12/30 bailey AMPS 349 +8 65 PMBG 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

No dose increase for this wee guy given his numbers today.I also forgot I have been skipping intermittently so he was high as a result, as opposed to going too low.

My question is,is it safe to keep him in the yellows and blues. He is above the renal threshold half the time. Is this damaging him by keeping him here? Without constant monitoring every few hours 24/7 and steering constantly with food I don't know how I could keep him safe if I shoot at lower numbers.

I suppose I could reduce his dose and see if I can keep him above 200 at preshot. Shooting Anything lower than that and he threatens to dropsp too low.

Wendy
 
just read his profile - what a sweetheart! love the pics of the bunnies and the other kitters too.

are you still feeding the fancy feast?
 
Yep he gets 3% and 4%. At night I give him 8~9% to try and stop him dropping low. He gets shut in a separate room at night so Tiggy doesn't eat it, I can't do that during the day.

Wendy
 
I wonder if he would do better on compounded PZI or Prozinc? That way, you can vary the dose as needed and there's no depot to cause Wonkiness to ?
 
Thats a really good idea. It had crossed my mind briefly. Is this something I can get prescription free in Canada do you know?
 
I don't know. You could PM Carl...he just might know based on the amount of time he's spent in the PZI forum. Or post a condo over there asking.
 
I think you need a script for PZI or ProZinc in Canada.

Next time you get to the the USA Walmart get a $24 vial of Novolin N over the counter. And you could also use the NPH as a bolus for Tiggs. Not quite as easy to microdose (out of the box) as U40 PZI or ProZinc but NPH can be diluted to any concentration you choose for instance to get an accurate "half drop" dose for Bailey. Normal duration is 6-8 maybe 10 hours. With Bailey who knows but you might be surprised. Only $24 and kept in the fridge the vial is good for a year or longer.

The key might be to have a tiny enough consistent/accurate dose of N, made possible by dilution. Both as primary juice perhaps for Bailey and as a bolus for Tiggy.
 
You think I need to bolus dose Tiggy? I was considering it but then he started dropping down the dose ladder and I decided to wait. Now we are creeping back up again..
 
What I was thinking if you could figure out something for Bailey, then you could switch Tiggy to Levemir. And then you might want a bolus.
 
Hmm.. Well I just bought a new pack of lantus pens but once those run low I think I might give levemir a try.... With Tiggy anyway.

The thing with pzi is I think you don't shoot under 150 and bailey would be there a lot I think. But I will see what Carl and sue think

N scares me a bit. How does one dilute it?
 
Get the sterile mixing vials and diluent for no charge from Novo Nordisk or Eli Lily.

Then you shoot a sliding scale, possibly a VERY small dose for a lower number.

ProZinc would be easier but likely MUCH more expensive.
 
i was wondering about increasing bailey's carbs all the time. maybe a med carb for his regular food - a 10% or more. on his profile you said he did better on high carb food. that might be another possibility for you to consider. Perhaps if you increased his carbs, you could get to the point of shooting low and having the whole range flatten out.

I don't know how the pancreatic insufficiency plays into his diabetes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top