12/3 Rusty AMPS 103, +6 83, PMPS 85, +4 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=322452#p322452

Good Friday Morning, Everyone,

Rusty seems to be in normal numbers for him (according to Phoebe's and Charlie's charts, which I am gradually entering into Rusty's SS). Since his number this morning is just barely blue, I shot .25 of a unit. I also shot .25 at PMPS last night, when his bg was 66. Sienne and Miriam: I didn't get another test last night because he is only used to having 2 tests a day, they really do stress him (at least they do when I do the tests!), and his ear needs healing time. Phoebe and Charlie routinely shot anything above 50 (as I see from her charts) and since July 27th had been giving him .25 of a unit if his bg was under 100 and .5 of a unit if over 100. Gradually I want to get tests at different times of day, because I want to understand how Levemir works. I read (courtesy of Pat, Monique and Steve & Jock) that if the dosage is correct, the nadir doesn't typically occur until around +10, and that there may be a dip just before the next preshot, so that this next preshot will show a bg very close to that of the nadir (then there will be a rise continuing to about +3 to +4 of the following cycle). If the dose is too low, the nadir comes sooner and is not as low and the next preshot number is higher. If the dose is too high, the nadir will come later, often after +12. I don't know where Rusty is in this scheme of things!! It seems really complicated. My current thinking is that, since his dose is very low and his preshot numbers seem reasonable, I will just keep on for a while with what he is used to. He free feeds and has food available all the time. He is not a greedy eater. I've been feeding Wellness turkey and Wellness chicken.

WCR: Very playful this morning: batting balls around, "working" on the scratchers, playing with a catnip mouse. Ate everything in the upstairs feeding spot last night (but didn't go downstairs, so that food was uneaten this morning). 4 Ps in place ("poop" seems to be an every-other-day thing with him). We had a grooming session with his brush. At the moment he's lounging on top of his scratching post watching the snow fall.

Everyone have a great day. (I hope I get my calendar today!)

Ella
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

Morning Ella and Rusty! Did you do free feeding with Stu?

Not sure what to say here Ella...with all due respect to everyone...I still think that Lev, like Lantus likes consistency. So, what we tell everyone here is to shoot a consistent dose both AM/PM. I personally think that the one thing you need to know about Lev is that the nadir does come later in the cycle. Shadow's is usually at +8 unless I feed him earlier to soften the drop. As far as the other things in that post, well, I like to try to keep it simple, (cause I'm stupid!) :lol:
So, put that aside and just look at his numbers. Testing during the day is the only way to SEE what they are, right?

Rusty's numbers seem to be great...and this is a time for adjusting to things. But, IMHO, I would stick with the one dose, the same dose AM/PM and see what happens with his numbers. Not sure what others would do, but different doses are really not the best way to use Levemir. Forget that Steve/Jock post for now since Rusty is on a low dose and seems to be nicely regulated on that. I think the other post pertains to when one is raising the dose and trying to get better regulated. Rusty is past that stage I think so put that aside. Okay? :mrgreen: I hope others will weigh in here....I am just giving you my gut feeling about staying consistent. Well, you wanted to know how Levemir works, right? ;-)
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

no clue about Lev, good luck figuring it all out. But Rusty sounds happy and his amps are great.
Have a lovely Friday
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

Well, I've thought that Rusty could have a dose reduction but my DH insisted on the .25 / .5 scenario with no mid-cycle tests. Since he does 90% of the cat care, I didn't argue since Rusty seemed to be tolerating it ok.

I would be interested to see if steady 0.25u BID would be enough. In fact, I've thought he might be able to go even lower in dose with closer personalized attention - that Ella can now dedicate.

phoebe
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

Morning!! I know nada zilch zippo on lev - can't even begin to go there.... so: I will say nice amps Rusty! It sure sounds like he has adjusted well. Lounging and watching the snow fall sounds mighty fine to me. :-D :-D

and I too hope your calendar shows today. paws crossed!

Hey Rusty! I had so much fun with you yesterday - you are one cool dude. See you later, maybe? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

I just looked back on Shadow's SS Ella and on 11/29 he had a nice AMPS=122. I was curious as to where he was and I tested at +3=73. Nice, right? I feed them at +4 and wow...his +4=47!!! If I had not tested, I would not have seen that.
This is from a +8 nadir kitty. At night, he was PMPS=93. I tested and he was in the blues but then at +7=57!
Granted, he is on a much higher dose than Rusty. And Shadow is wacky! :lol:

Raja is getting F0.1u and I still test her at +4 and +/+8 too. Amazing how their numbers fluctuate during the cycle.
Her numbers are more in line with Rusty's. I wonder where he went after that 66 last night...
That's good that you are using the Reli-On now with the smaller blood drops it needs. Hey, maybe I will get Shadow to give Rusty a call....(don't want him talking to Raja cause she inches away from me, just like Rusty does!) ...but Shadow is awesome with the testing. He jumps right up on the testing towel.
What treat do you give him at testing time?
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

Nice amps for Rusty this morning. No Lev advice here either, but I think you are doing well so far. Its really nice that Rusty has settled in so well at your house. It sounds like he's always been there. :-D Have a wonderful Furday, Ella!
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

Great amps for Rusty Ella hope he gets where you can test him more I am lucky that Do Lou is so good about me using his feet since there is no way I could ever do his ears it would really stress him out he hates his ears touched maybe as time goes by Rusty will slowly adjust to more and more tests
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

I totally agree with the suggestions to stick with a dose (probably 0.25) and test more. For some cats the Lev nadir is +10 to +12, but for some it is much, much earlier. I think it is dangerous to assume that Rusty's nadir is the same as PS until you can see it for sure. You have to see what is going on with YOUR cat.

Jazzy is new on Lev, just a couple of weeks, but so far what I'm seeing is late onset (sometimes as late as +4), then she drops til +7 or +8, then surfs there until PS. Her Lev nadir really isn't much different than her Lantus nadir, but her patterns before and after nadir are different. Sometimes she keeps surfing through +12 then starts to rise, sometimes she rises late and is higher at PS. I don't have a tons of data yet, but I don't see anything suggesting a nadir as late as +10 or +12 for Jazzy. Each cat is different. ;-)

Different note, I don't know if this is a coincidence or not, but I used to have a lot of trouble getting enough blood from Jazzy, but a couple of months ago I got a box of the cheapest lancets they sell at Hocks, Gluco-something, and I've never had a problem since. I don't know if they are sharper or what... When I get home I'll check the box for you (remind me if I forget). I free hand, but they look like the style that would fit in most lancets.
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

I completely agree with Pat. So much has changed for Rusty, that you need to have YOUR data. While there may be some regularity to where the nadir falls, it can also be a moving target.

The curve from Phoebe is instructive. As flat as that curve is, there is still some variation (approx. 20 points) in the numbers from an AMPS in the 80s. With a pre-shot in the 60s, that leaves Rusty surving in the 40s. Also, the more you test, the more Rusty will get used to testing -- especially if there are treats/food involved!!
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

Hi again, Everyone, and thanks so much for your suggestions. We have decided to go with the .25 unit as Rusty's dose and see where it takes us (trying, of course, to avoid fur shots; I had trouble seeing the skin through the fur this morning, but think the shot got in). We are also going to again add a mid-cycle test (at +6) (skipped it yesterday because of the trauma of the AMPS), and a bedtime test tonight. Now that Rusty's shed has refilled, I will have a better idea of his trends. Phoebe's DH (Charlie) gave me some good info. on his testing technique yesterday, and this morning I got the blood on only the 2nd try (despite the fact that I had to follow Rusty into the bathroom as he was trying to get away from me!) But I think that now that Rusty knows us better, it will be good to go back to the testing routine we used with Stu: sitting on the couch with Rusty between us and Edward gently holding him while I do the test. We'll try it out this afternoon.

The CALENDAR arrived!!!!! It is so neat! Love seeing those pictures. I took it over to Rusty and showed him his picture and Stu's. He seemed interested.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

Awesome AMPS for Rusty!!! Looks like we have a lot of kitties in the 100 range this morning!!

That's funny about showing the calendar to Rusty....I did the same with Lightning! Glad I'm not the only one! :smile:
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103

Ella...I'm so happy Rusty is settling in so nicely and I bet he will get used to the pokeys with you and Edward together. Gosh...so much to learn for you but I love how you are right on top of it and asking all those great questions. It's interesting for the rest of us, too. You've got some great folks leading the way.

Hope you and Edward and that very handsome boy have a great day!!
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103, +6 83

Hi again,
83 at +6. Tested successfully (on the 4th try) with Edward's help. Rusty was nice and calm at first, but did get a bit restive when I couldn't get blood. I think that once I am better at getting the blood drop, testing will be much better with Edward helping.
Rusty is now asleep on his scratcher top, singing in a dream.

Ella
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103, +6 83

Ella I have tons of boxes of lancets, as everytime I buy the strips, some of the companies would send me 2 boxes--I would be glad to send you some--Sharper ones maybe??
I also have 1/2box pf the longer 1/2" needles which you are welcome to--
Be my pleasure to send them to Rusty boy!
About the Lev, from what I have read here, it's different than lantus & requires a little more testing due to the later nadir..Just go slow & just add one test on a day, dont spook him--Believe it or not, Monie has been running away from her tests!! Crazy little girl! Guess it's just a reflex to flee :lol: bcatrun_gif
Hope all continues on the beautiful path you are on!! Giant HUgs! Lubs ya! :mrgreen:

Rusty I would be honored to have you as my singing partner!! Stu used to sing & dance wif me,too--Hope you will continue the tradition--So happy you are wif us now--You made Miss Ella & Ed very happy--Us too HUgs Moonie :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103, +6 83, PMPS 85

Hi again, Everyone,
We had a really successful test at PMPS. We sat on the couch with Rusty between us, Edward held him, I used Celi's "White-trash headgear suggestion to warm his ear, I used Karrie's light suggestion to locate the vein, I used Charlie's and Phoebe's head-lamp suggestion to help me see the blood drop. I got a tiny blood drop on the first try and the meter accepted it!! PMPS 85! Hooray! Rusty was very calm throughout. Then Rusty got some freeze-dried chicken treats and his Wellness dinner, while I shot his insulin (.25-- I think it got in).
While I was making dinner Edward and Rusty had a fine time playing with the mouse named "Red Ears" on a string. Rusty is fantastically acrobatic. They played a bit too vigorously for my liking, but both seemed to enjoy it. Now Rusty is resting and Edward is working at his desk!! Off now to enter some more of Phoebe's and Charlie's data into Rusty's spreadsheet (I'm up to September).
Everyone have a good evening and thank you all again for your help today,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103, +6 83, PMPS 85

Just dropped by to say how wonderful it is to see Rusty happy in the new home you've made for him. Lucky kitty. :YMHUG: o:-)
 
Re: 12/3 Rusty AMPS 103, +6 83, PMPS 85

YAY!! Success on all counts! Sounds like Rusty is agreeable to the routine that worked for Stu. Relaxed beans = relaxed cat. I am so glad that tonight's test went well. I love how everyone's input all came together for a successful first try yest. awesome! It's good to see those green numbers. Yes indeed - Rusty has found his home.

So glad that you got your calendar. I too showed Mannie his pics, and than went through all the others. He sat there and looked at them all. Too fun.

Have a great night Ella, Edward and Rusty!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top