12/30 Cleo AMPS=413 PMPS=211 +5 =46 +5.3=62 +6=108 +7=169 +9=324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Hi, Cleo's BG was 46. I've just given her a tespoon of kibbles. She was sleeping and looked fine.
 
Please get another check in 20 minutes or so. Do you have hc gravy food? Do you have honey or karo? Have you dealt with low numbers before?

If you're all set and have gone through this before, I'll just hang around to see if you have any questions. Otherwise, give a shout out and we'll help.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Good catch! As Marilyn said, please do check again in 20 minutes to see where she's at, and keep us posted! One other question...I was just looking at Cleo's SS and see that she's been running a bit high, so this 46 really stands out. Did you happen to retest when you got the 46? Sometimes, when a number seems out of the ordinary like this, it's because the test strip was wonky.

However, if it is a genuine 46 and not a wonky test strip, this does mean she has earned a reducie down to 1.00U!
 
Great catch, Delia. I'll stay out of the way and let Marilyn help you.

Make a note to reduce her next shot by 0.25u since she went below 50.
 
I've never dealt this before. I've honey, but the only HC food I've are kibbles. She looks as usuale, no strange. She stare at me and ask food.
 
OK, make sure to get that next test...should be getting close to the time.

Do not overfeed. Yes, she's hungry, low numbers do that. But if you need to keep feeding to bring her numbers up, you don't want her to be full.

I'm inexperienced with kibble as a carb booster, but let's see what the next number brings.

Marilyn
 
Now she has 62. The spreadsheet is not updated. Today I increased dose of .25u. AMPS was 413 and PMPS was 211.
 
Nice work, Delia. I'd wait an hour ... no food ... and test again to see if she's holding the higher numbers. You want to 1) keep her above 50, good work; and 2) get a couple of tests where her numbers stay stable or rising. We need to know what happens when the carbs wear off.

She may be near nadir. Once beyond that, she should start coming up, too.

But we want to be sure she's coming up on her own without the influence of food.

Clap, clap, clap for a job well done, Delia. I'll check back in about an hour.

Any questons, just ask. I'll be keeping an eye out.

Marilyn

Marilyn
 
Breathe! Relax. I always found waiting for the next test the hardest part. Be sure to post her next numbers. No food, though, 'til we know how she's doing on her own. No matter how much she begs!:)

Cleo's in good hands.

See you in about an hour.

Marilyn
 
Hi, now BG is 169. She's sleeping relaxed on sofa. Should I do something else? Is she safe or BG could get lower? Sometimes she had nadir at +10.
 
So she's at +7? And she hasn't eaten in an hour?

169 seems like a good, safe number. But the kibble food might stay with her a bit and I don't know how many carbs in kibble. And how fast she'll fall once it wear off.

I might want to check again (I'm such a worrier!) just to make sure she doesn't slide down when the food wears off. Rule of thumb: Two consecutive tests. No food influence. Stable or rising numbers.

You've had the one test. Maybe another.

Sort of depends on your schedule and what's manageable for you. My guess. She's safe. My worry brain. Test again.

Plus, she really came down from PMPS to PM+5. Your call, Delia. But if she were my cat, I'd catch a test in one or two hours, +8 or +9. You'll want some clue as to whether she's rising or falling at her next pre shot test anyway.

Isn't it great how unconcerned our cats are while we're stewing about their numbers!

Remember: She's earned a decrease of 0.25 U.

Marilyn
 
If you only increased with the last shot, then you can go back to yesterday's dose.

Great job handling things today. Yay for Marilyn for helping.

In some cats as few as 3 pieces of dry cat food can increase blood sugar for 24 hrs, depending on how carb sensitive the kitty is.
 
Just woke up from nap and Cleo's blood sugar is 324. Now I think I can sleep quiet up to AMPS.
Thanks for your precious help.
Good night... :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You did good! No, you did great! Sorry I didn't know more about the kibble impact. Expect some high numbers for a while. Kibble + bounce. Just ride it out. And if you have any concerns, just post. Great people here. (You're one of them!)

Sleep well. Scritches to Cleo.

Marilyn
 
You don't have to ask me sorry, it's me to have to say you "thanks! thanks! thanks!" a billion times. :)
 
right - i agree with Marilyn - you may have high numbers for 3 days with the combination of the crunchies and the bounce.

It was fine to give the crunchies - in a pinch you use what you have that raises the blood sugar. One option for next time is to give about 1 teaspoon of gravy from a can of high carb food or a couple of drops of honey/corn syrup/maple syrup instead. It'll raise the blood sugar up quickly but it won't last as long in the body. Just a suggestion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top