12/29 SUMO AMPS 141, +5 106, PMPS 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Good morning, Sumo had low numbers all day yesterday. Tuesday evening Sumo cried for the first time when I was dosing him and jerked away. I could smell insulin. I set the alarm for 2:00am to check his +7 so see if he had gotten any insulin and he was 366. Yesterday AMPS was 422. Currently on 2.5 u My husband was home sick yesterday, so he got some bg's in. Sumo dipped into the 40's again.

+5 128
+8 43
+9 54
+10 41
PMPS 96 I did not get home until after midnight, so my husband had to dose him. He felt really uncomfortable giving a full dose, so he gave token dose of 2units. I checked Sumo when I got home at +5 and he was 44, rechecked a +7 and it was 89.
HIs new dose for last night should have been 2.25u but with getting only partial dose of 2u and still dropping below 50 again, would 2u be his new dose or 2.25. Hope this makes sense? I will not be home to monitor him today. His +11 this am was 130, I will be getting his ambg shortly.
Thanks Mary
 
Re: 12/29 SUMO dosing advice ?

Hmmm.......
I understand your logic and I can make an argument either way. My biggest concern with dropping the dose to 2.0u is that you may lose momentum. Sumo is responding beautifully and you and DH are doing a great job of testing and shooting. I'm inclined to say stick with the 2.25u if you're comfortable with it. If not, shoot the 2.0u and if the reduction doesn't hold, bring the dose back up.

I'm wondering if one possibility when Sumo is giving you lower PS numbers than you're comfortable shooting is stalling. It sounds like you may be on a fairly tight schedule so I don't know if this would work for you. Take a look at the sticky on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. The options, including stalling are described there and see if it would work.
 
Re: 12/29 SUMO dosing advice ?

Mary, It is easy to see that 2.5U is too much for Sumo, as after a fur shot, the shed drains, and that's why he went up..It was advised for you to reduce to 2.25, but as he shot the 2.00U & Sumo still went to the 40's.
IMHO, You could shoot the 2.00 and if he goes up, you can always increase the dose--
The idea is to keep Sumo safe..
Please wait for other input if you can..But you are really reducing by 0.50, & you know the protocol suggests 0.25U reductions.. As I say, the idea is to keep him safe, but also managing the numbers..
He is doing well! Moonie often jerks during a shot-they may have a sensitive spot.
Have a good day--Will be here fir a while--Hugs from us!
 
Re: 12/29 SUMO dosing advice ?

Thanks for the reply you guys. Both of you mentioned trying the 2units and possibly going back to the 2.25 if needed. His AMPS is 141 and stalling is not an option. Considering yesterdays AMPS was 422 and Sumo dropped to 43 at +8 I think I will give the 2units now and go from there. I may be able to take a long lunch and come home for a mid day check.
thanks alot, hope your day runs smoothly!
Mary
 
Re: 12/29 SUMO AMPS 141

GO 2 Units! do your best for Sumo--Have a great day-I have a feeling it will be a good one! Hugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top