12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u ; PMPS 486 +2 384

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

I will, Robin, I will. I have my hypo kit at the ready.

I was this | | close to having DH shoot 4 u's last night. I'm really glad I told him 3.8. I wonder if he hit a vein...
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

+3 406

I'll definitely continue to test...I think he might be higher today since he was in the yellows last night.
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

Hi Nancy,
So, I shot 3.6 u because I didn't want to lose too much ground. Should I have shot the 3.8 since he was over 200 or should I have gone lower?
I don't think our old sliding scales fit anymore.
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

Prozinc doesn't have a shed or much caryover so we don't shoot regular doses on lower numbers like Lev or Lantus so you were right to reduce.

I completely understand that you didn't want to lose any ground at this point and I agree. I might have reduced more but not alot more.

So we see where he goes today and hope that he's made a breakthrough and will start coming down.

This is very exciting. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

+4 409
Doesn't look very good, so far.

Thanks Robin.

Now, if I had to go to work today, I probably would have only shot somewhere in the 2 u's.
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

Could be a couple of things.

Looks like you're getting an inverse curve usually meaning too much insulin.

or

He could have been in the yellows all night and since he's not used to that his liver is reacting to it.

We'll just have to see how it plays out and shoot the numbers he gives you.

Hang in there.
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

Marcy,
You sound like me! But I am working on convincing myself that second guessing my decisions and regretting what I did does not help. You do your best with the info that you have at the moment (and you have been working SO hard to get this right!) and then move on from there. Luckily, no one decision makes the difference. And my father used to tell me that hindsight is 20/20. Took a long time to really understand that--and I am still working on it!
So give yourself kudos for doing so very much to help your kitty!
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

+5.25 375 He ate at 4.5 and some more at +5
a little movement...

Thanks Judy. I like your father's saying :smile: . I also wanted to explain my reasoning, so when this happens again in the wee hours of the morning when no one is online, and I'm frantically looking at Klinger's posts to decide what to shoot, I'll remember why I shot this amount today. :lol:
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

Marcy, you can put your reasoning in the comments section of your ss.

That is my biggest regret, I didn't keep any log of why I did what I did so I could look back at it, I really wish I had especially with all of the discussions around here lately.

I've seen some ss where each line is a couple of inches thich from all of the comments and daily food, WCR, etc and was in awe of their organization. Now they can look back at any time and see what worked and what didn't.
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

Boy do I get that early morning thing.

One morning the first time around I was running late and FORGOT :shock: that we had reduced his dose in half and shot the older bigger dose. When I got home 3 - 4 hours later he was entering hypo numbers, I think he was at 41. I shutter to think what would have happened if it had been a work day.

But now we have a bigger group and there are more of us online during the day so it is getting better.
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

Last night I said you guys did great,
the longer version is:

It is appropriate to reduce because of such a VASTLY different PS. It was well over 200 (and probably rising FAST) so I think your drop was appropriate.

Another option would have been to (feed or not and) retest in 10 min. You could see a vastly different number.

If you don't want to/can't wait 10 min, its a good idea to immediately retest oddball readings. This avoids changing your dose and losing ground for nothing. I cant tell you the number of times I retest and find the first reading either confirms, or is vastly different. Either way you feel better about your choice, and it cost .30. If its vastly different, I will retest a 3rd time to see which was closer to right.

I'm glad you didn't reduce more, because in the past I thought we lost ground on the days we dropped to 3.2u and less.

I do think you will see higher numbers all day today, because of the liver dumping "hypo" hormones (Oh no a Yellow!). This can last for many hours.
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u

Thanks, Nancy.
Another option would have been to (feed or not and) retest in 10 min. You could see a vastly different number.
I've added this to my ss for today, so if it happens again, I'll remember to retest. Hope you don't mind.

So, if he's back to his pink, red, or black at PMPS, is it best to go back to 3.8 u or increase to 4 u's?
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u ; PMPS 486

PMPS 486

Today wasn't so hot...at least he didn't hypo, but it would have been great to see some lower numbers.

Back to 3.8 u's???

Oh, Gator, would you please do whatever you did last night on your walk along the beach to happy hour! Much appreciated. :-D
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u ; PMPS 486

mars72 said:
Oh, Gator, would you please do whatever you did last night on your walk along the beach to happy hour! Much appreciated. :-D
LOL I took a break and got away from things for a while. Hey, if that's the trick I'm fine with that. :-D
 
Re: 12/3 Klinger AMPS 235 3.6u ; PMPS 486

Quite a day you two had. I like Nancy's suggestion to wait and test again if you can, that way you will see which way he's headed up or down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top