? 12/3 Henry PMPS 137 + 1.5 150 +2.5 142 +3.5 162

Golf2015

Member Since 2020
Henry just posted AMPS (6:00am EST) of 175. He has the potential of dropping over 200 points at the peak of insulin might need someone's help to navigate this likely outcome. This could be his ideal dosage but I'm approaching this with caution.

Previous Thread
 
Last edited:
Hi Robert, have you fed him and given him the 4.25 units?

Yes he was fed low carb wet (5%) of 80 calories first of four feedings all being 80 calories each - structured diet time wise

AMPS Injection was 4.25 units 30 minutes ago @ 6:00am EST
 
Yes he was fed low carb wet (5%) of 80 calories first of four feedings all being 80 calories each - structured diet time wise

AMPS Injection was 4.25 units 30 minutes ago @ 6:00am EST

OK. It's great that you shot him. Shoot low to stay low!

Without tests after +6 last night, I cannot tell if he dipped lower and has started a bounce and is now heading higher. Or he was flattish and could dip in the AM cycle.
Not a criticism, just an observation! :-)

I will perform a BG reading at AMPS + 2 (8:00am EST)

That should give you a reading of where he is headed. You might need to use food to steer him, but that is a call we can take at +2.
 
Yes, I am aware. :)

This is a useful post on how to collect data to be ready for lower pre-shots:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

How is Henry's transition to 100% canned going?

YES His Last (2) meals of 80 Calories each consists of 75/5 - Meaning 75 Calories of low carb wet (5%) + 5 Calories of low car dry (5%) for a total of 80 Calories ==> (95% wet to 5% dry)

Next 80 Calorie feeding will be 100% WET LOW CARB (5%)
 
I'm sure you know, that lower +2 indicates that the cycle will be active,
that means we will see him drop to his nadir, and then rise, what we don't know is how fast or low he will drop.

Looking at 11/29 pm cycle the drop by +2 was much bigger, so if I had to guess it won't be as fast or dramatic as that, but you never know.
  • If he hit's a high green at +3 I would go with LC food, (probably lower than the 10%),
  • however if it's a low to midling green then you could stick with the 10%,
  • or if he is in the 50's (human meter) / Near 68(AT) then maybe some MC 14% ish.
  • if he were to hit lime green at +3 then bring out the big guns HC.
 
Last edited:
Wow! Looks like Henry is working it! :woot:
@Gill & George Robert uses an Alphatrak, so lime green for him is 68. Would that require MC sooner than 50's? Just a thought.

I saw the tag. My work schedule is pretty full today and unpredictable...sorry. I'll pop in when able but can't 100% commit to being around for the next test. I'll sneak over here whenever I can.

ETA: Gill, I see you edited your post to include AT numbers. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
I'm sure you know, that lower +2 indicates that the cycle will be active,
that means we will see him drop to his nadir, and then rise, what we don't know is how fast or low he will drop.

Looking at 11/29 pm cycle the drop by +2 was much bigger, so if I had to guess it won't be as fast or dramatic as that, but you never know.
  • If he hit's a high green at +3 I would go with LC food, (probably lower than the 10%),
  • however if it's a low to midling green then you could stick with the 10%,
  • or if he is in the 50's then maybe some MC 14% ish.
  • if he were to hit lime green at +3 then bring out the big guns HC.

The LC food is 4% wet

The MC food I have is 16% wet

The HC food is Temptation kibble is 35%
 
Last edited:
The HC food is Temptation kibble is 35%
I would avoid those, we refer to them at home as Cat Cocaine. They seem to have a more lasting and less predictable effect, from what I have seen with folk that have used them. They don't appear to wear off as quick so you don't know if the BG is up on its own or if it's being bolstered by the treats, so you don't know when to ease of the testing. That can cause difficulty in the cycles that follow.

They are good in sending the BG up though in an emergency. I thought I remembered them being higher than 35%.

I would add honey/syrup to the 16% to boost the carb content of that in preference to the temptation treats. Then you know it's in and out. (within two hours)
 
Henry just posted a AMPS + 3 (108)

Appears to be slowing due to food???? Which was (2) tsps of wet 10% carb at AMPS +2

I'm assuming hold the food and do another BG reading at AMPS + 4
 
Last edited:
Henry just posted a BG reading of (90) NO food since AMPS + 2 (2 TSPS of wet 10% carb)

How should I proceed?
 
No normally +5.5 - 80 Calories but can hold off until +6

Henry maybe earning another reduction

He doesn't seem to be dropping very fast. It's a nice "surfy" cycle. You could either feed a part of that +5.5 meal now and the rest at +5.5 or just wait and see how he does at +5.
 
I have a question about Henry's BG reading of (90) @ AMPS + 4, could this have been lower than (90) had it not been for the (2) tsps of wet (10%) carb given @ AMPS + 2
 
We only give reductions when we actually see a number under 90. It's easier than guessing what might have happened. And this way, Henry continues on a dose that is giving him very nice healing numbers. The more time he spends in these nice and safe numbers, the more he'll get used to them, and hopefully bounce less.
He has the potential of dropping over 200 points at the peak of insulin might need someone's help to navigate this likely outcome
The thing about Lantus, you see big drops when they start in high numbers, not so much when they start in low numbers. Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers flat. Today's cycle is shaping up to be similar to the night of the 29th, but with slightly higher nadir.
 
Sorry I didn't see your earlier update.
could this have been lower than (90)
Possibly, no way of knowing for sure if he would have dropped lower, try not to worry about it, if you had given him temptations, I would be more concerned, but with the 10% I wouldn't worry about it, if you didn't see the number it didn't happen.

Looking nice and flat with that +5.
 
Henry's PMPS (6:00pm EST) BG Reading is (127) will test @ 6:20pm
If going up will shoot Henry with 4.25 units @ 6:20pm
 
Just performed Henry's BG reading @ PMPS + 1.5 (150) - (8:00pm EST)

Next reading at PMPS + 2.5 (9:00pm EST)

Sound good?
 
Could you remove the AM numbers from your subject line and just do the PM ones for now?

Looks like either a food spike or a bounce, next test will tell.
 
Great job today!!! What a nice cycle and paws crossed for a similar one tonight. Looks like he has a bit of a food spike at +1.5. This dose is working nicely for him right now.

When we were new, we swore we’d never be able to shoot below 150 but that didn’t last long. Once you shoot your first green number and he stays nice and flat, it will get addictive. :D
 
Great job today!!! What a nice cycle and paws crossed for a similar one tonight. Looks like he has a bit of a food spike at +1.5. This dose is working nicely for him right now.

When we were new, we swore we’d never be able to shoot below 150 but that didn’t last long. Once you shoot your first green number and he stays nice and flat, it will get addictive. :D

Henry just posted a 142 @ PMPS + 2.5 (9:00pm EST)
 
Last edited:
Marje

I was thinking about starting the Human Meter (Nova Max Plus) tomorrow morning @6:00am EST which would be the AMPS time slot
 
Still flat blues - lovely cycle! That +3.5 sounds good, should let you see what is going to happen this cycle.

If you start the new meter, put a blank line in the spreadsheet after today, and on that blank line write "started human Novamax meter", so we know when you switched.

Once you start seeing more greens and blues, you learn their patterns on those numbers, and get a better idea when you have to test. And more importantly, when you don't.
 
O
Still flat blues - lovely cycle! That +3.5 sounds good, should let you see what is going to happen this cycle.

If you start the new meter, put a blank line in the spreadsheet after today, and on that blank line write "started human Novamax meter", so we know when you switched.

Once you start seeing more greens and blues, you learn their patterns on those numbers, and get a better idea when you have to test. And more importantly, when you don't.

OK I will do that

Thanks Wendy
 
Back
Top