12/3 KT PMPS 316 TY for answers!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good morning World! Yesterday's Condo

AMPS 335 - Started off on the mountaintop this morning - he's gonna get snowed on if he stays up there. I increased his dose today from f1.75 to 2.0 again to see if I can get him back down some again.

Thank you all for the hugs, thoughts, prayers and healing vines yesterday - DH and I really needed them. Today's a much better DH day - his strength seems fairly normal this morning and had no trouble moving as soon as he got up. I've got to make a trip in the rainy cold today to refill one of his types of potassium - I had to use 8 over the last 48 hours to keep him alive. To give you an idea of how high this dose is, 'normal' people would likely be dead if they took more than 2 over that time period. Guess he's like an Acro/IAA cat...?? Enough of that......

When I took Peanut and Lily their soft food bowls this morning, PEANUT ran to her bowl place and sat there without even flinching when I walked all the way up to her! I set her bowl down, she buried her face in it - I reached down and SHE LET ME PET HER! A whole down the back rub! Very quick and short before she gave me the 'eye' but she didn't move. This is a very seldom willing experience over 14 years without it being a thunderstorm outside.

Hugs to all and extra prayers that vet finds out why Miss Weezer drinks insulin like water....
 
Re: 12/3 KT AMPS 335 +3-268 Small increase today

Hi Lyresa and KT,
KT, I hope your new, slightly higher dose will get your numbers down again. Looks like it's working already.
What a great report on Peanut!

Lyresa, we are so glad that your DH is having a normal day. Sending him some "normal-day" vines. Amazing about the potassium. Have a safe trip on the cold, rainy roads, and have a good weekend.


Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/3 KT AMPS 335 +3-268 Small increase today

Thanks Lyresa! Your good wishes are always welcome!

I hope this is a good dose to bring KT in line.

I can't imagine how scarey it must be to deal with your DH"s health issues. You are amazing!
 
Re: 12/3 KT AMPS 335 +3-268 Small increase today

Hi Lyresa:

I'm sorry I missed giving you a big virtual hug yesterday and some support for such a bad day for DH and you. I'm so glad he is better today. You are an amazing woman to deal with all this with so much
grace and good humor.

Good luck with the dosecrease for KT today. And what great news about Peanut!!!
 
Re: 12/3 KT AMPS 335 +3-268 Small increase today

Lyresa, I'm glad to hear DH is doing better today. And sweet Peanut, what a treat that you got to give her a little pet! KT, come on down, nice and easy. No reason to stay up there. Have a nice evening!
Liz
 
Re: 12/3 KT PMPS 316 Up or down?

PMPS - 316

I'm wondering if I went the wrong way with that dose change. I THINK I put my 'chemical medicine' hat on and made my logic say to increase to bring numbers down. BUT when I look at his history, it looks like he was actually doing better on that 1.75 vs the f1.75. Should I DECREASE instead?

Hugs
 
Re: 12/3 KT PMPS 316 Up or down?

Wellllll.....I see your point but now you are on his 2nd cycle of 2u.

I have been told many times that just because they did well on a dose before doesn't mean that it would be the same right now. IMHO, I'd sit out the six cycles at this dose and reassess.....

I say this only because at one time on lantus, I had Gracie down to .5u and the reduction didn't work so I took her back up to .75..nothing; up to 1...nothing....I had to go back up to sk1.25u to get her to breakthrough and come
back down.

This is only my thought.....I think it's good to get other eyes here, too.
 
Re: 12/3 KT PMPS 316 Up or down?

Hi again, Lyresa,
I don't think you can go down in dose, not if you are following the protocol. KT has to earn a reduction while he is at the present dose and, judging from his SS, he has not done that. The knowledgeable people always say that you can't compare your present situation to where your kitty was a few weeks ago (or longer ago). (It took me a long time to absorb this information!!). Anyway, it looks to me as if going up is the only way to go at this point. The higher numbers you are seeing at this new dose of 2 units are undoubtedly owing to New Dose Wonkiness. Give KT the requisite amount of time (3 to 5 days) to settle in to this dose and then re-evaluate the situation and ask for advice. I know that the dosing experts will be able to interpret KT's spreadsheet and help you make sense of what is going on.

Wishing you and your family a really good night tonight,

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Marje's and my posts overlapped, but I see that we have basically said the same thing!
 
Re: 12/3 KT PMPS 316 Up or down?

Thanks Marje and Ella!

I just didn't know which way to go...I'll hold it at the 2.0 and see what happens this time.

Now another dumb question: If we can't compare the current position to the past, why do we need to collect all that data and all the talk about being 'data ready' to shoot?
 
Re: 12/3 KT PMPS 316 Up or down? ANOTHER QUESTION PLZ

It's not a dumb question. I wasn't clear.

I just meant just because he got into green on that dose doesn't mean he will right now. From dose to dose, you want to look at patterns...does he always get a food spike at +2, does he get a 2nd dip, etc. They can change as well.

But also, the testing lets you know he's safe.
 
Re: 12/3 KT PMPS 316 Up or down? ANOTHER QUESTION PLZ

I think you were fine to increase the dose. Hopefully, increasing will bring KT's overall level down. I'd certainly like to see KT spend more time in blue numbers. I've had to bring Gabby's dose up at various points. I wouldn't worry about it. You give the dose your cat needs.

I hope DH is doing better. It sounds like it was a rough night.
 
Re: 12/3 KT PMPS 316 Up or down? ANOTHER QUESTION PLZ

Thanks all for all the answers. That question has rolled around in my head for a few weeks but I just remembered to ask it.... :roll: :roll:

Even if the old data was just so much junk, I'd STILL test as much to be sure KT is always as safe as I can keep him....
 
i don't think the old data is useless - it shows trends and gives you a history. but for dosing, i don't think you can base today's situation on a previous day's dose & numbers. dosing is related to the previous few days.

you do such a fabulous job taking care of everyone in your house - glad your husband made it through the night! that's an understatement. you're amazing. i'm glad peanut gave you that little gift this morning. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top