12/30 Bandit AMPS 286

Status
Not open for further replies.
The vet appt. went really well! I've never seen the cats so relaxed at the vet before. It might be because DBF went with me to help wrangle both of them (Gabby had a prelim appt. for her dental next month, which I am way more nervous about than Bandit's). Bandit loves DBF.

The vet said his mouth his healing exceptionally well, and that she was surprised how great it looked because of his diabetes (which I didn't realize can inhibit the healing process). She said he was healing up as if his diabetes was regulated, even though it's not. He hasn't lost any weight since the dental, and actually gained a few ounces! He's a nice, healthy 11 pounds, which is exactly what he should weigh for his size. She wants to do a fructosomine (sp?) test in a month or so if his numbers keep going up and down like they have been.
 
he has been refilling his shed from the reduced shot yesterday, but when it's full I bet he'll go right back to blue. Hopefully that will be tonight!
 
I hope you can discourage the vet from a fructosamine level. Your spreadsheet provides much more information that an average over a couple of weeks. It's really primarily used for diagnosing FD and less for managing it.

Glad to hear the follow-up appt. went so well.
 
Sienne: You know, that's exactly what I was thinking. I almost said that I could average out the numbers from my spreadsheet if they didn't know how, but I didn't want to be cheeky because my new vet has really been great with both Bandit and Gabby's problems (Gabby has CRI). I'm sure that they recommend fructosamine tests for most their diabetic patients because they're not hometesting as frequently, so it could just be a standard thing. I'm sure Bandit's numbers are going to start evening out now that he's had his dental, so I figured it may not even be an issue in a month anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top