12/30 Cobb PMPS 535 (7uR) +1 HI +2 HI +3 HI +5 HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Well, it looks like I should have filled the syringes for Matt before I left town.

Looks like he has grabbed the R insulin for the past few cycles and has been shooting Cobb with that. I guess thank god we are on such a smaller dose now. He realized it when Cobb's PMPS was 535 and I said to shoot him with some R to counteract the inexplicable high numbers.

Going to be a long night for Matt though. I told him he has to test him for the next few hours and then leave HC out for him overnight, and to not give him anything in the morning. I'll be home tomorrow afternoon.

I've also told him that if he dips below 40 he has to take him to the ER vet. We are not rushing off to the vet unless that happens.

Any other suggestions I can pass along, being 6 hours away?
 
awwww, crap.

I'm waiting for your spreadsheet to load (my internet at work is slooooowwwww). What was the dose and the preshot, do you know?

I wouldn't necessarily wait for below 40, but watch the rate of the drop. Get him before he gets to 40. Has he had any Lev the past few days?
 
Suzanne

What is the "last few cycles" and did he shoot 7u's of R this morning and if so, into what number? If he's been shooting only R prior to this cycle, then I wouldn't worry about previous cycles. But are you saying he shot 7u's of levemir tonight into the 535 and 0.5u R or did he shoot 7.5u R?
 
ok, SS opened. If he got R last night at the 130, that would explain today's high numbers. He's still in a bounce, but when it clears it might clear hard. Or he might just stay high - this has happened before and that's what happened (acro cat), but of course you can't be sure.
 
Ok, so here's what I've been able to dechipher...

He doesn't remember if he gave R last night. I am 99% sure he did because we were at the end of a vial of Lev when I left town. So he grabbed the wrong vial out of the refrigerator.

My guess is Cobb dipped too far last night and bounced this morning, which explains the 400. Matt knows he shot R this morning and this evening. No Lev was given all day today. Last dose of Lev was yesterday morning.
 
Looks like last night @ PMPS 130 was a fur shot? So the high numbers today could be just that. So the 7uR this morning didn't have a huge impact but that doesn't mean it won't drop him tonight. I'd just have Matt monitor closely and post when he drops more in an hour than you'd like to see him do. The good thing is the R should be out within 4-5 hours and if he's had no lev in a few cycles, then you are not dealing with much, if any, lev depot. I say "much" because a depot can affect several subsequent cycles but with several "no lev" cycles, let's hope it's not anything. So while the R might wear off in 4-5 hours, it might open the door for any lev that might possibly be still be in the depot. Hopefully, it won't have any more effect than it did this morning.
 
Looks like last night @ PMPS 130 was a fur shot? So the high numbers today could be just that. So the 7uR this morning didn't have a huge impact but that doesn't mean it won't drop him tonight. I'd just have Matt monitor closely and post when he drops more in an hour than you'd like to see him do. The good thing is the R should be out within 4-5 hours and if he's had no lev in a few cycles, then you are not dealing with much, if any, lev depot. I say "much" because a depot can affect several subsequent cycles but with several "no lev" cycles, let's hope it's not anything. So while the R might wear off in 4-5 hours, it might open the door for any lev that might possibly be still be in the depot. Hopefully, it won't have any more effect than it did this morning.
Unsure on the fur shot last night. I assumed that because of this morning's high number. I now think he shot 7u of R at 130 and Cobb bounced high this morning. I think he only had 2 shots left in the Lev vial when I left on Sunday, which would have made last night's shot, a shot of R.

He's watching closely, and probably won't sleep too well tonight because of this.

But Cobb is at 535 so he'll hopefully be okay. We also have plenty of Karo and HC to help in the immediate future.
 
Suzanne.
sending vines for Cobb to be just fine. it is so hard to be so far away from our babies. wishing for Cobb to have an uneventful night.
 
We'll keep an eye out. Please keep us updated or ask Matt to update.

So, in the future, a big, red R on the bottle of R and put a rubber band around the bottle of Lev.
 
Just guessing here, but I think Suzanne's assessment makes sense. If he got 7u of R last night, then today's highs are probably because he is fighting a big time bounce. So maybe without the R he would have bounced to (hypothetically) 600, but instead the R pulled him down to 300 and then he bounced again. Regardless, let's be thankful for the bounce right now.

Usually cats' liver/pancreas work pretty well at keeping them safe, but be aware that that counterregulatory response *can* wear off and eventually let them crash. Hopefully that won't happen until the insulin wears off. I would say that probably the biggest danger is in the next few hours, especially if the bounce happens to clear while the R is working.

Keep us posted.
 
Unsure on the fur shot last night. I assumed that because of this morning's high number. I now think he shot 7u of R at 130 and Cobb bounced high this morning. I think he only had 2 shots left in the Lev vial when I left on Sunday, which would have made last night's shot, a shot of R.

He's watching closely, and probably won't sleep too well tonight because of this.

But Cobb is at 535 so he'll hopefully be okay. We also have plenty of Karo and HC to help in the immediate future.

Yes, you are correct that if he did not shoot a fur shot last night, it is likely a bounce and if it's clearing with more R on board.....well, we just have to watch and be super cautious if he starts to come down fast or lower. Please keep us posted.
 
Just seeing this, glad you got help...fingers crossed here.

In the "where can I Find? Post is a link to Rebekah/Ole's condo where she shot R instead of L. I can't link it from here but hopefully you have that post bookmarked. Some coments were in there on what to watch for afterwards. If you don't have it bookmarked it's probably on the 1st or 2nd page today.

Let us know how Cobb is....hugs!
 
Alright L&L friends, it looks like we have avoided a CAT-astrophe! :p It's been 5 hours and Cobb is still high.

Cobb is still running high. Matt will get a test whenever he can tonight, but he has to head to sleep to get up for work. I'll be home around mid-afternoon tomorrow and we'll get his Royal Orangeness back on track as quickly as possible.

Thanks again for all your help and support!
 
I just got home and YIKES! Sure glad it's a non event and hope that those IAA demons aren't holding onto any of the R.

Poor Matt, he's gonna need a big hug tomorrow. He did a great job testing tonight.
 
Phew! I'm so relieved to see that this appears to be a non-event. Fingers crossed that Cobb gets right back to business!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top