12/29 Mikey PMPS 429, +2 423, +4 417 +5 449 Time for a Plan

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-28-mikey-pmps-407-3-284.130520/#post-1342317

Good Morning!
Mikey is in best mood today. I think it's because I made a point of playing with him with his favorite toys in bed last night. He loves that, and I haven't been doing it lately. Too much poking and not enough playing and cuddling seemed to be getting to him.

This is his 7th cycle at the .1 dose with 10% food. While there have been some blues, there haven't been many. Some of that might be from bouncing. Should I be upping his dose, lowering his carbs, or just waiting it out? My gut feeling is to put him back on the 8% food, and reevaluate after a few more cycles, but maybe I'm not allowing enough time with things as is for bounce-clearing?

As for me, I got a decent night's sleep last night. I still feel pretty lousy, but I'm definitely on the mend. Don and I are going to go up to school for a while to put together some bookshelves a parent donated to my room. After that, I'll probably collapse.
 
Hi Mary,

I actually just posted a comment about Mikey's food and insulin dose on my condo but then came over here and saw that you were talking about it over here so I deleted the comment on my condo.

Anyway, to me (this is just my thoughts.. I'm new and of course in no position to give advice) a slightly higher carb food as you are giving him fed at just the right times balanced by a slightly higher dose of insulin might be the trick to preventing his crashes and stabilizing his numbers.

Once again, I don't know. Maybe someone else can comment on this?
 
I wish Mikey had read the FD manual. o_O Then we'd have a clear path. I'll bring it up with some other experienced folk and see if we can come up with ideas for you.

I do think I'd get his dental done sooner rather than later, if you can swing it. Just keep wondering if there is something going on in his mouth. It's pretty difficult for vets to see much without actually having the cat under anesthesia.
 
I wonder if, maybe, hopefully, the 406 today is the high before the break? If not, he's got an inverted curve today. One inverted curve is not a big deal. Inverted curves can be too much or too little insulin. Great! :rolleyes:

Since you've been sick, I'd probably wait out the six cycles (he's on his fifth "bounce" cycle) and see if he comes down tonight. I've also asked Jill for her thoughts.

After we see what he's got planned for tonight, we can make a suggestion. So sit tight.....and feel better
 
Between Mikey's BG and being sick, I'm ready to scream with frustration. Come on Mikey! Give Mommy a break!
 
So here's the scoop on our boy. The good news is that he's flat. The bad news is that he's flat in the 400's. Mikey, Mikey, Mikey! Obviously something has to be done tomorrow morning. The two options seem to ne to raise the insulin dose or lower the amount of carbs in his food. I'm leaning toward keeping the dose the same, but pulling him straight back to 3% food. What does everyone think? I will try to jump on before shot time tomorrow.
 
Like Marje, this looks like a high before the bounce breaks to me. I wonder if he's going to clear it tonight and you're going to wake up to some lower numbers in the morning.

I'd really like to see Jill's input on your situation.
 
Like Marje, this looks like a high before the bounce breaks to me. I wonder if he's going to clear it tonight and you're going to wake up to some lower numbers in the morning.

I'd really like to see Jill's input on your situation.
i wonder about that, too.

mary, i'm not sure you'll think this is of much help, but i think you're in a situation where you'll just have to try different things until you find a dose and food combo that works. mikey has definitely shown he likes to do things his way... unlike the other kitties.

it's late and i have to admit i'm cross-eyed, exhausted, and in a brain fog. i'll take another look at mikey's ss and try to get a little history by reading back through threads tomorrow. i'd also like to grab libby's attention on this. she's another experienced member who might have some ideas...
 
Thanks, Jill. I appreciate you taking the time to respond in the middle of this busy board change. You guys have your paws full!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top