Roberta and Chloe
Member Since 2020
I left Chloe's bowl with food in the usual spot next to my pillow and when I woke this morning, it was all eaten. The cats aren't bugging me for breakfast. Is it okay if I leave food out at night?
Thank you. I agree. Chloe snacks throughout the day and night, so that's probably what's making her numbers so erratic. Last night, the cats appeared hungry, so I fed them before bed. I put a bowl of kibble on the new cat tree. Fuzma and Chloe don't go to that side of the room and I've just given up on Chico's diet. If I leave the kibble in the kitchen, Chloe immediantly goes to it. I don't know why-- she barely has any teeth left. When she eats her wet food, I can hear her mashing it between her gums. It makes a clacking sound. Cheddar refuses to eat the wet food.You can leave food out for Chloe to eat but you need to take it out 2 hours before shot time (morning and evening) to ensure that the pre-shot reading is not food influenced.
The link to your previous post - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-29-chloe-amps-269-2-400.240663/
I guess the 73 last night confirmed that the insulin was not bad (unless you started a new pen?). The highs you are seeing are bounces from lows. We don't know how much lower she went last night.
I would hold the dose and not increase to 0.75 like you were planning to yesterday.