12/3 Jude | AMPS 302; +2.5 336; PMPS 267; +3 74; +5 72

Mary & Jude

Member Since 2024
yesterday's condo

This morning I was thinking about Jude, racking my brain, and trying to figure out his erratic numbers as of late. I looked back on his spreadsheet and started to see a pattern when I started his Gaba and Prozasin, which are both compounded liquids. I know the Gaba is sugar free because I specifically went to the compounding pharmacy to get a sugar free version, but I don't remember telling the pharmacy that the Prozasin needed to be sugar free. So, I checked with them this morning.

Guess what? It's got sugar in it.

Poor Jude! :arghh:

They will prepare a new sugar-free prescription, but I feel stupid and horrible for not being more diligent to monitor exactly what I put into his body. I just didn't think about them adding a sugar flavoring to a compounded version--I knew it would be fish flavor, but I didn't think about sugar!

So...learn from my mistake: always ask to make sure any compounded liquids do not have sugar flavoring in them.

I hope this discovery will lead to better numbers for my little guy.

Have a good day everyone! Safe surfs, kittens!
 
Last edited:
Great detective work. That makes so much sense now. Hopefully now that you discovered this his number will start coming back down in a day or two. And don't be too hard on yourself. Us caregivers already have so much to think and worry about that one slip like this is nothing. You're a great mama to Jude and all his siblings! Don't ever forget that. And you're an awesome auntie to Nestle and Peanut 🥰🐈🐈🥜

🥰🤗🙋🏻‍♀️🐾✨🐈🐈‍⬛🐈‍⬛🐈‍⬛🐈‍⬛💕
 
Second what Albert said, don’t be too hard on yourself. When you have to question everything, even if it seems totally acceptable, it’s gets to be a lot. Sounds like you even took the right steps to ask yourself about the sugar, but who would’ve thought they’d throw sugar into a medicine for a diabetic cat! Glad you’ve caught it now and hopefully that ease Jude back to those nice sugars 🤗
 
I'm glad you figured that out. And thank you for telling those of us that wouldn't have thought to ask that.
I actuality have a set of 'notes' on my phone I started last night. And I'm putting your warning in there. Good luck getting him back quickly
 
Bravo, Mary. I wouldn't have even realized this was a possibility! Here's hoping things calm down nicely for Jude with the new sugarless meds. 💚
 
Cheers friend. I applaud your relentless pursuit of solutions and improvement. It’s really hard having to think about EVERYTHING …. Bottom line, you fixed another variable. You are a great Jude mommy. I hope he gives you some good snuggles today!
 
Glad you figured it out. My Indy is on a compounded chlorambucil once a week, his numbers didn't shoot up with the last dose....so am hoping it doesn't mess him up.
 
yesterday's condo

This morning I was thinking about Jude, racking my brain, and trying to figure out his erratic numbers as of late. I looked back on his spreadsheet and started to see a pattern when I started his Gaba and Prozasin, which are both compounded liquids. I know the Gaba is sugar free because I specifically went to the compounding pharmacy to get a sugar free version, but I don't remember telling the pharmacy that the Prozasin needed to be sugar free. So, I checked with them this morning.

Guess what? It's got sugar in it.

Poor Jude! :arghh:

They will prepare a new sugar-free prescription, but I feel stupid and horrible for not being more diligent to monitor exactly what I put into his body. I just didn't think about them adding a sugar flavoring to a compounded version--I knew it would be fish flavor, but I didn't think about sugar!

So...learn from my mistake: always ask to make sure any compounded liquids do not have sugar flavoring in them.

I hope this discovery will lead to better numbers for my little guy.

Have a good day everyone! Safe surfs, kittens!
Ugh. I'm so glad you were able to figure out this seemingly random horrible increase in his numbers, but it sure is annoying!!

You shouldn't feel bad; I never even would've considered that they'd have sugar if I hadn't happened to see an old comment about it here. Seems unnecessary (but I guess so is adding sugar to 99% of the things we do here in the US 🙄).
 
Oh man! It's so hard to check everything. Last year I bought turkey crumbles as a topper for Kahluas food. It has some sort of carbs and her numbers shot up. Ugh! I assumed it was turkey....now, let's see those greens, Jude!
 
Back
Top