12/29 Weezer PMPS 275, +2 230

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 352
+4 393
+5.5 408
PMPS 329
+2 310
+4 272
+7 293
+10 310

Weezer successfully got rid of the pesky hairball last night. I’m sure that was part of her higher numbers. I also think she was bouncing a bit from the lovely run of low yellows she enjoyed Tuesday.

Since Weezer’s double whammy diagnoses of acro and IAA last week, I have put a lot of thought into our goals for her and how to reach them. In reality, she probably will never go OTJ. What I really want for her is to be as healthy, and as comfortable, as she can be, as long as possible.

Insulin is obviously the major key in her treatment. Following the TR protocol absolutely works to give sugar cats the best chance at remission, but it may not be the best course for Weezer. I have noticed for quite awhile that when I raise her dose, her BG rises too. We call it NDW, but I’m wondering if it isn’t insulin resistance. It makes sense that a functioning immune system would react to an increased amount of a “foreign material” introduced. Weezer’s immune system seems to be hyper-vigilant. As a high dose kitty, protocol calls for larger and more frequent dose increases. That would have had me increasing her dose as early as Monday, 12/26 by as much as a whole unit. I didn’t make that increase. Tuesday was her best day ever. A whole day in lower numbers had to be good for her. Although it is never possible to know with absolute certainty what would have happened as a result of an action not taken, her history makes me all but certain that her numbers would have risen on Tuesday if I had given her that increase. Yesterday her numbers did go up, but as I noted, there were a couple of other things at work, the hairball and a possible bounce, which seems to be clearing.

I want to give her whatever time it takes to fully work a dose before challenging her system with an increase. When I do increase, I plan to try fattening the dose to see if I can avoid the reaction she has typically had to increases. As an example of how I would use this theory: she typically clears bounces quickly, so, if her numbers today aren’t better than yesterday, I will increase by maybe .25 tomorrow. If this plan works and I can inch her numbers down into the blues and low yellows, I will be pleased. If it doesn’t work as I hope, I’ll go back to TR. But I must give her the chance.

I apologize for the extra long post, but this is a pivotal point in our plan of action. Although I want to try modifying the TR protocol by following Weezer’s lead, LLTR is our home in this struggle. I value the advice, suggestions and support we have received here and very much want to continue to receive it. Even more importantly, I treasure the part each of you has come to occupy in our lives. I want to remain a part of this community. I have added a line to my signature and to our SS to inform that we are not following the tight regulation protocol and to caution anyone unfamiliar with our circumstance that our dosing is not to be followed.

As an aside, I added a column to our SS that shows her daily average. I have found it very interesting to have this additional bit of information.

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330

Hi Linda, I'm no expert by any means, but just want to lend my support and love to you and Weezer. What you're saying about treating Weezer sounds like a good plan to me. You really love and know your cat best and what works for her and how she's feeling. Lots of vines and hugs to you and Weezer.
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, new plan?

Good Morning Linda, You present a clear well-thought out paln for Weezer. I absolutely wish you the best in finding a protocol that works for her. As ECID! You know best how to help your baby. Have a good day!
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, new plan?

Good morning Linda! You have given it all a lot of thought and need to go with your gut on what you believe is best for Weezer. I was so glad to read that you are staying in LLTR. You are such a great inspiration and I look forward to hearing from you and seeing how Weezer is doing. You know your kitty and you need to go with what works. I hope you have a wonderful day and that this is a new turning point for you and Weezer!!
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, new plan?

Hi Linda,
Your plan for Weezer is well-thought-out and we will be following her progress. This LL forum is your home and don't even think about leaving it!!! You understand the protocol and basically what you are doing is making modifications based on your experience. ECID. The protocol, as I understand it, is a framework. It makes good sense to follow it in the beginning, but we all tweak it as we go along because we discover what works and what doesn't. So many of us are in this for the long haul. OTJ is always a possibility, but for us the goal is a healthy kitty, well regulated, OnTJ. Your experiences with Weezer will help others who may have similar issues with their kitties. So keep on posting and keeping us informed about what you are doing, what is working, and what is not working. The New Year is a good time to start!

Happy New Year!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, new plan?

You're absolutely correct -- the insulin autoantibodies are what factors in to insulin resistance. Typically, you need to get ahead of the antibodies in order to get the dose to come down. I don't know if you've looked at Sandy/Black Kitty's SS. BK went though considerably high doses before Sandy could get ahead of the antibodies and get BK into remission. Obviously, this isn't exactly the same as Weezer's situation. I'll see if Sandy can stop by.
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, new plan?

Linda--I dont know that much about acro & IAA, but I do have a kitty who is in it for the long haul..
Keeping Moonie in decent number yellow, blue & green is the goal, & blue & green the ultimate, to keep her safe..I do increases & decreases in shaves, & have been doing it for a long time..
You have been doing such a fantastic job, and Weezer knows it--Being here in TR you have many acros & IAA cats to help you...Having a happy & healthy cat is the best goal-I dont think you want an acro cat to go too low.
When I sometimes say Look at the Whole cat, That means for beans to see how the kitty has improved in her behavior, eating, & the 5 p's--Going back to old behaviors is another key to recovery.
Weezer is one lucky cat to have you as her bean..You belong here with us, your LL home..
WE all will always help you--Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, new plan?

(((((Linda))))) I feel the same as you, that the primary goal is to keep our kitties as happy and healthy as possible. The protocol is nice to have as a framework (we were surely lost in the wilderness before we found LL), but we each adapt as needed and as we get more data. You are a great bean, doing your best for your sweet Weezer. I hope your plan gets good results. And good riddance to that hairball! :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, +3 274, new plan?

linda, that sounds fine. there's no need for you to follow the protocol - the best thing about it for kitties with unusual circumstances is that it teaches how lantus works. i think lantus does what it does regardless of the size of the dose - there's still NDW, there are still bounces, you still have to let the dose settle.

the size of the dose changes that works for weezer - you'll discover what works best by your trials of different things. at 15ish units punkin had pretty much no response to .25 changes, but he did respond to .5u changes. i did a couple of whole unit increases, but mostly half units. try different things and see how weezer does. look for what percentage seems to work and see if there's a particular percentage that you can apply successfully to her that could give you a guideline as you move ahead. waiting for the dose to settle is smart, imo.

as you know, i feel the same way about the community here that has taught us and surrounded us with support. many of our kitties have different things that affect them - from cerebellar hypoplasia to hyperthyroid to pancreatitis - and the list goes on.

this is your community. you belong here! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, +3 274, new plan?

Linda, good luck with your new plan. It sounds like you have done a lot of thinking about your goals and what is best for Weezer. She is definitely not the textbook FD cat, so it makes sense that you will need to blaze your own trail to some extent, with TR as a guideline in your toolbox.

Weezer is lucky to have you for her bean! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/29 Weezer AMPS 330, +3 274, new plan?

Hi, Linda,

I think each of us should approach the well-being of our cats in exactly the way you're approaching it with Weezer: to understand the protocol so that it can be utilized in an informed way; to understand our cats well enough to know whether it's doing them good; and to manage their treatment based upon clinical goals, outcomes and our own intuition. I always appreciate your feedback, Linda, and I'm glad I'll continue to benefit from it.
 
Linda, I just wanted to add my support to the many other posts that you received today. You are doing an incredible job with Weezer and you know her best. I think your plan is excellent and I support you 100%. And if you ever leave LL, we will all be so mad at you. You are such a support to us and I always appreciate your comments on Simon's posts. You are such a wonderful bean!!
 
You've done an amazing job coming up with a plan for Weezer. As we all know, ECID, and you'll find what works best for your girl. You definitely belong in LL TR, even if you're not following the TR protocol to a T...as you know, this is THE best place for support and knowledge - plus, if you ever left us, we'd hunt you down and drag you back :lol: !

Looks like Weezer has a very nice evening cycle in the works. Have a great one!!!
 
wow - what a great condo - I so agree with what everyone has written. ECID, ad you have to go with what you now about your cat. I think it is a great idea to let Weezer settle into a dose. Mannie does much better when I do the same. Good luck! and as the other have said: LL is your home, there is no need to go elsewhere.
 
(((Linda)))....I so admire you for all the thought you have put into this and for recognizing what your goals are and how to attain them. You know we love you both and you have our full support. Yes...LL is your home and we'd be lost without you (unless it was for a trip to the Falls...then we'd be thrilled).

I'm anxious to see how your plan works for Weezer...she's looking very good tonight. It's great that you know her so well and that you are willing to try different things that might work for her.

We'll be cheering for yoU!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top