12/29 Noodle AMPS 252 Confused. Should I raise dose again?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Julie,
I was one of those people for whom probiotics (too much of them) actually added to my problems. Many years ago I had to take a prolonged course of doxycycline to treat Lyme disease and I was told to take probiotics to balance the effects of the antibiotics. I couldn't tolerate the high amount and had some of the worst stomach problems I had ever had. Poor Noodle seems to feel worse with whatever's in the FortiFlora; maybe I was giving him too much. Anyway, I will start very judiciously, so I don't overwhelm his poor little system. If it's not one thing, it's another it seems.


Hi Christi, I am so sorry to hear Noodle is suffering with diarrhea this long, I hope he feels better soon. Also wanted to add some :bighug::bighug: for you having to deal with Lyme disease and the resulting GI upsets from extended doxycycline. I'm one that struggles with AB's so you have my deepest sympathy for what you went through!
 
I can sympathize, christi. One of my daughter's still not certain if she has Lyme's and she's really had 2 years of constant health problems. Are you healed from it? I worry that she won't recover.

I loved the wet Noodle kiss! Lol :D
 
Hi Christi, I am so sorry to hear Noodle is suffering with diarrhea this long, I hope he feels better soon. Also wanted to add some :bighug::bighug: for you having to deal with Lyme disease and the resulting GI upsets from extended doxycycline. I'm one that struggles with AB's so you have my deepest sympathy for what you went through!
Hi Tiger and Ruth,
Thank you so much for your good wishes for Noodle. He seems to feel better today and his stool has started to firm up a bit so we're hoping we're on the right path. I know antibiotics have their place but they sure do a number on him, on me and on you! I have a heart murmur and for years the recommended protocol was to take 4-500 mg. capsules of amoxicillin before my dental cleaning and then 2 more 500 mg. capsules 6 hours later. I then knew there would be two days of misery. That was what I dreaded, NOT the actual dental work :eek:. Then about 10 years ago, the medical gurus said that I didn't have to do that any more. Just like that, they changed their minds and the pre-dental protocol. Just goes to show that, as one old vet of mine told me, "medicine is not an exact science." Huh? Ya think? Here's hoping for an antibiotic-free future for all of us :):) Thanks so much for your response!

Christi
 
Hi Julie,
Oh, I am really sorry to hear that your daughter might have Lyme. It can be a nightmare. Unfortunately, I still have residual problems from it like joint pain, headaches and profound fatigue. The Lyme was diagnosed 7 years ago and then 2 years later I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. The doctors think the Lyme might have caused the fibro or at least was culpable. It took years to get a diagnosis and the Western Blot test for Lyme is notoriously vague. There is also no clear confirmatory test for fibro--it's more a diagnosis of exclusion. Did your daughter have the bulls-eye rash? Chronic fatigue syndrome, fibromyalgia and Lyme share so many of the same symptoms that sometimes doctors themselves can't reach a consensus on what you really have and so often sufferers have two or more of them concurrently or in sequence. Nadine (Tibbs5) is really an expert on this subject and helped me with a list of supplements to improve my energy level. I am sure if you PMed her, she would be really happy to help. She is also an EMT. There is so much talent here on this board--I discover something new every day about the amazing stories people have. I hope your daughter doesn't have Lyme and that something can be unearthed to help her feel better. What type of symptoms does she suffer with, if you don't mind my asking?

Christi
 
hi Christi & Julie
yes i know lots about Lyme disease. i had it myself very badly for 2 years and unfortunately still have post Lyme symptoms. there are some things you can do. i would be happy to help if you need any information. just let me know. :bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top