units now. So as you can imagine just a bit anxious. :nailbiting:
 
I love our vet. We are very lucky to have found her and yes Whiskas being one of the good foods is amazing. Well good in terms of being low carb in some of the varieties. Lucy loves Whiskas food.
 
Maybe I should work at gaining confidence in dosing between 150 and 200 first. I have decided I am going to gain confidence by dosing over 150 and then gradually reduce that as I feel like a nervous wreck at the thought of dosing at a lower reading at the moment. Given I have only dosed once under 200 this might be the best decision at the moment.
 
Last edited:
It's up to you but for Lucy the sooner you can get her and keep her in regular cat numbers the better. My Mum's cat was recently diagnosed and her vet gave her a cut off of 6/108 on shooting - before she had any data. When you can monitor numbers like these are not an issue, once you've done it a couple of times you'll wonder what you were so worried about ;)
 
Thank you. I know with time and experience I will get more confident and yes I agree that Lucy needs lower glucose levels and the sooner she can be in normal levels the better it is. That is interesting about what the vet told your mum about the cut off levels and best wishes for your mum's cat too. I will do another test soon and if the reading is higher I will give Lucy her insulin dose.
 
That's okay When I was a newbie people sat with me too, that's just what we do around here

Where are we at, must be about +15 yes?
 
Yes 15+ now. Lucy is snoozing and purring and I am not wanting to disturb her to do a blood glucose test but I know I will have to soon.
 
I could almost leave the next dose till the morning but I want to test soon as I don't want her to spend hours with high levels before the next dose.
 
How is she with testing? Vyktor could sleep right through his after a while!

I was just thinking - a good way for you to acclimatise yourself to shooting lower is to check out other spreadsheets for TR kitties. I remember doing a lot of that when I was new. Gives you a lot more confidence that it will be okay
 
We really struggled at first because Lucy is very feisty and she has a reputation with vets who are scared to examine her but with persistence and lots of love and treats now we do the tests with relative ease. It is amazing and the vet is shocked how I am managing to do the blood glucose tests at home as Lucy doesn't cooperate with the vet. Though lately we have been able to do a blood test at the vet without sedation.
 
Tee hee Vyktor is a monster at the vet too, he starts hissing at everyone as soon as we walk through the door - which is handy for the vet to check his teeth! His vet won't turn his back on him and avoids handling him if at all possible. If he does need to handle him the big glove comes out.

Time for that test and to make a decision...
 
Lucy is getting stressed with all the tests so I will give her a break for a few hours and test again later on. I just don't feel confident to dose under 150. Thank you again.
 
One question I have is what is the chance of a hypoglycemic episode at sixteen hours after insulin do you think? You would think most of the effects of the insulin have worn off by now. I have a terrible fear about hypoglycemic episodes which I need to overcome I know.
 
No problem, you will get there. Do look at some spread sheets when you have some time. It really helped me to get comfortable with shooting low and to see how it's the best way to keep them in good numbers.

Vyktor is a cutie - for his mumbean - he's generally a grump to everyone else - people say he's just like me :cat:

I'll sign off now and catch you later on, scritches to Lucy :)
 
Quote Voula: "One question I have is what is the chance of a hypoglycemic episode at sixteen hours after insulin do you think? You would think most of the effects of the insulin have worn off by now. I have a terrible fear about hypoglycemic episodes which I need to overcome I know."

Fairly remote, I wouldn't say it can never happen but it is definitely not going to happen to Lucy tonight - she is surfing not dropping, her numbers are nowhere near dangerous levels and her shed is being depleted.

It is good to maintain a healthy respect of the chances of hypo but don't let it be a debilitating fear. Again I would encourage you to check out some spreadsheets. Vyktor's lowest ever reading was a 1.7/31 and he still wasn't showing signs of hypo. Not that you want to get that low if you can avoid it but when Vyktor was going OTJ he was really going!
 
Thank you and good night Serryn and pats to Vyktor and yes I will study some spreadsheets for sure. Lucy is snoozing now after a snack. We will both have a nap now.
 
If anyone looks at our spreadsheet please view the world version rather than the U.S. version because the U.S. version isn't showing the readings correctly thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top