12/29 Uncle AMPS 358, +2 323, PMPS 299, +2 180, +4 177

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara & Uncle (GA)

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...369-6-333-pmps-364-2-359.170383/#post-1855650

I'm thinking about going back the .25u dose tonight unless Uncle surprises me. That would only be 4 cyles after the skipped shot but I think his depot is small and I'm tired of these pinks. Vacation's over! Checked for ketones this am with the blood meter for the first time. After scouring the board I found some posts and links that indicate his .4 reading was in the "no ketones present" level. YaY
 
I agree that he needs more juice . Also, with as much as you test next time you get a 116 as a Pre Shot number, I would shoot it, you test frequently and know what to do with lower numbers. ( of course that is if you have plenty of strips, and HC food and can monitor ) Remember, shoot low to stay low.

Good job on testing for ketones. I will link you info below about using a human ketone meter on a cat and at what eve ketones start showing up .


The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter:
Measurement of ketones - Weingart_J VET Diagn Invest-2012(1).pdfMeasuring ketones - JSAP_Zeugswetter - 2012.pdf
 
next time you get a 116 as a Pre Shot number, I would shoot it,
Oh yeah for sure! I was gone and told the caregiver not to shoot anything under 175 while in her care. I knew she was only able to test at pre-shots and get a couple of +6's in so I didn't want to risk it even on the reduced dose. You never know with these guys right ?!
I've shot as low as 88 (I say that cause I'm pretty darn proud of myself) but actually love to shoot in the low blues as I have seen some great results for Uncle's numbers.
Thanks for the Ketone link. That .4 seems like a good place to be.
 
Uncle is really responding to the tiny increase in dose i gave him tonight! The face of the plunger was lined up to the bottom of the zero line. I don't even think that is really .25u.
 
Here is a pictorial guide for the .25 units one for .1 It sounds like you were closer to the .1 unit dose. When I was giving that tiny of a dose, I would check the zero line on my syringes to make sure they were in the right place otherwise you could be giving too much or too little of a dose. Those dang syringes aren't always marked accurately.



upload_2016-12-30_9-24-28.png


upload_2016-12-30_9-25-39.png
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top