12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:579

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
Marilyn looks like she feels kind of odd, or let's just say, crappy. Any experience with the BG coming down, but kitty looking miserable?

Marilyn's Yesterday 12/02/11: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57786

Marilyn's Today 12/03/11:
AMPS = 327
1.5 Units Lantus (second 0.25u increase = 1.5u total dose BID)
+1 = 323
+3 = 251
+4 = 225
+5 = 214
+6 = 200 (edit to add @ 9:40 AM)
+6 Ketones = 0.1 mmol/L
+7 = 222 (edit to add @5:50 PM)
PMPS = 488
1.5 Units Lantus
+1 = 596
+2 = HI = 600+ "Off the Meter"
+3 = HI = 600+ "Off the Meter"
+3 Ketones = 0.3 mmol/L
+4 = 573
+5 = 563
+6 = 579
+6 Ketones = 0.3 mmol/L
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +1:323 +3:251 +4:225 +5:214

It's possible that Marilyn may not feel great until she gets used to being in lower numbers. For some cats that have been in higher numbers for a while, they get used to the way their bodies feel when BG is in those high ranges. As they start to respond to insulin and numbers come down, it doesn't feel "right." Give it some time for Marilyn to acclimate to lower numbers. It's nice to see those yellows!

That said, I would continue to test for ketones. If you see Marilyn's behavior change or she isn't eating, then there's cause for concern and a vet visit would be in order.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +1:323 +3:251 +4:225 +5:214

I've had some experience when Blackie was in the higher #s. She would just lay around, and look crappy. Now that she's more in the normal # range, she's definitely more perky, and although she doesn't play, she's always walking around, and jumping up and down on furniture, and now is exploring (has been doing the exploring part for quite a few weeks now). It'll happen. Just hang in there. You're doing a wonderful job! :-D
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +1:323 +3:251 +4:225 +5:214

Shes' coming down nicely. I hope she gets used to the lower numbers and starts feeling better soon.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +1:323 +3:251 +4:225 +5:214

Sienne: Thank you...thank you. It's good to hear you say this. I was hoping someone experienced, or knew of, this backwards response. I feel a little better now.

Angela: Thanks for cheering us on! I've been up all night. Now if you could only cheer loud enough to keep me awake.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +1:323 +3:251 +4:225 +5:214 +6:

Thanks Linda. Don't know how I keep missing comments. I didn't want to seem rude since I replied to specific people before you! I am, however, delirious right now from lack of sleep. :-D
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +1:323 +3:251 +4:225 +5:214 +6:

I hope you get a nice restful nap in, today.
Marilyn, what nice numbers! :-D
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +1:323 +3:251 +4:225 +5:214 +6:

Hi Deb!

Actually those numbers look, well, like they are supposed to look. Looks like the lantus is finally "taking" and she's liking it. The next thing to "observe" will be what she thinks about them, and what she does the first time she recognizes the color "blue" which she's probably going to do today.

Marilyn just needs to figure out these lower numbers are okay with her.
I think she looks much better in yellow than in black, given her natural coloring.
And YAY for the ketone testing. My meter manual says .1 is just peachy.

Enjoy your cat nap!
Carl
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +1:323 +3:251 +4:225 +5:214 +6:

YAY!!! Much better numbers!!!! She's almost in blue!!!! Great job Deb!!

Have to jump on the bandwagon on high numbers. For a long time when Gracie was at high numbers, she also seemed to feel fine and the low numbers found her just sleeping. Sienne told me the same thing and she
was right....once Gracie got used to low numbers, she is her frisky, playful, happy baby self and now the high numbers seem to bother her more.

Now you'll start to see how great lantus can work!
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +5:214 PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601

Thanks all. Apparently, the better the AM cycle...the worse the PM cycle is. Not good.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +5:214 PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601

Because Marilyn isn't used to seeing those yellows, her liver freaks. When this happens, a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones are released and the numbers spike into the stratosphere. They'll come down. You just have to wait for the bounce to clear. Do not raise the dose while Marilyn is bouncing, no matter how tempting it is.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +5:214 PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601

no matter how tempting it is.

Can't overemphasize the above quote. Increasing the dose on a bounce can result in overdose. Check out Gabby's and Gracie's SS and you'll see how they like to bounce, how we hold the dose until it clears before we
decide if a change is warranted.

They used to have to tell me "patience grasshopper" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +5:214 PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601

Hi there!

Nice run of yellow there today!

I'm going to add my voice to the "wait until the bounce clears" chorus :cool:

Glad you are testing for ketones.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +5:214 PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601

Hi Everyone,

Thanks for all of the support and input. However, I'd like to set your minds at ease; I have no intention of raising her dose! I'm exhausted and bleary eyed, so you had me searching this post, looking for the point in time where I gave that impression. In fact, if you look at her SS, you will see the same PM pattern, since starting Lantus, with never an impulsive dose increase. So, I hope I got that out of the way.

I've looked at several kitty's SS's, as suggested, and although they may be helpful if I had more experience, or possibly more sleep...I am just not finding a correlation to Marilyn's numbers. Marilyn is showing a glaring, and consistent, difference between AM & PM cycles. The term "bounce" is used often, and I am trying to wrap my head around this concept, regarding Marilyn's numbers. I've heard that a bounce, or rebound (assuming they are one in the same), "can" take days to clear. So assuming this is her liver causing a bounce, and knowing that ECID, can there be a consistent predictability of this PM "bounce", that happens every day, for the same length of time, then clears, and repeats? Does anyone have firsthand experience, or knowledge regarding "this" pattern?

I must say, I switched to Lantus since the folks over in Health were concerned with her high pre-shot numbers on Humulin. What I'm seeing now seems much worse, and more concerning, than just high pre-shots. My untrained eyes have looked at the Humulin data, and I'm not seeing this "bounce" from lower BG's. All I can see, again, with untrained eyes, is the Humulin acting the way "it just does" in cats. I'm not seeing her body fighting the lower numbers...just the Humulin wearing off...as it's known to do in felines. I'm finding her PM Lantus data troubling to say the least; her SS is hurting my eyes. Maybe it will "clear", as you say, and by tomorrow, it will be smooth sailing from there, on. However, why would her liver, in such a regimented fashion, fight the low BGs on Lantus, but not on Humulin?

Please point-out anywhere my thinking is off track. I really need help understanding, not just the Lantus AM & PM contradiction, but also the Humulin vs. Lantus data.

Thanks all,

Deb
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:

It seems Marilyn clears bounces pretty fast.
bounces can happen from the length of time spent at lower numbers as well, like today - Marilyn was yellow for at least 5 straight hours - maybe more.
I would not be too concerned about the AM/PM differences. Most cats run lower on the PM cycle - Marilyn does the opposite - ECID.
Try to put the Humulin thinking out of your mind. Lantus dosing is based on nadir, with only some consideration given to PS numbers.
Also, with Lantus there is a phenomenon we call "New Dose Wonkiness, or NDW. Sometimes after an increase the numbers may be wonky for a couple cycles.
Keep plugging along - you will find the dose that does the trick. It may take a little time - but it will get better. :-D
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:

One way I like to look at the spreadsheet is to shrink it so I can see a whole big block of time, and then go for a Gestalt impression of the colours. And I definitely see the evening being lots of black and red, as you noted.

BUT - I also noticed what you wrote about feeding - specifically, the 1/8 can TID. That TID feeding may be what is bumping the evening levels up - you may raise her before the PM preshot test, then add more at shot time, if I understand your note correctly. To see if that explains it, try adding a line under the glucose testing and color code or somehow mark the feeding. If it tilts with more food going in towards the afternoon and evening, that may be your explanation.

What some folks do to manage the food rise is go for feeding in the 1st half of the cycle (say half the morning's food, then 2-3 hours later the other half, and leave out whatever's left without putting out fresh food in the last half of the cycle, so it can be nibbled, but isn't like "Oh goody! fresh food! nom, nom, nom!" with the resulting food spike.

What I do with Spitzer (and my other 11 cats) is put down fresh food twice a day. I see them eat a lot at first, then it tapers off until the next feeding. One time, I was delayed in giving him insulin for 1 hour, so I retested ... and he spiked 200 points just from eating in that hour. Your kitty may be sufficiently carb sensitive that she does the same.

In case you've not been told about it yet, shot location can be important. The scruff area does not absorb very well; you may have better luck if you can inject on the sides, maybe in the loose skin around the shoulder area.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:

Thanks BJ,

Before I forget, I am shooting on her side...not scruff...so that's a check. I know I wrote "TID", but it was due to lack of space, and the third feeding was a one-time-thing. That's not to say it won't happen again! I can't even remember now why she got the extra 1/8. I think it was because I was up all night getting BG numbers, so they were all bugging me for food.

I attempted to add food entries to her SS when I first started, and again just now, but it is "mucking" it up a bit. I need to wrap my head around her numbers, and as you said, I would need another line between days. I'll figure something out eventually.

However, her feedings are relatively straightforward; Marilyn always gets a half can of Friskies Pate immediately following her AM & PM shot. She then gets 1/8 can in the evening when someone comes to do boxes, and another 1/8 can before he leaves. This falls approximately at PM+4 & PM+6 (which I understand would be easier to see on the actual SS). Sometimes she gets a 1/4 when he arrives, but is pulled from her cage-condo before finishing, and is placed back-in to finish the remainder, before he leaves; which pretty much works out the same as the 1/8 + 1/8 two hours apart. So she does get a 1/4 can more food during the PM cycle.

Bottom line is, she is feeling horrible on the Lantus so far. She's vomited a few times, and she is not one to do so. I have vomitus kitties all over the house, but she is not one of them...so when she does, there's a problem. I just don't know if I can stand to wait this out, since she's only gotten worse, and I don't when she will turn the corner, or if there's a corner to turn. I can't watch her going downhill, without trying to figure out how to turn it around. I must think...but too tired to do so. If you can see a reason, or pinpoint where that extra 1/4 can is causing the PM problem, please feel free to point it out. I'm not seeing it, since she starts the PM cycle, in the black, before any PM food.

Thanks so much for your input.

Deb

PS: Hi Lisa and Do Lou. Thanks for stoppin'. :-D
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:

only brainstorming ideas here:

Is there anything foodwise she can get into in the late afternoon?
Does she sleep a lot during the day and not burn off as many calories?
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:

I know the high numbers are hard to see especially if your cat is feeling like crappus. I suspect that part of why Marilyn is feeling punk is because she's had a couple of good AM cycles. To be honest, those AM cycles look better than most of the cycles Marilyn's seen on N.

I'm not sure who suggested starting Lantus at a lower dose than where Marilyn was at on N. IMHO, she was started at too low of a dose. Right now, you're still playing catch up. I hope you can see your way clear to waiting this out. She's been on Lantus for only 8 days. Lantus takes a while to work.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:

Gosh, those high numbers are so scary and frustrating! Zener is one bouncy kitty so it may help to look at his SS. We've been getting loads of tests lately to catch his big drops and try to control the bouncing some. His liver is one big drama queen! It took him about a month to start feeling better when we switched to lantus, but then he started feeling better even when his numbers were high. He also would act more punk when his numbers were low as he was not used to them. He still bounces like a maniac but overall feels better most of the time. It is so overwhelming in the beginning, you are doing great!
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn AMPS:327 +5:214 PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601

Barn Cats R Us said:
I've looked at several kitty's SS's, as suggested, and although they may be helpful if I had more experience, or possibly more sleep...I am just not finding a correlation to Marilyn's numbers. Marilyn is showing a glaring, and consistent, difference between AM & PM cycles. The term "bounce" is used often, and I am trying to wrap my head around this concept, regarding Marilyn's numbers. I've heard that a bounce, or rebound (assuming they are one in the same), "can" take days to clear. So assuming this is her liver causing a bounce, and knowing that ECID, can there be a consistent predictability of this PM "bounce", that happens every day, for the same length of time, then clears, and repeats? Does anyone have firsthand experience, or knowledge regarding "this" pattern?
Bounces can take days to clear, but some cats clear them much faster. In fact, most cats' bounces get shorter and shorter until they go away. It's not unusual for cats to go through a phase where they are on kind of a 24 hour schedule like this. Also, we often see that cats coming off of a shorter-acting insulin, like Humulin or Vetsulin, can sometimes bounce more than cats that start right off on Lantus. Their bodies become accustomed to that fast up-and-down of those insulins and sometimes it takes a while to condition that response out of them. Breathe! It has only been a week and Marilyn is still adjusting to Lantus.

I must say, I switched to Lantus since the folks over in Health were concerned with her high pre-shot numbers on Humulin. What I'm seeing now seems much worse, and more concerning, than just high pre-shots. My untrained eyes have looked at the Humulin data, and I'm not seeing this "bounce" from lower BG's. All I can see, again, with untrained eyes, is the Humulin acting the way "it just does" in cats. I'm not seeing her body fighting the lower numbers...just the Humulin wearing off...as it's known to do in felines. I'm finding her PM Lantus data troubling to say the least; her SS is hurting my eyes. Maybe it will "clear", as you say, and by tomorrow, it will be smooth sailing from there, on. However, why would her liver, in such a regimented fashion, fight the low BGs on Lantus, but not on Humulin?
It was fighting the lower numbers on Humulin too. Her highs were in the daytime more than at night on Humulin. One thing about Humulin is that it is good at bringing down high numbers quickly. That is why you don't notice the highs as much, because the Humulin DID pull them back down (until she bounced back up again). Lantus doesn't pull down high numbers as well because it is more cumulative in nature, but when it is working well at a good dose it will help smooth out the ups and downs so she will stay more steady. That doesn't happen overnight, though. Please don't be looking for immediate improvement. It will take some time.

I'm going to point out one other very important point: please, please, please get some sleep! Take care of yourself. When Marilyn is that high, get a before bed test and then go to bed and don't get up until morning. There will be plenty of time for sleepless nights once she starts getting low numbers. ;-)

One of the things that is most frustrating about Lantus at first is that most people expect to see the insulin doing something. With Humulin, you inject the insulin and the numbers go down. If you inject more Humulin, the numbers go down more. Lantus doesn't work that way. In almost every case, what we see is a whole lot of nothing, dose increase after dose increase, until one day BAM. There is a breakthrough, all of a sudden. Then usually the cat starts earning dose reductions pretty quickly.

Most (not all) cats end up needing a higher dose of Lantus than they needed on whatever their previous insulin was. Just keep working the dose up systematically until you get that breakthrough. Of course, if ketones increase then we'll need a more aggressive strategy, but for now I think you are doing a great job.

Oh, and what Sienne suggested about Marilyn not feeling as well when she is low because she is used to being in high numbers? That is probably true. I had a diabetic friend tell me that. Later she started feeling GREAT when she was low, but it was an adjustment.

So breathe, and sleep, ok? :YMHUG: I-)
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:

i haven't stopped in yet to meet you, Deb & say hi to marilyn, so hi! i think you've gotten lots of good advice - i'm sure it's a major change to switch to a new insulin.

punkin seems happy in whatever sugar range he's in the most - any time he gets higher or lower it lays him out with no energy for a while. then he adjusts to the new range. i think it must be like when i can't have my caffeine - ya feel crappy for the first couple of days, then you get used to the new normal.
 
Re: 12/3/11 Marilyn PMPS:488 +2:601 +3:601 +4:573 +5:563 +6:

Hello All,

I wanted to thank all of you for your support, and personal experience, with numbers such as Marilyn's. I was running on very little food & sleep for over a week, so I finally crashed & burned, and got some much-needed rest. Sharing your own experience with the type of numbers I was/am getting, and the way your kitties felt, or responded to those numbers, was just what I was looking for...your stories were quite calming.

I apologize for going MIA...but as of now, I have 12 out of 12 animals with daily charts, on a clipboard in my kitchen. This means they are all "special needs" at the same time. I don't believe this has ever occurred before, or it has, and I've blocked it from memory. Anyway, I will attempt to play catch-up with my daily condos...hopefully tonight.

Marilyn made some progress yesterday, so she either turned "that corner", I wasn't sure existed...or, she's just messing with my head. I'll know better when I get some PM numbers this evening.

Thanks again to all of you. I can't emphasize enough what a relief your individual stories were for me.

Deb
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top