? 12/3 Liam pmps 494

VickiPerk

Member Since 2021
Hello,
We are on day 12 of Liam’s starting dose (SLGS) of .5. Today I did a GC and he’s been significantly higher than he’s been the last few days. Does this require a dose change to 1 unit or .75u? Any ideas why he’s gotten so high all of a sudden? Thankyou for your help!
 
Is there a reason you started at 0.5U rather than 1U? Was he recently switched to a low carb canned diet?

With SLGS, you evaulate the dose every 7 days. You don't want to hold a dose longer that that. I woud suggest you go up to 1U.

Will it be possible for you to get 1 test per cycle (in addition to the preshot tests) every day? If you can, I would suggest you switch to TR. You could get him to a good dose sooner. You can always switch back to SLGS once his numbers are better.

Link to your first post in the Main forum:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-grandpa-liam.255748/
 
Is there a reason you started at 0.5U rather than 1U? Was he recently switched to a low carb canned diet?

With SLGS, you evaulate the dose every 7 days. You don't want to hold a dose longer that that. I woud suggest you go up to 1U.

Will it be possible for you to get 1 test per cycle (in addition to the preshot tests) every day? If you can, I would suggest you switch to TR. You could get him to a good dose sooner. You can always switch back to SLGS once his numbers are better.

Link to your first post in the Main forum:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-grandpa-liam.255748/
I wanted to start low because he’s been an untreated diabetic for a long time. He was a colony cat and lived under my neighbors house. She fed him for years before she moved and then he joined my colony. She did mention that he’d been skinny for at least the last year and a half. I didn’t want to shock his system by giving such a high dose and have him bounce up super high.
As far as testing goes, how many hours post insulin is the second test supposed to be? When he was diagnosed we switched to low carb wet food only.
 
OK. Liam needs more insulin. When a cat stays in high numbers for too long, glucose toxicity develops. The term sound worse than it is. What it means is that a cat's body gets used to higher numbers and considers them them the normal. A temporary insulin resistance develops and you need more insulin to break through to good numbers. The best way to do that is increase his dose faster and get him to a good dose soon.

Bouncing cannot be avoided. It's a rite of passage, so to speak. The only way to stop bouncing is to get the cat's body used to lower numbers.

With TR you want to get a second test any time between 2 to 6 hours after the shot. In both the cycles. The idea is to understand how your cat behaves on insulin and how low he is going on a dose. Testing at different times in different cycles will help you get an idea of that.

The benefit of TR is that you can increase as often as every 3 days and therefore get the cat to a good dose sooner. Because it is a poor aggressive protocol, it requires more testing than SLGS.

Like I said before, you can always switch back to SLGS once Liam sees better numbers. Right now you want to be aggressive (safely) so you can break through any glucose toxicity that has developed.
 
Back
Top