12/30 Casanova PMPS 277 +1 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Good morning. Yesterday's PM numbers were low so I didn't shoot at all. I figured that this morning his number would be through the roof but I was pleasantly surprised that his BG at +21 was only 112. What I'm wondering now is if my current dose may be too high. The last few days his BGs have been great and on a couple occasions I've shot when his number has been low so I wouldn't miss a shot and through him off. Only problem is like last night when they are in the 50s I think that is way too low to shoot. Are his numbers tellling me the dose of 4.75 is too high? Any thoughts on dosing? I feel comfortable shooting at 112 but don't want to give 4.75 if his spreadsheet information is trying to tell me it's too much.


Yesterday's Link viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33161

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +21 112 Dose Advice Needed

When do you have to make a decision? What I mean is, if it's +21, then do you have 3 more hours before AMPS?

Yesterday, you got a 42.
I'm sorry, I don't see your profile, so I don't know if Cassanova has had diabetes for over a year or not. Long time diabetics (dx for over a year) earn dose reductions when they get a BG under 40. If the cat has been dx'd under a year, then they earn a dose reduction when they get a BG under 50.

Will you be home to monitor, and will your DH be able to test today?
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +21 112 Dose Advice Needed

He's had diabetes for about 5 years now. The start of my SS marks the day that I took him totally off dry food. He had to go to the vet prior to that because his urination and drinking had increased. She advised going to 11 units twice a day and I thought that was just crazy, eventhough I had been giving 10 units. People on this forum suggested we start back at 4 units and that's what I did and here we are today getting some 50s at 4.75 units. I am home this morning for only about another hour and a half. His shooting time has gone to far forward so I was hoping that this morning we could get back closer to where we wanted it to be.

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +21 112 Dose Advice Needed

I'm only going to be around for another 10 minutes.

Since you didn't shoot last night, you can adjust your 12/12 shot schedule now, if you want to.

I would get another test to make sure he's not dropping, and then if no one gives you any other advise, shoot what you feel comfortable shooting (ie: regular dose, or a slight BCS) and leave lots of food out. Your DH will test, today? That's good you have him to help you.
J.D. has had diabetes for 5 years, too.

Good luck and have a good day.
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +21 112 Dose Advice Needed

since you are going to be home for about another hour post again in 15-20 and if you have a rising number and DH is home to monitor I would shoot a dose you are comfortable with and like Dyana said make sure has plenty of food out one thing about shooting a reduced dose is you can always go back up later if you need to
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +21 112 Dose Advice Needed

With a cat that's been diabetic for more than a year, a dose reduction is earned if numbers fall below 40 or if you have numbers in the 40 - 49 range three times (the latter is true for all kitties). You've had 2 drops in the below 50 range. You could argue that Casanova may have been below 40 with the 42 at +10 yesterday. If you want to shave the dose, you can try it and see if the reduction holds. If it doesn't, be ready to increase the dose.
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +21 112 Dose Advice Needed

How much should I go down? I'm at 4.75 now. Edited to add that I just did another test and he's at 221 right now.
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +21 112 Dose Advice Needed

Shaving a dose means that you would shoot a skinny 4.75u. Basically, you measure about a drop less than your current dose. With long term diabetics, you don't want to make a dose reduction easy. If the numbers are in the 300s at shot time, you can shoot the full 4.75u and consider shaving in the evening.
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +24 AMPS 241

I went ahead and dropped the dose to about 4.25 and we'll see how it goes today. It's really hard to tell how much I'm giving when I start going to .25 increments. I need to find syringes that have the .50 mark.

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/30 Casanova +24 AMPS 241 +3 192, +11 227

Thanks for the link to the syringes. They are cheap too! Also, great sale price on the One Touch test strips. Casanova did okay today, obviously higher numbers than what he was having so once again I'm confused. I dropped my dose from 4.75 to 4.25 and I think I may do 4.5 tonight. Any thoughts are welcome :)

Laura
 
Laura:

Unless you were shooting a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose, the reduction is 0.25u. Decreasing by 0.5u is too big of a change. Please remember to look at the dosing protocol is you're unsure about how much to reduce and no one is around to answer your questions.
Dosing Protocol sticky said:
Reducing the dose...

* If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

* If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top