12/3 - Nova - AMPS = 106 - Old timer report

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dawn & Nova

Member Since 2010
Hey everyone!

Nova and I are still around fighting the good fight... her and I read your guys condos and pour over your SS's on a fairly regular basis (esp the other old timer peeps, we're watching you even if we aren't posting! :) ).

We are still marching to our own beat and I'm still researching/experimenting best I can to try and come up with ways to keep her healthy and happy.. about a month ago I switched her from Lantus TID to Levemir BID.. and more recently we have started split dosing.. which I'm excited about (it was something I debated doing before trying switching Nova to 3x Lantus shots, but Lantus isn't anywhere near as tolerant of split dosing as Lev is, so I decided against it).

Lev is an interesting beast.. I've been researching it (in people and cats) basically since Nova was DX.. (Novo Nordisk is a lot more open than Sanofi-Aventi about their products.. so Lev is more fun to research really).. I probably would have switched a long time ago if it wasn't drastically cheaper for me to get Lantus (unique situation with my employer).. they are most definitely the same-ish as far as the 85% of cats that hop on a short journey of insulin for < 3 or 4 months and that's the end of it.. or the majority of humans who use long acting insulins only as a part of their diabetes management protocol.. but when it comes down to "advanced insulin for difficult kitties" (haha).. they are worlds apart..

Anyways, we are still around and having fun.. figured I would stop in and say hi so anyone who still stalks us can grab the latest SS link out of my signature and keep checking in on us if they wanted ;).

Lots of love always,
Dawn & Nova
 
So great to hear from you two :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: good luck with using Lev it seemed like Do Lou did not do well on it but maybe I did not give it a fair chance IDK
 
NOVA! :cool:

Captain Donovan sends loving licks to Nova. He has thing for washing other cats' heads, but not his own :roll:

MJ&Donovan
 
Lisa and Do Lou said:
So great to hear from you two :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: good luck with using Lev it seemed like Do Lou did not do well on it but maybe I did not give it a fair chance IDK

Both Lev and Lantus can be pretty hit or miss from individual to individual.. as my Type 1 buddy says "A great insulin is only great if it actually works for you" .. (As much as he'd love to be on it, Lev just does not work right for him).... whether you gave Lev "a fair chance".. meh.. maybe not.. but you've got the added struggle that Do Lou isn't one of those cats where any of the standard approaches are likely to have the results you probably want (and see on most kitties spreadsheets around here).. no matter which insulin you use.. he's got heart issues (one of my other special needs cats has HCM).. and that really throws *everything* out the window..
 
MJ+Donovan said:
NOVA! :cool:

Captain Donovan sends loving licks to Nova. He has thing for washing other cats' heads, but not his own :roll:

Captain Donovan!!! You can lick Nova's head ALL day..and night.. and when you eventually stop out of pure exhaustion.. Nova will get *very* angry :)... I see Donovan is still doing good pancreas wise.. everything else going just as well I hope?
 
It's great to hear from you!!

I dunno about split dosing with Lev. It's still a depot insulin and the inconsistent dose messes with the shed. I guess you'll be able to tell what works for Nova.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top