12/30 Doodles AMPS 242 +4 324 +8 210 PMPS 218

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 12/29 A bit disappointed with the start this morning but yesterday afternoon he sounded gurgley with breathing. This morning I he started choking after the heart meds and thought for sure they were coming up but didn't. I've been opening his mouth and inserting them for 9 months now and been surprised they haven't come up so think we're doing pretty good. I'm watching him but will do nothing about an increase for at least a day or two. Not sure where that 85 AMPS came from a few days ago because there certainly hasn't been any green in sight since.

Vines and prayers to all the kitties and beans.
 
Sending some breathing-vines to the Doodlebug!
Have you given him the newer medication yet....I think it was for asthma?
 
Have you given him the newer medication yet....I think it was for asthma
Sigh, I haven't Judy. It's not a life saving drug and it's used as a cough suppressant and he hasn't coughed since we picked up the script. He wanted me to try giving it to him once before bed for a week and then lower the Lasik to 30mg BID. It can be given every 8 hrs if needed. Yesterday I lowered the Lasik to 33.75mg BID and will watch to see how he does. The Dr. "suspects" lower airway disease which means asthma, chronic bronchitis, etc. Hydrocodone can cause GI upset so I'm very hesitant to use it without active symptoms.
 
Doodles... breath easy little one... mama bean is watching over you doing everything to make you comfortable... but i am not saying anything you dont already know and feel... sorry the breathing is happening again Karen... sending easy breathing and content kitty vines your way :bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug:

I don't blame you for hesitating on the new meds. Do you put him in the bathroom when taking a shower (steam)?

I thought his numbers were looking good. Hopefully he will come down a bit for you.
 
Closed doors would give him a heart attack...so no but sometimes he follows me in there.
Oh my, I had a kitty named Rocky that would FREAK out if a door was closed. It was so weird and sometimes super annoying. Kitties are super silly.
 
Hope Doodles works the juice for you today and maybe he popped up and is going to come down now. And glad the meds didn't come back up on him. That is funny about the closed door freaking him out. Cats are so peculiar sometimes.........

Can't blame you for not wanting to use the new drug without symptoms with it being a potential GI trigger.

Hope you have a good day Karen. :bighug:
 
Doodles, today is a breathe easy day, don't you know. Hope he comes down some.

Here's a thought on the hydrocodone. How about a half dose twice a week as preventive dose??? Might be worth a try. Can stop if need to. But if it keeps the coughing from happening or even lengthens the intervals between, that's good. Just MO. It lessens the chance of it happening. It's like us taking aspirin to prevent heart attacks or plavik to prevent clots, flu shot to prevent getting the flu.
 
could the breathing be from the lowered lasix dose
That's what I'm observing for a few days. I may even bring it back up tonight to the 37mg BID. There was fluid at 30mg so I'm not into reducing it. The concern is preserving his kidneys. The poor boy, I'm doing the best I can and going with observation/ instincts. He's happy so far this morning even if his mouth is open.
 
Sending many vines for a good day for Sir Doodles! ...and I totally get it that you are reluctant to add the new meds to the mix, especially since he hasn't had any more coughing episodes.
 
Sending breathe better vines to you Doodles:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hugs to you Karen:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I don't know if this was even effective but I dragged out my My Little Steamer I use for fabric etc and ran it close to Gussie while he slept, steaming up the air right by him. He would panic if locked in the bathroom too:(
 
Hope as the day went on Doodles has been able to breath without open mouth:bighug:
Keeping you all in our prayers:bighug::bighug::bighug::)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top