12/30 Kit AMPS 340, +1 305, +3 197, +4 227, +6 253, PMPS 316

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's thread

The vet should be stopping by today to give Kit an antibiotic shot, and otherwise, we're just hanging out. She's meowing for pets, I'm doing laundry, and the bf is playing video games. A pretty standard Saturday.

Happy new year to everyone - I hope you have a wonderful start to your new year! (Is anyone else excited to start a new SS so they don't have to scroll all the way to the bottom? :joyful:)
 
I was wondering what happened to Kit. :arghh: These aren't Kit like numbers. Poor girl. Good to see you are keeping on top of increases. Don't want her getting used to higher numbers.

Is the vet going to take a pee sample to have it analyzed? If Convenia isn't the right antibiotic (pee needs to be cultured to know what), then you have to wait until it's out of the system before taking another sample and figuring out what antibiotic really will work.

You can't believe how happy some of us are to not have to scroll to the bottom year's worth of data on a SS!
 
Yesterday's thread

The vet should be stopping by today to give Kit an antibiotic shot, and otherwise, we're just hanging out. She's meowing for pets, I'm doing laundry, and the bf is playing video games. A pretty standard Saturday.

Happy new year to everyone - I hope you have a wonderful start to your new year! (Is anyone else excited to start a new SS so they don't have to scroll all the way to the bottom? :joyful:)
Hope the vet visit went well, Alicia. Let’s get Kit cat back to her nicer numbers now. Paws crossed for a quick recovery.
Enjoy the mellow day and an early wish for a happy, healthy New Year! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I was wondering what happened to Kit. :arghh: These aren't Kit like numbers. Poor girl. Good to see you are keeping on top of increases. Don't want her getting used to higher numbers.

Is the vet going to take a pee sample to have it analyzed? If Convenia isn't the right antibiotic (pee needs to be cultured to know what), then you have to wait until it's out of the system before taking another sample and figuring out what antibiotic really will work.

You can't believe how happy some of us are to not have to scroll to the bottom year's worth of data on a SS!

Yeah, the numbers are what really let me know something was up, so I'm hoping this helps. Tonight will be the 6th cycle on this dose - how do I work increases while she's on antibiotics that might start to bring her numbers down?

Her vet didn't, she just went ahead and gave a shot of Covenia - I think as a hopefully this works, but also because Kit wasn't sedated enough to get a urine sample and had an empty bladder when the vet got here. If she's still having issues though, her vet and I talked about getting a sample.

Hope the vet visit went well, Alicia. Let’s get Kit cat back to her nicer numbers now. Paws crossed for a quick recovery.
Enjoy the mellow day and an early wish for a happy, healthy New Year! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Kit was displeased, as per usual, but other than some grumbles, since it was just a shot and then she could get down, she mostly behaved.
Sending wishes for a happy, healthy new year to y'all as well!
 
Follow what the numbers tell you to do. You increase as per TR, and reduce when a reduction is earned as per TR. You don't want her stuck in high numbers, just because something may or may not take her numbers down.
Thanks! So if I don't see better numbers during tonight's cycle, increase tomorrow? I know the protocol says 3-5 days, and she's seen some nadirs under 200, but they're brief.
 
My general rule of thumb with blues was, low blues hold 10 cycles, mid blues go for 8, upper blues just hold for 6. Kit has seen a couple low blue nadirs. Of course, I'd also consider whether it was a bounce breaking cycle coming up that might be best to hold the increase for a cycle.
Thanks again! I like that rule of thumb (now to remember it! :joyful:)
 
Hi Alicia, what a great vet you have ,checks her e mails, and stopped by between spots, she's a keeper :cat: I hope the antibiotic helps and if not I'm glad you and your vet talked about getting a pee sample. :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top