12/30 Ivy Amps 238, +2 155, +5 207, +6 85, +8 208, Pmps 208, +2 149, +2.25 99, +4 156 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...184-6-225-10-252-pmps-285-1-172-3-276.285068/
Amps 238
+1 199
+2 155
(All Libre readings)
Yesterday was soooo flat yellow. Haven’t seen any nice numbers since 2 days ago. Hoping for a lower am cycle now.
Heading out for dinner tonight and tomorrow at +1 so I will add 1/4 tsp 9.25% LC in her snacks for +1,2,3 just to make sure she doesn’t dive till I get home around 9:30ish pm.

Still itching shoulder areas both sides. Emailed the vet for suggestions. She probably will want me to bring Ivy in the office next week to look at her. Ugh. That means sedating her with gabapentin and trazodone night before and morning before the visit.
I hate doing that, but otherwise they can’t even handle her, she’s such a dragon :(

Have a safe surf and peaceful Saturday all :cat:
 
I think it's a good idea to bring her in for the itching. Don't beat yourself up over the sedation! You're doing the right thing trying to get answers.

Blue +2! :cool::cool::cool:
 
Nice drop Ivy!
Mikan's edging towards the beach today.
Let's meet up and play together with Nestle!
Poor thing with the itchy shoulders. I too hate having to bring any of my kitties to the vet. They completely freak out!
For now though, enjoy the holiday weekend, Staci!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Nice drop Ivy!
Mikan's edging towards the beach today.
Let's meet up and play together with Nestle!
Poor thing with the itchy shoulders. I too hate having to bring any of my kitties to the vet. They completely freak out!
For now though, enjoy the holiday weekend, Staci!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit and Mikan, it’s been an up and down day. But she’s definitely happy to visit to the beach with Mikan and Nestle :cool:

I made an appointment for Tuesday morning. She will be so miserable to have to go and be sedated. She feels like crap the entire day. But hoping they can figure something out to help her.

Enjoy the weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci. I’ve been thinking about you and your use of the Libre and handheld. I found this article which I skimmed and the lag time on the Libre can be 21 minutes or more or less. So you could be comparing apples and oranges as the BG can go up in 20 minutes which is why we suggest stalling without food for 20-30 minutes when a preshot is low.
Also, I suggest you read Basic’s condo as there’s lots of good info there about feeding the curve. Marje suggests you NOT feed more than 9%, when and why.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...40-4-135-10-108-pmps-111.285084/#post-3137985
 
Hi Staci. I’ve been thinking about you and your use of the Libre and handheld. I found this article which I skimmed and the lag time on the Libre can be 21 minutes or more or less. So you could be comparing apples and oranges as the BG can go up in 20 minutes which is why we suggest stalling without food for 20-30 minutes when a preshot is low.
Also, I suggest you read Basic’s condo as there’s lots of good info there about feeding the curve. Marje suggests you NOT feed more than 9%, when and why.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...40-4-135-10-108-pmps-111.285084/#post-3137985
Hi Elise, I appreciate your checking in with me. I feed Ivy only 6% daily. (Has been since October)
I only use a small amount of 9% mixed in with the 6% if I’m headed out the door for a few hours right after I feed and give insulin to hopefully keep her safe while I’m out till about +3.5 or so.

I would only use the 12% lamb if she were really going very low to bring her up, I haven’t used it in a very long time.

If Ivy had a low preshot I would absolutely test her with a handheld meter to decide what to do (I wouldn’t rely on the Libre, so don’t worry about that). I would absolutely rely on an ear prick.
Are we in sync on this?
 
Are we in sync on this?

Nope. I’m suggesting that with lag time the discrepancy might not be as big and I’d use the numbers you get from the Libre to increase or decrease. We went through this with pet meters vs human meters. People tried to compare them and some of our mods tried it unsuccessfully. The same I think is true of using both the Libre and hand held.
 
Are we in sync on this?

Nope. I’m suggesting that with lag time the discrepancy might not be as big and I’d use the numbers you get from the Libre to increase or decrease. We went through this with pet meters vs human meters. People tried to compare them and some of our mods tried it unsuccessfully. The same I think is true of using both the Libre and hand held.
Why wouldn’t you use the ear prick to tell you where she is at that very moment of the test? No lag time involved.
 
Are we in sync on this?

Nope. I’m suggesting that with lag time the discrepancy might not be as big and I’d use the numbers you get from the Libre to increase or decrease. We went through this with pet meters vs human meters. People tried to compare them and some of our mods tried it unsuccessfully. The same I think is true of using both the Libre and hand held.
I use the Libre to tell me “hey human”, Ivy is dropping low….go check with an ear prick to see what’s happening…. It’s a heads up for me that I need to be aware she’s dropping. Otherwise I wouldn’t know (unless I was ear pricking every hour or so, and if I happened to catch a low).
Yes, by the time I ear prick, she could have already bounced up on the handheld. Or, she could still be low. But that’s what I would learn with a blood prick.
 
With the lag time of 10-30 minutes she could already be on the way up. There’s no way to tell which meter is right. Pick one and go by that for dosing. That’s what is always advised.
 
With the lag time of 10-30 minutes she could already be on the way up. There’s no way to tell which meter is right. Pick one and go by that for dosing. That’s what is always advised.
Since I’ve always been advised here to always double check a low Libre BG with the handheld meter, I feel most comfortable doing that at this point. It seems logical to me.
 
That was for lime. I’m just suggesting you use the Libre data for decision making. You hold the syringe so it’s your choice. A reduction was earned on 12/28 with the 64.
 
That was for lime. I’m just suggesting you use the Libre data for decision making. You hold the syringe so it’s your choice. A reduction was earned on 12/28 with the 64.
But it was on the Libre. A 64 on the Libre can be around 130s
Here’s one from that same range (different day) when I did a manual test
upload_2023-12-30_18-25-49.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-30_18-25-49.jpeg
    upload_2023-12-30_18-25-49.jpeg
    61.6 KB · Views: 114
That was for lime. I’m just suggesting you use the Libre data for decision making. You hold the syringe so it’s your choice. A reduction was earned on 12/28 with the 64.
If I went by the Libre only, she would be on practically no insulin. She’d get reductions all the time. Her Libre numbers can be very low constantly. Look at her spreadsheet, tons of Libre lows.
 
If I went by the Libre only, she would be on practically no insulin. She’d get reductions all the time. Her Libre numbers can be very low constantly. Look at her spreadsheet, tons of Libre lows.
Hi Staci. I just wanted to see how the skin issue was going and I’m sorry to see that Ivy is still itching so much! And you have tried a lot of different topical treatments, I see. I hope the vet may have some ideas for you. It sounds like a real ordeal getting her there:arghh: When I look at Ivy’s spreadsheet, how do I know which numbers are a meter and which are Libre numbers? Is it only the ones that specifically say Libre — and all the others are your regular handheld meter? You may drive yourself crazy comparing those readings. I had a ReliOn Prime and a ReliOn Premier amd occassionally did a comparison between the two, but it was really just for my curiosity. I have seen Libre sensors read quite a bit lower in green numbers, when compared to a handheld human meter. Is that what you find as well? I would definitely pick one meter or the other to use as my meter for making decisions about increases or reductions. Otherwise things could get really out of whack (well, I mean if one time you relied on the Libre to make a decision and another time on your regular meter.
 
Hi Staci. I just wanted to see how the skin issue was going and I’m sorry to see that Ivy is still itching so much! And you have tried a lot of different topical treatments, I see. I hope the vet may have some ideas for you. It sounds like a real ordeal getting her there:arghh: When I look at Ivy’s spreadsheet, how do I know which numbers are a meter and which are Libre numbers? Is it only the ones that specifically say Libre — and all the others are your regular handheld meter? You may drive yourself crazy comparing those readings. I had a ReliOn Prime and a ReliOn Premier amd occassionally did a comparison between the two, but it was really just for my curiosity. I have seen Libre sensors read quite a bit lower in green numbers, when compared to a handheld human meter. Is that what you find as well? I would definitely pick one meter or the other to use as my meter for making decisions about increases or reductions. Otherwise things could get really out of whack (well, I mean if one time you relied on the Libre to make a decision and another time on your regular meter.
Hi Suzanne, yes I also really hope the vet can figure something out with her itching. Poor girl. And thank you for caring :)
For her SS, I have been listing ALL values as Libre, unless I do note in the cell that it’s on the Contour. (I usually note in that green cells “Libre”, so readers don’t get worried that I’m being casual about low greens). But all values on SS are Libre bgs.

And yes, I do find that the very low end of Libre greens will read very low, so I have always been advised to double check on a handheld meter, which I do. And based on the handheld, if she earns a reduction on that meter, I take it.
I sort of take the rest of the Libre readings with a bit of a grain of salt, I use it more like a road map. It tells me where she’s heading and it’s like a “heads up” to pay attention when she’s dropping. I’ve certainly ear pricked her and she’s low enough for a reduction many times. (And unless the Libre alarm was going off, I never would have known).

With just ear pricking every few hours, or just a few times a day, I would never know what I may be missing. So I can’t take a reduction if I don’t see it on the handheld meter.

I know the Libre causes so much angst here and I wish it didn’t. I’m not sure how to do this in a better way. I just don’t feel using only the Libre values will get Ivy to better numbers. She would earn a reduction all the time just based on the Libre greens because most times they’re not that low (on a handheld meter). Many times they test in the 100 on a handheld. :(
 
Back
Top