12/3, Corduroy, AMPS=230

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone! ~O)

Again, I apologize for not being on here very often lately. I've been recording Corduroy's numbers and watching him closely, but just not posting it. He seems to be doing fine, except for the constipation issue which arises from time to time. I started giving him olive oil instead of laxatone due to it raising his blood sugar. It's weird, but I think Joe is constipated too. I don't see any poop in their litter boxes :roll: I've still been giving them Evo 95% Chicken and Turkey, which seemed to be fine before, so I'm kind of clueless.

Well, I hope you all have a good Tuesday and that your kitties take a safe dip in the lagoon! :mrgreen:
 
i looked at Corduroy's ss and thought how much he loves his little tiny drop. kinda reminds me of my daughter and her binky . . . :lol:

you can try adding fiber and water to their food to help with the constipation. i haven't seen others suggest it on here, but my vet told me i could give punkin plain oat bran or plain wheat bran. his was for diarrhea, but adding fiber helps both problems. i just got 1/4 cup or so in the bulk section of the grocery store. the vet had suggested just 1/2 tsp or so to his food twice a day. if you try this, add some water to the food too, if you aren't doing that already.

the most frequent suggestion i've seen here is to add plain canned pumpkin or baby food squash. both have a lot of fiber in them. i've also heard people suggest adding green beans, but haven't done it myself.

punkin didn't like pumpkin - i figured it was a little too cannabalistic for him. ;-) :-D
 
Constipation resolution ideas.

1. Miralax (or generic polyethelene glycol 3350) start with 1/8 teaspoon once a day. Increase as needed to twice a day. My vet told me I could go up to 1 teaspoon twice a day if needed. Increase to the point where the stools are a little loose, then back down on the dose.
2. Psyllium fiber powder. Unflavored, no sweetener. Start with 1/8 teaspoon once a day. Increase dose and or frequency as needed.
3. Plain canned pumpkin or squash. Start with 1 teaspoon once a day and increase to 1T if needed. Never helped my Wink with his constipation but works great if he has diarrhea.
4. Add more water to the canned food. Until the food is the consistency of applesauce (2:1 ration food to water) or even soupy (1:1 ratio) Keeps your cat hydrated and can help with the constipation.
 
Thank you Julie and Rhiannon for the tips! He's still showing signs of constipation. I've been giving him olive oil everyday, which seems to help a little, but I'm just concerned as to why he's (they're) constipated in the first place all of the sudden :? Joe is too. I'm going to buy chicken thighs with bone today to use with the Feline's Pride pre-mix I got in the mail. I'm going to take out some of the bone, as Dr. Lisa suggested on her website, and I'm also going to incorporate some of the things you two suggested.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top