12/3 Nico amps 172,+2- 107,+4-74,+5- 90, +7=114, pmps=92,+2=86,+4=69,+4.5=77,+5=67, next=65

Tyleete

Member Since 2025
Yesterday
172? Isn't that too low to start without a shot last night? I thought he'd be high. This makes me even more nervous. What the heck is going on with my cat?
I'm kind of debating the idea of only giving him 2.75. Any of the more experienced on that
could advise on that?
I'm just really afraid of another day of hypo numbers.
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Mary & Jude
:(
 
Last edited:
Whelp. Said screw it again and gave him 2.75
If any of the pros would like to chime in and tell me I was wrong and to quickly give another 0.25, please do.
I just feel with a number of 172 artery having no insulin for 24hrs, was a bit low. I'm just winging this, so advice is appreciated.
I did get him to eat half a can of FF. Still refusing his old, Good food. But at least he ate! I consider that great.
 
I'm not sure what the pros would think, but I probably would have done the same thing in your shoes. You can always go back up in a couple cycles if Nico starts to move back up.
Oh thank you! I mean it. I'm sitting here stewing, wondering if I screwed up big time by doing this. So having someone chime in with that, helps ease my nerves and conscious.
Someone (either Elise or Bhooma) told me the last time I was up the whole night, just a few nights ago.... "He's not going by any playbook". Which is why even after I was advised to go back to 3 in the morning, I just risked the 2.75.
Sorry for the babble. I do that even more when nervous.
Thanks again.🥰
 
Good job managing him. Remeber you know your cat best and you also have to do what you're comfortable with.
Good luck on the reduction.
🙋🏻‍♀️🐾🤗🐱🥰🏄🏻
I'm so glad I did. Just took his +4 and human meter=41! His pet was 74, whereas his shouldn't be below 75. I honestly don't know WHAT to do with him.
I gave him the lc wet I had already made for him, but ran to put in few drops of karo and a little of the gravy from him mc food
😓
 
I'm so glad I did. Just took his +4 and human meter=41! His pet was 74, whereas his shouldn't be below 75. I honestly don't know WHAT to do with him.😓
OMG! Nico quit stressing your mama!
It seems like he getting to be very insulin sensitive now. Whereas before, he didn't want to come down from reds and blacks. I wish I had an answer for you, I know how stressful this must be for you❤️❤️
 
I'm so glad I did. Just took his +4 and human meter=41! His pet was 74, whereas his shouldn't be below 75. I honestly don't know WHAT to do with him.
I gave him the lc wet I had already made for him, but ran to put in few drops of karo and a little of the gravy from him mc food
😓
Remeber the depot takes at least a couple days to drain so hopefully you'll see some safer numbers then. Good luck! 🤗🏄🏻💚🥰🐈
 
I do get that. But good grief he had 24hrs in between doses. Shouldn't that have helped to drain him a lot?

What can I do to stop that hypo numbers?
Yes, the skip yesterday would have helped to drain the depot, but we have had some cases where the cat wants to race down the dosing ladder.

Can you get a test at +5 and see where he is at?

It's possible you might need to shoot a few token doses and take unearned reductions to get him to the dose he wants to settle at. In such cases it's anyone's guess where he will stop sliding down in dosing.
 
I do get that. But good grief he had 24hrs in between doses. Shouldn't that have helped to drain him a lot?

What can I do to stop that hypo numbers?
Just keep monitoring. Anything at 50 and above is in the norm. And remeber you don't wanna load him up with too much carbs cause you wanna avoid having him bounce up and down. Just help him surf through safely.
 
Yes, the skip yesterday would have helped to drain the depot, but we have had some cases where the cat wants to race down the dosing ladder.

Can you get a test at +5 and see where he is at?

It's possible you might need to shoot a few token doses and take unearned reductions to get him to the dose he wants to settle at. In such cases it's anyone's guess where he will stop sliding down in dosing.
I think I took an unearned reduction this morning.
It just didn't seem right to give him full dose when I was expecting much higher numbers.
I do plan on getting his numbers at the +5. Any suggestions if he's still low?
How do I know when to give the token doses? And can you give those back to back?
Just keep monitoring. Anything at 50 and above is in the norm. And remeber you don't wanna load him up with too much carbs cause you wanna avoid having him bounce up and down. Just help him surf through safely.
He hasn't been bouncing like he just to. He used to think it was a fun game I think.
But how do I bring his numbers up to that 50 without the food?
 
Nice, looks like he came back to a good green 💚
Just keep checking him and if he drops, give him a little bit more food so he'll come back up. Is his appetite better today? I know in the limes, he may not feel much like eating.
 
Nice, looks like he came back to a good green 💚
Just keep checking him and if he drops, give him a little bit more food so he'll come back up. Is his appetite better today? I know in the limes, he may not feel much like eating.
I know, I actually gave a 'Whoop'! at those.😅
I'm wondering how often I have to keep checking him for the rest of the afternoon now.:/
He hates it, I'm afraid of needles. Do they build up scar tissue like I've read the site of the insulin shots do?😬
His appetite is definitely back, but I do not know if that's natural or because I finally gave him Mirataz last night. So many IF's.

And thank you for the clarification Karolina. I'm wondering if I'm going to have to start feeding him some of the mc at certain feedings to keep him out of the limes. But I don't have enough data (or at least not to my untrained eyes) to tell yet.
 
I know, I actually gave a 'Whoop'! at those.😅
I'm wondering how often I have to keep checking him for the rest of the afternoon now.:/
He hates it, I'm afraid of needles. Do they build up scar tissue like I've read the site of the insulin shots do?😬
His appetite is definitely back, but I do not know if that's natural or because I finally gave him Mirataz last night. So many IF's.

And thank you for the clarification Karolina. I'm wondering if I'm going to have to start feeding him some of the mc at certain feedings to keep him out of the limes. But I don't have enough data (or at least not to my untrained eyes) to tell yet.
Remember, how to steer the numbers with food. I don't have the link for it right now. But I give Monster some higher carb when I think she may dip too low when I'm not around. And I'm test obsessive a little bit, I test every hour unless I know she's good for 2 hours.
 
Remember, how to steer the numbers with food. I don't have the link for it right now. But I give Monster some higher carb when I think she may dip too low when I'm not around. And I'm testI'm testve a little cbi, I test every hour unless I know she's good for 2 hours.
I was thinking at the 7hr mark. I really do hate needles. When my first girl was diagnosed, my husband actually looked at me and said... Now what?
I was like, What do you mean, Now what? Now I learn to give insulin shots!🙄
I've had to do subq's for a long time for different problems. And if I screw up and have to poke a 3rd time, due to carry moving it my screwing it up? I finish and tell my husband... Go! Take her.
So I can lay down on the cold bathroom floor and try not to get sick.😂
And yes, your idea makes sense. A pre-emptive strike. I just need to learn when that may be. I mean, like today. I knew 172 was too low with having skipped last night's shot. But his 2hr was still in the blues. Had no clue they'd drop like that. I swear I'll learn. Eventually.
 
Hi Tyleete, here is the link about using food to manipulate the curve, if you're interested in reading 8/10 TASHIE pmps=HIGH! +Questions***

This was a strategy that worked very well for Trixie. Her snack times were always +2, +4, +6 and +9 but if you have a look at her SS you can see where I would often add a snack to keep her coasting and keep her out of limes. But as everyone says "ECID"
 
Is Nico eating well today?

The impact of a skipped dose can sometimes be seen in later cycles.

This is the link to yesterday.
Sorry, wrote Yesterday, but forgot the link. I'll fix it.
He's eaten real well today. I have no clue if he spent less time below 50, or because I have him the Mirataz last night. Guess I'll find out soon enough.
I thought it would drain his depot a bit from it. Seeing under 200 worried me and that's why I lowered it. I guess I'm glad? I still don't know if I did the wrong thing, but I can't help but think he would have stayed longer in the lime if I had left it a little higher? It's hard to know, as like everyone says, you may not see results immediately. Which in my thoughts, make it all but impossible to know which dosing is working.😅 Trial and error it seems. But my gut just told me to do it this morning. Believe me, I don't like making spur decisions for him like that. I was very nervous.
I've got to go reread that using food to manipulate food. Now that he's sort of going through this, maybe it will click more.
 
I'd stick with your gut's thought of 2.75 units. If the reduction fails, you can always go back up.

Depot dosing is less than straightforward, but you do get the hang of it after a while. It's just a bit over a month on Lantus, and look at the difference! You are doing a great job with him.
 
I'd stick with your gut's thought of 2.75 units. If the reduction fails, you can always go back up.

Depot dosing is less than straightforward, but you do get the hang of it after a while. It's just a bit over a month on Lantus, and look at the difference! You are doing a great job with him.
Thank you! Lantus was definitely the right thing to try.
I'm so going for a peaceful night's rest for us both tonight.
Thank you again for everything. 💕
 
Congrats on tge reduction. I would have taken it as well fwiw.
Thanks! It was nerve wracking.
Question. I was going over the TR dosing thread again, because Nico dipped yet again below 50 today. In fact, at +4 he was 41 on the human meter. I was told to write that in the comments section of his ss.
Last night we skipped. This morning I took it down from 3 to 2.75. Am I supposed to shave another 0.25 off tomorrow since he had that 41 today?:/
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251203_233426744_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20251203_233426744_HDR.jpg
    928.6 KB · Views: 20
Last edited:
I would say whatever you need to bring him up. You don't want him to stay that low, but whatever you feed is only going to work for about 2 hours. Then it's a check to see if he can sustain those higher numbers
 
So 74 Advocate is 41 on the Relion? And 69A = 38R? That's quite the difference from the AT to the Relion in that range. The Advocate seems really out in those low numbers and that's where you need them to be closer like the AT and human meter are.

He's only been on 2.75 unit for 2 cycles. That theoretically would be a back to back reduction. But with that number in the 30's, a full 0.25 unit reduction is recommended. Down to 2.5 units. He's not messing around. Up Nico!!
 
Back to 46 on human.
And now he's having trouble finishing the food. Since I've been feeding him after each low test. I hate this. :(
 
Don't feed much at each test, you want him to stay hungry. If he absolutely won't eat, rub a drop of karo on his gums.

Depending where he is in the morning, might want to consider a token dose at the AM.
 
I guess that's where I messed up, in giving too much. Hopefully this doesn't make him not want to eat later today, like it did last time.
Regan says I should basically use the Relion meter. But it has had problems in the past. But I might if it makes things easier on everyone here. I just hate how many failures it tests.
We'd spoken about a token dose again, just like time.
 
25min after 2nd hc feeding.
Why doed this cat hate me?
Look at it this way, both you and him are doing great! Remember when you started? Just look at Nico's SS, his next dose will be 2.5u while he was 3.75u just two weeks ago, and he's mostly in blues and greens now, good healing numbers for him.
He seems to be in a hurry to go down the dosing ladder, and I know you I've had a few of those sleepless nights but you're both doing great!

Few suggestions I might have, regarding Nico's SS:
- try to update the numbers there as you write them here as well, people that will help you will check the SS
- maybe also try to add the colors manually where you are testing multiple times an hour, it makes the SS easier to follow, most are used to look at the colors not actual numbers (and yours are also from a pet meter, so different)
- remember that the do not shoot advice above your remarks applies to a human meter, not the pet one. I believe 78 is the do not shoot for pet meters, but someone please correct me if I am wrong.
 
What are you feeding for medium carb food? I found out the hard way that the HC I was giving Neko had wheat which disagreed with her. You might want to stock some higher carbs, instead of feeding MC. I ended up using some of the Weruva, which used potatoes for carbs.
believe 78 is the do not shoot for pet meters, but someone please correct me if I am wrong.
It's is 68 for the AT. Not sure what it would be for the Advocate, it seems to be giving quite different numbers.
 
@diabeticblue The do not shoot on the AT is 68. It is lower on her meter which confuses things a bit.
 
I'll try and go color them. Don't know if my phone is that talented, but I'll try. Advocate normal and numbers are 75-120. Their pamphlet says under 75 is considered hypo numbers.
I did buy an AT3, but in the mail. And thought about using just the human meter, but it's been a bit off twice now and worried if I rely on that.
 
@diabeticblue The do not shoot on the AT is 68. It is lower on her meter which confuses things a bit.
That sounds confusing to me. If a hypo number on the meter is 50, and other night I was told 58 is ok to shoot; then shouldn't the no shoot for the pet meter be over the hypo number too?
Also, believe it or not, I feed him mc at +2 after his pmps. I anticipation of this. Food doesn't seem to bring him up?
I used 3drops of karo first time below numbers. Then 6drops at 2am (+6.5).
 
It's 3am now. Pm+7.5 (I think? I'm real tired) =89 on pet meter, 61 human.
I'm not sure if I'm getting back up to test. He won't even finish his tests now, poor, stuffed fella. Put that on my notes.
Only feed small amounts. But I didn't think only a tiny bit would help.
It actually seems food does not increase his BG. It's that possible? His mc is one if the fancy feast gravy types I read on here to get. The hc is Instinct Rabbit Limited Ingredient. I know that's 19% carbs and think someone told me the mc was 15%.
I don't think he ever got more than 2tsp each feeding. I even added karo twice. I don't know what we're doing wrong. But he needs something done different. Going with token dose is 1u in a few hours. Hoping he's high enough to shoot.
 
Oh! And it was suggested I just use the Relion for the sheet. But they're numbers are different than the pet meter. So not sure how to go about that.
And I know I saw someone say this. Are the numbers as concerning if they're asymptomatic? He's not lethargic, hops down and walks fine to get tested.
 
Back
Top