? 12/3/2019 Triton AMPS 569 - Help!!

Still high.... 583

I don’t know why...He is only eating low carb foods.. this is frustrating
 
Kitties bounce until they don't. You are still early in this dance and this is a marathon not a sprint. Triton has been dropping to blues which is great but he definitely has room to come down more.

Glad you increased the dose today. You can increase every 3 days (6 cycles) with TR so don't hold a dose too long if you are not seeing some improvement in BG.

While you may have given a fur shot, it may also be a combination of bouncing and something called new dose wonkiness (NDW) causing those prolonged high numbers today. Keep checking the ketones as anything over trace is cause for a vet consult. Keep Triton well hydrated by adding water to his food and make sure he is eating well. Any sign of his appetite decreasing is also a warning that something else might be brewing.
 
Kitties bounce until they don't. You are still early in this dance and this is a marathon not a sprint. Triton has been dropping to blues which is great but he definitely has room to come down more.

Glad you increased the dose today. You can increase every 3 days (6 cycles) with TR so don't hold a dose too long if you are not seeing some improvement in BG.

While you may have given a fur shot, it may also be a combination of bouncing and something called new dose wonkiness (NDW) causing those prolonged high numbers today. Keep checking the ketones as anything over trace is cause for a vet consult. Keep Triton well hydrated by adding water to his food and make sure he is eating well. Any sign of his appetite decreasing is also a warning that something else might be brewing.

I am not quite sure if it was but it’s possible. Would I still count this am cycle as one of the 6 cycles for TR?
 
Did you feel any wet on Triton's fur or get a whiff of any medicinal smell or is it just the high numbers making you question a furshot?

If you felt or smelled something, then I wouldn't count that shot. If you are only guessing it could have been then I'd include that shot in the 6 cycle count.
 
Give him a little time...it looks like he tends to go way up into the black every time he hits the blues. That will settle down ... but it takes time. Just keep track of how many days he is on a dose and increase per the TR protocol. Keep testing just to make sure of where he's at in his numbers.
 
Did you feel any wet on Triton's fur or get a whiff of any medicinal smell or is it just the high numbers making you question a furshot?

If you felt or smelled something, then I wouldn't count that shot. If you are only guessing it could have been then I'd include that shot in the 6 cycle count.

The high number makes me feel like it was a fur shot but his PMPS number was 337 so it could be that I did give him a full shot.


Give him a little time...it looks like he tends to go way up into the black every time he hits the blues. That will settle down ... but it takes time. Just keep track of how many days he is on a dose and increase per the TR protocol. Keep testing just to make sure of where he's at in his numbers.

Hi Sue!

Yes, Triton can be unpredictable but yes it does take time.

Hi Gissele!

Does Triton have any history of ketones? Do you have urine ketone test strips or a blood ketone meter?

Hi Chris!

Thanks for following up with my post on Facebook as well. I’m Giselle Marzan on facebook lol. I have a ketones meter and ever since his diagnosis, this is the first time I checking it.
 
This may sound a little different, but I can't help wonder if he's actually getting too much insulin.

When you were on Vetsulin, you were started at 2U which is a high starting dose and then when you switched to Lantus, we usually take into consideration the dose you were on with the Vetsulin…..so I'm just wondering if the reason for the wonky numbers is his body trying to compensate for a dose that's too high.

Since you have a ketone meter and can check him whenever necessary, I'm tempted to suggest that you might actually decrease his dose for a few days and see what happens (as long as he's eating well and acting normally)

Too much insulin can look like not enough. Strange but true.
 
This may sound a little different, but I can't help wonder if he's actually getting too much insulin.

When you were on Vetsulin, you were started at 2U which is a high starting dose and then when you switched to Lantus, we usually take into consideration the dose you were on with the Vetsulin…..so I'm just wondering if the reason for the wonky numbers is his body trying to compensate for a dose that's too high.

Since you have a ketone meter and can check him whenever necessary, I'm tempted to suggest that you might actually decrease his dose for a few days and see what happens (as long as he's eating well and acting normally)

Too much insulin can look like not enough. Strange but true.

When he was on Vetsulin, my vet started him at 1u. I wasn’t home testing at the time because I had no idea you could do that. I started to home test when my vet decided we needed to increase his dose.

How many units would you suggest? And how long should I hold the dose? Would I be following any method?
 
I disagree with dropping the dose.

You decreased Triton's dose when you switched to Lantus. Ordinarily, you do not need to lower the dose when you make a switch from a non-depot insulin to a depot-type of insulin. And frankly, it was a substantial drop in dose.

It looks to me like Trition is bouncing. The bouncing is supremely annoying but a normal part of the process.

Which dosing method are you following and can you please update both your signature and spreadsheet with that information?
 
Back
Top