12/30 Cobb - Injection question???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Email has been sent to the vet regarding acro and IAA tests. Waiting to hear back.

Some interesting numbers last night...
PMPS - 408
+2 - 418
+5.25 - 272
+7.5 - 367
AMPS - 379

Interesting dip into the 200s. Is Cobb trying to fight his way into lower numbers?? Higher numbers yesterday just NDW? We'll see how today's cycle goes... we're starting a bit higher than I'd like, obviously. :roll: :roll:

WCR: appetite good. He jumped up on the bed this morning for some love/purring session. :cool: Baby in one arm sleeping, Cobb on the other side getting some love. Not a bad way to wake up.
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379

Aww..what a beautiful way to start the day :-D
Fingers crossed Cobb keeps searching for those lower numbers today, and good luck with the tests!
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379 +3 396

Wow. So I heard back from my vet. To discuss the tests, she wants to charge me a consultation fee before she even does anything. I knew she was gonna be pissed that I went "off script."
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379 +3 396

Jeesh...what is it with these vets?? Money hungry %*#^@)^ !!!!

Sorry to hear she's being such a pain! You might want to ask her if that "consultation fee" ALSO includes the cost of the blood draw and shipping! If it doesn't, it may be time to either try talking to her "man to man" (so to speak) or trying to find a new vet who's willing to listen to common sense.

One a better note, what a beautiful way to wake up! With those you love cuddled close to you, sleeping peacefully...and Cobb's finally getting some better numbers too!

As for your question about Cobb "fighting his way into lower numbers", I'd say the answer is probably yes, kind of. Using the explanation from the other day, Cobb's liver just dipped it's toes into the yellow water, said "NO, this isn't right!!" and the numbers went up (do livers have toes?...LOL)

Next time, Mr. Liver might be a little braver, and stay in up to his ankles before going "NO!!" The more he gets them though, the less he's going to protest and the longer he'll stay there...BUT

Some cats livers learn faster than others, so Cobb may need to go down into the 200's a LOT more than someone else's cat before it "learns" it's ok...then the whole thing kind of starts over with the blue and the green numbers

Again, sorry to hear your vet is yet another one who suffers from a God complex
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379 +3 396 +5 336

shoot. i'm sorry about the vet.

where are you located? There might be another member nearby who can recommend a vet for you. We do have people all over. :-D

lovely way to start your day!
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379 +3 396 +5 336

Ok, so that vet sucks. I can't believe they would charge a consult on top of it all, just to run tests you are asking for! Ugh. On a good note, that sounds like a wonderful way to spend the early morning, purrs and cuddles :-D Hope you have a good day, with some yellows maybe? ;-)
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379 +3 396 +5 336

why don't you edit your subject line for today's condo and put "atlanta vet suggestion?" i'll post it on fb LL for you.
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379 +3 396 +5 336

I've never heard of a vet charging a consultation fee. I never go in for the results of Champ's lab results. His vet usually calls me and we talk everything over on the phone. He then emails me a copy of all the lab results for my records. I would be very tempted to get the test results from your vet, since you paid for them they are technically yours, and have another vet look them over or post the results here for the experienced IAA/acro people to give their feedback. If your vet can't get behind you trying to follow the best protocol for your diabetic cat, a protocol that won't harm but quite possibly will do a lot of good, just isn't a vet I'd want seeing my cat for anything, including well checks. I hope you get a good referral soon!!
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379 +3 396 +5 336

Patty & Champ said:
I've never heard of a vet charging a consultation fee. I never go in for the results of Champ's lab results. His vet usually calls me and we talk everything over on the phone. He then emails me a copy of all the lab results for my records. I would be very tempted to get the test results from your vet, since you paid for them they are technically yours, and have another vet look them over or post the results here for the experienced IAA/acro people to give their feedback. If your vet can't get behind you trying to follow the best protocol for your diabetic cat, a protocol that won't harm but quite possibly will do a lot of good, just isn't a vet I'd want seeing my cat for anything, including well checks. I hope you get a good referral soon!!

Hi Patty, its worse than that. She wants the consult fee to discuss the tests before they are even done.
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb AMPS 379 +3 396 +5 336

Oh and one vet won't draw the blood unless one of their vets does an annual exam, even though he had one in April. It has to be done by one of their doctors. :roll:
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb -ATLANTA VET RECOMMENDATIONS

Outrageous.

I'm going to send a FB message to Georgia/Simon. She's in Atlanta. She doesn't come on the board very much any more so I'm not sure that a PM would get to her.
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb -ATLANTA VET RECOMMENDATIONS

Jill & Alex said:
suzanne, perry/sooty is in atlanta. sooty is a high dose cat (acro and IAA). he's had the acro treated and last i heard was OTJ. you might want to send perry a PM to ask him for vet recommendations in the atlanta area. here's the link to his profile: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=2847.

good luck on your search...

Thanks Jill. I PMd Perry/Sooty
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb -ATLANTA VET RECOMMENDATIONS

Hi Suzanne, Julie asked me to tell you this:

As for cost of IAA and Acromegaly... I think MSU charged about eighty dollars (59 and 18, as I remember) but the vet added on some cost for taking the blood and sending it off, etc....my bill just says misclellaneous bloodwork $125. That may include an in house pancreatitis test they ran, not sure.
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb -ATLANTA VET RECOMMENDATIONS

donaleen and Ozy said:
Hi Suzanne, Julie asked me to tell you this:

As for cost of IAA and Acromegaly... I think MSU charged about eighty dollars (59 and 18, as I remember) but the vet added on some cost for taking the blood and sending it off, etc....my bill just says misclellaneous bloodwork $125. That may include an in house pancreatitis test they ran, not sure.

Thank you!!!
 
Re: 12/30 Cobb - ATLANTA VET RECOMMENDATIONS

Another question...

I read on Ozy's condo that Lantus can sting in higher doses. True? I noticed Cobb flinching a bit when I injected him this evening. I do it in the flank on his leg and try to alternate legs. Do I need to change where I inject? I was told the scruff wasn't as good because it took longer to absorb. True?? I don't want to cause Cobb more pain than I have to!
 
Lantus can sting due to its acidity. This is especially true in higher doses. Did you also read that I just switched to injecting in his scruff?
 
it's true that absorption rates are different in different parts of the body. in my mind, since we always shot in the scruff it all worked out. not sure if that logic made sense, but that's where we always shot.

it's also true that lantus is acidic and some cats object to the injections. punkin never did and we got up to 15.5u. marje's gracie objected and she had a small dose. so it's a case of different cats being sensitive about it. lev is not acidic, so many people do switch as the doses get bigger, although we have some small dose cats on Lev as well.

The biggest difference is the cycle is longer with Lev and the nadir can be later. For some cats that's going to fall in the middle of the night for the pm cycle. Most people seem to be ok with that, although some say it's messed up their sleep schedule.

Here's an article on Lev vs Lantus
 
donaleen and Ozy said:
Lantus can sting due to its acidity. This is especially true in higher doses. Did you also read that I just switched to injecting in his scruff?

I did. That's why I was asking! I'm having some vet trust issues today - I'm starting to question everything she told me. :roll:

Since switching his food, Cobb has been a little leaner so the tenting of his skin on his flank has been a little more difficult but there's plenty to tent on his scruff. Are you still doing it parallel to his body? I just wanted to be sure it wasn't less effective there - obviously It isn't with Ozy today!! Nice numbers!!
 
Ozy began to strongly object to his injectins. It seemed to be happening at the end of the injection, not when the needle went in so we suspected the sting to be why. Not so sure now since he had a real fit with a couple of Lev injections. So last night we switched to the scruff and he doesn' even notice.

typing holding keyboard up cuz ozy in lap...like ozy in lap
 
I noticed Cobb was trying to pull away at the end. I may try the scruff tomorrow and see how it goes. Eh...I don't think is could be worse. Cobb sure likes his pinks, with a dash of red in there. I tell him those colors clash, but he refuses to listen. :roll: the only positive is that he acts like he feels better and his coat is so much softer than it was a month ago - so he's obviously doing more grooming than he was in the past.
 
The skin on the scruff is a little tougher so it might not bother him as much but the higher dose still might sting.

I keep a record of where I shoot Gracie every day, and to tell you the truth, with her, I've never seen a difference in absorption rate. It does occur in some cats....another ECID.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top