12/3 Ruby PMPS 152/+2 125/+4 74

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday we spent the day on the beach and the lagoon. Really happy with our progress. I can't believe it's been three months since her diagnosis. Taking Ruby to the vet today for a general check up and to do a blood panel, the last visit for at least another 6 months if all goes well. Against his advice, I never consulted him about any dose changes since November 4 as his goal was simply keeping her nadirs above 200. He'll probably be pissed at me but I hope once he sees Ruby's fructosamine level that he'll come around to the idea that I can handle TR.

He's going to run an IDEXX Chem 27 panel which is I guess the "diabetic panel"? Is there anything else that he should be checking for?
 
Good luck with the vet visit :cat: If you didn't already know, take Ruby’s BG before and after - some kitties rise at the vet and others drop :p I really don't know enough about bloodwork but I think that's just the normal wellness panel...I think Jax had CHEM 27 w/ SDMA at his last visit. You can read what's in each one on the IDEXX site - https://www.idexx.com/en/veterinary/reference-laboratories/tests-and-services/ -write "CHEM" in the search box and you'll see all the available panels. Perhaps other more experienced folks will stop by.
 
Not sure about what that includes you could check on the IDEXX website
https://www.idexx.com/en/veterinary/reference-laboratories/tests-and-services/

You may well find her BG i quite a bit higher than normal at the vets, it usually comes down quite readily once kitty is home.

his goal was simply keeping her nadirs above 200.
Well you've done much better than that. Have you shared the SS, or do you think they won't be open to the dosing?

You are doing a great job, and I am sure he will see the difference in Ruby's overall condition.
Are they going to run a urine analysis?
 
Not sure about what that includes you could check on the IDEXX website
https://www.idexx.com/en/veterinary/reference-laboratories/tests-and-services/

You may well find her BG i quite a bit higher than normal at the vets, it usually comes down quite readily once kitty is home.


Well you've done much better than that. Have you shared the SS, or do you think they won't be open to the dosing?

You are doing a great job, and I am sure he will see the difference in Ruby's overall condition.
Are they going to run a urine analysis?
I have all of Ruby's lab results on the Labs tab in her spreadsheet so you can see what was included in the 11/4/2020 test. It includes fructosamine and urinalysis.

I have shared the SS with the vet in the past, and he's like, "Yeah, you are doing a good job, but you can just bring her in every few weeks and you won't have to trouble yourself with testing." :rolleyes: When I suggested increasing her dose to 1.5 on 11/8 after the Libre readings were very high, he said to keep it at 1.25 for three weeks and then check in with him about what to do next. I increased anyway and did it again without consulting him. Obviously if I listened to him, Ruby would not be doing as well as she is now! I will send the SS to him but only after we do our visit today and before he receives the fructosamine so he will be convinced of efficacy of the protocol.
 
Good luck with the vet visit :cat: If you didn't already know, take Ruby’s BG before and after - some kitties rise at the vet and others drop :p I really don't know enough about bloodwork but I think that's just the normal wellness panel...I think Jax had CHEM 27 w/ SDMA at his last visit. You can read what's in each one on the IDEXX site - https://www.idexx.com/en/veterinary/reference-laboratories/tests-and-services/ -write "CHEM" in the search box and you'll see all the available panels. Perhaps other more experienced folks will stop by.
Thanks Susanne! We've done the CHEM 27 panel before and it has what we need, just wondering if I should be asking for anything else. I've attached her last lab if anyone is curious.
 

Attachments

I have all of Ruby's lab results on the Labs tab in her spreadsheet so you can see what was included in the 11/4/2020 test. It includes fructosamine and urinalysis.
Yes I saw that, it's what reminded me of the urine analysis:joyful:

Obviously if I listened to him, Ruby would not be doing as well as she is now! I will send the SS to him but only after we do our visit today and before he receives the fructosamine so he will be convinced of efficacy of the protocol.
He may be surprised by the fructosamine result....

Have you got the paper on which the TR protocol is based? I'm not sure where it is on the board, but it might be useful to have that with you and to give it to him.
 
Ruby is looking good, so u guess it's awesome that you didn't consult him for dusting advice. If he's pissed, I guess that's his problem, because obviously results speak for themselves.
I'm so glad I have a vet that tells me what he thinks should be done, but also listens and cares about what the pet parents have to say as well.
 
Thanks Susanne! We've done the CHEM 27 panel before and it has what we need, just wondering if I should be asking for anything else. I've attached her last lab if anyone is curious.
I get a more complete one more done on George, based on advice I got here, I got a senior panel which included the thryoid test. Have a look on the SS.
It's more similiar to the test you did in august earlier this year. I prefer doing that than then finding something that requires me to take him in for another blood draw, the difference in cost between a limited panel and a full panel wasn't excessive here, I don't know if that is different for you.
 
Do get the senior panel with urinalysis, thyroid, and fructosamine. The SDMA is included in their panels. Vetty vines. Max always increased at the vet but still was in range. The urinalysis is good because it shows if there is glucose in the urine as well as helps determine how kidneys are doing. It is part of a senior panel.
 
Do get the senior panel with urinalysis, thyroid, and fructosamine. The SDMA is included in their panels. Vetty vines. Max always increased at the vet but still was in range. The urinalysis is good because it shows if there is glucose in the urine as well as helps determine how kidneys are doing. It is part of a senior panel.
Thank you Elise! Last time Ruby dropped when she went to the vet but shot way up after, but this was when she was still bouncing badly. We’ll see. Thanks everyone for the very helpful input. Will ask for the senior panel!
 
Home already! My usual vet was in an emergency so I had someone else. We did the geriatric wellness panel (same one we did in August when she was diagnosed) with an added fructosomine. Turned out to be a lot more expensive than doing just the diabetic panel that included the fructosomine, but I hope not to be going to the vet for check ups for a while if we keep cruising the way we are. Results will be in tomorrow, am sending the vet Ruby's spreadsheet now as well as the link to the Roomp Rand study.

Thanks everyone for the input this morning. Grateful to you all beyond belief for the support you give us on a daily basis!
 
+4 = 74. We have had quite a day. Ruby was licking her legs where they drew blood at the vet and yowling when she came home. Her BG didn’t seem to be affected much by the visit though. Will be curious to find out tomorrow what her glucose number was while she was at the vet. Good night everyone!
 
Back
Top