12/30 Bubbas AMPS 121 +2 55 +3 75 +9 190 PMPS 314 +2 341

Bubbas and Katrina

Member Since 2023
12/29 Bubbas AMPS 266 +4 271 PMPS 241 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

AMPS 121
+2 55 - gave him food mixed with a spoon full of gravy fancy feast
+3 75
+9 190
PMPS 314

He dropped down pretty low actually at his +2 which was 55. I was confused because he's been on 2 units for weeks now at this point and hasn't gotten that low...I checked his breakfast plate, and he barely ate anything. I truly think that his dip (all of his dips) are due to him not fully, or barely at all eating his breakfasts'. Which is always the case. Whenever he drops low like that, I notice every time he only ate a tiny bit. I was only able to test him a couple more times before his PMPS..I didn't know if today would have been a good curve day since his dip directly was due to him not having more than a couple bites of food. I decided to still give him 2 units for dinner, but I added in some gravy fancy feast to it, so he doesn't drop too low..and to watch him eat his full 2 cans of dinner.


I understand (due to this happening before) that no matter the reason, if they drop down a certain number, the units have to drop..but 1.75 units were never ever enough, and as I've said before, this is a race against time. I don't know how I feel putting him to 1.75 units until I know he has eaten his whole breakfast and dinner consistently and still is having low numbers..not having low numbers due to his lack of eating.

I got a job, I don't start until 1/19 and I'm home basically all day, unless I need to get up and out of the house, so I have the time to test him often if needed regarding this issue. Plus, I think my new job is going to be work from home, and if so, I will definitely switch to TR. I know I should now, but I would feel more accurate and comfortable if I was able to work from home while trying/starting TR.

I gave him 2 units tonight, and I will watch him and test him up until I go to bed tonight and feel comfortable due to me giving him almost a half can of gravy fanct feast for dinner mixed in with his normal pate. Should I switch to 1.75 units tomorrow? I know a reduction is considered good..but it isnt good to me when its constantly back and forth between 1.75 and 2
 
Yes, today was a good curve day. It answered the question - "how low is this dose taking him?". The answer is "too low". You need to reduce him back to 1.75 units. He got below 150 on the 1.75 units. With SLGS, you stay with that dose if the nadirs are between 90 and 149, which they were. Last time you went up to 2 units, he also hit the 50's. At least he's being consistent about that.

Good luck with the new job. I hope it allows you to get some more mid cycle data to see what he's really doing on 1.75 units. And good luck with the new dose.
 
Yes, today was a good curve day. It answered the question - "how low is this dose taking him?". The answer is "too low". You need to reduce him back to 1.75 units. He got below 150 on the 1.75 units. With SLGS, you stay with that dose if the nadirs are between 90 and 149, which they were. Last time you went up to 2 units, he also hit the 50's. At least he's being consistent about that.

Good luck with the new job. I hope it allows you to get some more mid cycle data to see what he's really doing on 1.75 units. And good luck with the new dose.
Ok!! I’ll go back down to 1.75 units tomorrow morning and I’ll get some extra tests in tonight!

And thank you!! Can’t wait to start and crossing my fingers it’s work from home !
 
Back
Top