12/29 Oliver - had a little flare

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mikaila31

Member Since 2010
He was doing quite well without the shots for a few days. I think this is diet related. I wrote what I thought he was being fed on the side. He still seems to be regulating, but its about twice as high as normal. We are out of the purina prescription diabetic we have the science diet perscrption stuff and then fancy feast. He is going to be fed the fancy feast for the rest of today (12/30). I won't be back till the evening though to see if it has had an effect. Chart is in my sig. Thanks in advance for any advice.
 
The numbers from last night into this morning are not where you want them. I'll be very curious to see how Oliver does on the Fancy Feast. I would really ditch the prescription food. It's higher in carbs and it's of much poorer quality nutritionally than Fancy Feast.
 
well he has dropped to 135 only eaten like 1/3 of the fancy feast can. Will just have to keep waiting to see what happens.
 
It's best to get a test at your usual shot time in order to determine whether or not to shoot. Numbers can change a lot even in the space of one hour.
 
Kay going much better now. He has eaten 1 can of the fancy feast and BG at preshot was 89 so he is looking good again. Still skipping shots. Pretty sure it is the science diet crap. Will be swaping the unopened cans I have for the purina stuff since he was fine on that. We will be using the fancy feast if it works out. We have a current open can of the science diet I may have to doctor up or something. Yeah I get testing at the preshot time. I am the only one that tests him and I don't work a fixed schedule. So unfortunately it is what it is.
 
If he's eating the Fancy Feast fine, I would stick to the low carb varieties and ditch the prescription food. Like Sienne said, it is higher carb. It's so much nicer to not have to question what they ate and when and what happened numbers-wise. I think this is the first time I've seen your condo. Good luck to you and Oliver!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top