12/30 Butters PMPS 61/+1 110/+2 113/+4.5 77

Butters & Lyla

Very Active Member
Yesterday, a cute AMPS, Butters:rolleyes:. It wasn't very polite. She partially made up for this by trotting after the red dot for a short while (first time in months), thereby earning her fifth "P":woot:. By the end of the day, she bounced up to 302.

Today, she still seems to be feeling good <anti-jinx>: belly is soft, and her BG came down overnight. I'm guessing that the impact of the skipped shot and reduction hasn't hit her numbers yet.

Have a great day, all.
 
Last edited:
I think there was insulin resistance plus the pancreatitis driving the numbers up. I am very relieved to see that her belly is nice and soft. Very, very, relieved. I think the pancreatitis will soon be totally a memory if not already. I could be wrong and maybe I misunderstood what you were saying. I’m thinking you think dropping the dose too quickly might result in needing to go back up. I’m just bringing this up for discussion. I’m trying to figure out what has happened as we see the bounces clearing so quickly. @Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
I had to go out very unexpectedly but urgently. Of course her numbers were dropping. I fed her 16% @+4 before I left. I loaded the auto feeder:
16% for +5 & +6
LC @+7
I came home and she is 88 @+8.

I think there was insulin resistance plus the pancreatitis driving the numbers up. I am very relieved to see that her belly is nice and soft. Very, very, relieved. I think the pancreatitis will soon be totally a memory if not already. I could be wrong and maybe I misunderstood what you were saying. I’m thinking you think dropping the dose too quickly might result in needing to go back up. I’m just bringing this up for discussion. I’m trying to figure out what has happened as we see the bounces clearing so quickly. @Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko
I'm constantly checking that belly! Especially when her numbers are higher.

I'm wondering what has happened, too, because something seems to have changed lately. In six days her dose went from 4.25U to 3.5U, plus in those six days there was a BCS of 2.25U and a skipped shot. That is a lot less insulin in a short period of time. But if I did need to go back up after all of these reductions, I'm guessing I wouldn't have to chase her as much as I did before to get her numbers down again.

I looked at henry's spreadsheet, and Robert did three reductions in six days if you count from 12/8, and then another three reductions in six days starting from 12/15! That's a pretty wild ride.

Not happening :bighug:! You didn’t lose the optimism shirt did you :rolleyes:? It is all good!!
LOL! I still have the shirt:bighug:. I'm totally fine with the numbers. I'm just expecting to see more of an impact (ie higher numbers for a longer period)....and like, another night of sleep wouldn't be the worst thing ever:p.

I know I don't need to say this but keep an eye on Butters' numbers. He's been heading back down since last night.
Thank you. I'm glad you say it. I always appreciate the observation and advice!
 
Sometimes cats will see a little action the second cycle after a skip. Regardless,, nice to see greens again. :D We talked before about glucose toxicity being a possibility. Breaking through that can sometimes a few quick reductions. At this point, just speculation. Follow what the numbers say to do.
 
I agree with Wendy especially on the point that we need to see where she is headed and adjust accordingly. I guess I thought you were going to wean her off gabapentin based on a quick discussion Amy and I had with you the other day?? Thought I remembered you would slowly take her off the gabapentin and then increase the bupe a bit if she needs it?

Butters is on a mission.
C372D6F9-CFED-418E-AC78-2EF68C28B8A2.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • C372D6F9-CFED-418E-AC78-2EF68C28B8A2.jpeg
    C372D6F9-CFED-418E-AC78-2EF68C28B8A2.jpeg
    60.2 KB · Views: 183
I agree with Wendy especially on the point that we need to see where she is headed and adjust accordingly. I guess I thought you were going to wean her off gabapentin based on a quick discussion Amy and I had with you the other day?? Thought I remembered you would slowly take her off the gabapentin and then increase the bupe a bit if she needs it?

Butters is on a mission.
View attachment 59005
That picture:joyful:...LOL.

You and Amy did discuss it with me, and it was very helpful. I think my decision after the discussion was that I should wean her off gabapentin first but not necessarily that I was going to start that day. The better numbers were so recent, and her pain has seemed to be so up and down until very recently, that I hesitated. I just needed a couple more days of good BGs and no signs of pain returning to feel confident in removing a dose. Elise has been following Butters' ups and downs with her hard belly (a sign of pain I believe) since she came home from the hospital in October, so having her suggest that today would be a good day to try removing it gave me the little push I needed to just do it.

I did start today. She is now on a q12 schedule for the gabapentin. I'm keeping the bupe the same unless I think I see a sign that I need to increase it.
 
Last edited:
On 12/29 I wasn't able to read through the thoughts and suggestions on my condo that day. Now that I've had a chance to, I did want to respond, fwiw, mainly to thank you for taking the time. And to @tiffmaxee Elise who asked me about my concerns about the MC & HC foods, and who asked for suggestions. I've read them all.

Unfortunately, many cats are being & have been diagnosed with pancreatitis when often, there is also IBD & other organ involvement. There is also that pesky shared bile duct which makes it all the more interesting :banghead:.

This is really the double edge sword of an easy blood test like the Spec fPLI. Even with an ultrasound added to the initial diagnostics, depending on the level of inflammation at the time, organs, including the pancreas & intestines, may not appear thickened or changed on the initial ultrasound done. As a result, cats leave with a diagnosis of pancreatitis. Vets are becoming more aware of this issue & when they see the history, are making pet parents aware that there is more than likely more to the situation with added differential diagnosis.

Because the intestines, liver, pancreas, and gallbladder are so proximal to each other and closely associated in function, I wonder if the gravy could set off some upset in the intestines and perhaps trigger something more in the line of triaditis instead of just pancreatitis? Just brainstorming.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I think there is similarity to some of what you're both saying. And Butters' vet has also said similar. In simple terms (because I am a person with zero science background:) trying hard to learn), he explained to me that the organs are closely associated in function. He, and the IM vet he consults with, isn't ruling out the possibility that IBD or Triaditis could be lurking and show up at some point even though the u/s did not show any markers for these conditions. I'm not yet sure what it means in terms of her future treatment/diet, just that he is keeping this in mind.

For this reason, management of insulin dosing vs management of BG using various foods/multiple feedings/testing (aka “feeding the curve”) becomes the preferred strategy for some of these cats.

This just simply means not taking the risk and shooting lower #s at times &/or taking some dose reductions earlier or by a greater amount in order to to avoid being forced into the situation where you need to increase BG with food. Obviously, there will be some instances (hopefully not too many!) when a situation may happen & using honey, syrup or maybe a particular food you have found that will work without causing an issue, is fine :rolleyes:. However, the goal is, to the best of ones ability, avoid dosing that results in these situations.

I believe this aligns with my goal for Butters of being "well-regulated".
I only prop her up with other foods when it is absolutely needed. It has been needed a lot, lately. I'm not sure why her numbers have been going so much lower. She isn't back to being regulated yet, which is what my vet wanted me to try to do as first order of business (while we work together on diet) I will continue to be diligent about taking any decreases,, BCS's and skipped shots.

Elise is correct that carbs and fat have not been shown to cause pancreatitis in cats but we’ve had cats here that could not tolerate gravy well including Sienne’s Gabby and my Gracie.

Neko couldn't handle gravy from wheat either, so I bought some of the Weruva products that made gravy with potato flour. In the 30's the corn syrup (which is called karo in the US) came out. We did have one member who gave maple syrup on bacon for HC treats. yumm! Another member who made her own gravy, can't remember if it was potato flour or rice flour.

Gabby couldn't tolerate gluten. Most of the HC food, at least at the time, had gluten in it. She was also a champ at vomiting up beef. I used either a drop or two of either corn syrup or honey to bump up her numbers.

If there's a possibility of IBD, you may want to consider novel proteins. Gizmo who does have IBD gets fed a combination of raw and ZiiwPeak canned food (either venison or rabbit and lamb). The ZiwiPeak has no gums or carageenan. If Butters is sensitive to fish/seafood, it does use green-lipped mussels for omega-3, though.

Butters' everyday LC diet is currently homemade raw pork with a premix. I hope to introduce other proteins down the road. I tried beef but that did not go well. Although she did okay eating a little beef ZiwiPeak from time to time in the past. I would sometimes use it as a higher low carb food.

I have some ZiwiPeak Venison from before Butters' CKD dx. I bought it because I thought it was an LC food but it is MC. That will be a better option for Butters than the MC & HC Weruva I currently use, so I'm going to try a switch to that. It has fewer ingredients. Her previous freeze dried raw, and canned food, had green lipped mussels and it seemed like that wasn't an issue. I will add some golden syrup (sugar syrup) to make it HC.

Thank you again.
 
Correct me if I'm wrong but I think there is similarity to some of what you're both saying.
You are spot on.

You and Amy did discuss it with me, and it was very helpful. I think my decision after the discussion was that I should wean her off gabapentin first but not necessarily that I was going to start that day. The better numbers were so recent, and her pain has seemed to be so up and down until very recently, that I hesitated. I just needed a couple more days of good BGs and no signs of pain returning to feel confident in removing a dose. Elise has been following Butters' ups and downs with her hard belly (a sign of pain I believe) since she came home from the hospital in October, so having her suggest that today would be a good day to try removing it gave me the little push I needed to just do it.
Got it :) Thank you for the history. Elise is a gift with her knowledge of pancreatitis and I know she’s been of great value to you and Butters :kiss::kiss:. She’s awesome to have on your side.
 
Back
Top