remember that your dosing decisions with Lantus are made on the low numbers - not the high. High numbers aren't good, but it's not going to do much damage in the short-run. You don't want to increase based upon high numbers. You want to increase based upon how low she gets. That's a hard concept for everyone to wrap their heads around, but it's how Lantus works, regardless of what dosing guidelines you use.
I agree with Libby that making dose increases in the 0.25u increments works better than skootching up. It's hard enough to measure 0.75 without trying to figure out a fat 0.75, but i'd do the best you can and then stick with it for 6 cycles.
What I always did when I wanted to figure out the dose was to look at the lowest numbers for the previous 3 days, then compare those lows to the dosing protocol (not sure if you're following TR?) and see what it suggested. On the fat 0.5u Lee Lu was getting nadirs in the blue 100's, so I'm highlighting the part below that I think applied to the increase that you did already today. Here's the TR dosing guidelines:
Increasing the dose:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Now that you've increased, I'd watch the nadirs and then in 3 days, do another comparison (unless she goes below 50 first - then she gets a decrease.)
If you can only get one mid-cycle test, Amanda, probably the most helpful one is going to be the one right before you go to bed. I'm not sure how late that is in her cycle, but the night time cycle is so often low and that can often tell you a ton. In fact, if you have to make a choice, i'd choose getting one night cycle test over a curve during the day cycle.
I doubt that there is any problem with your insulin. She still has a curve and it can get her to the 100's. This looks pretty typical - i think she's just gotten used to being a little higher and you're having to give a little more insulin to move her back into better numbers. That's normal to have to adjust the dose. She'll get back on track before long!