12/29 Maggie AMPS 140; +7 84; +10 106; PMPS 149

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33133

Whoa! I didn't expect her to drop so soon, but maybe I did! Sure glad I didn't do that one unit. I'm afraid I goofed just a bit - she ate about an hour ago but mostly sucked juice and left bulk which she at times does to annoy me! Must be out of practice, huh! I have her on a 6 am and 6 pm schedule, so I'm ready to shoot, but don't know if I should shoot this low # - she's on .50, and this is the Alpha Trak meter. Any advice?
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140 -- Advice on dose

I think I'll stall 15-20 minutes and test again. I'm thinking .50 may be too much. I could always do a skinny .50. She went down to 111 last night!
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140 -- Advice on dose

Okay I just checked her bg again; it's almost 30 minutes since last check, and she came up to 151. I think I can shoot the .50 or maybe skinny .50 and then check with others on the dose tonight. I'll do spot checks tonight. Now it is almost two hours since she's eaten!
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140 -- Advice on dose

Are you going to be around to monitor?

The 111 is a fine number, no matter what meter you're using. Just remember that you need to be consistent with the dose. If you're going to shoot a skinny .50u, stick with that. And, no food within 2 hours of shot time!!
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140 -- Advice on dose

Sienne and Gabby said:
Are you going to be around to monitor?

The 111 is a fine number, no matter what meter you're using. Just remember that you need to be consistent with the dose. If you're going to shoot a skinny .50u, stick with that. And, no food within 2 hours of shot time!!

Do you mean the 111 is a fine number to shoot the .50 unit? That's the bg# I got mid cycle after her pm shot! I did go ahead and shoot the .50 unit. I thought in the beginning we could adjust the dose??? Or is it stick with this dose for 3 days. I just went back and read the Queensland protocol, but keep in mind I'm comatose with little sleep! ~O) Yes, I can adjust my schedule. Do you recommend checking again in two hours?
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140; +3 113; +7 84 - Question

Hey, I think I caught Maggie's Nadir at 1:00 pm here in CA. I wonder if this qualifies her for a reduction already? With the Alpha Trak, following the Queensland Protocol, if the bg is 80 mg/dl, reduce dose by 0.25 depending on if cat on low or high dose. This seems so soon for a reduction as this is only her second dose of insulin - 84 is so close to 80. Any thoughts? I know it sounds like I'm jumping the gun here!
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140; +3 113; +7 84 - Question

hi Ann

when u have a chance, let us know, how many + hours til PMPS is due?
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140; +3 113; +7 84 - Question

if you're able to monitor, i'd stick with the dose for now. a nadir of 84 is pretty nice albeit on the alphatrak. using our modified version of the protocol, a reduction would be "earned" when maggie drops below 70 on the alphatrak since she is no longer considered a newly diagnosed diabetic.
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140; +3 113; +7 84 - Question

Ann --

I think this is your call. It's fine if you want to drop to 0.25u and essentially 're-start' at that dose. Some people prefer to start at a lower dose and work the dose up as necessary whereas others in your situation will pick a dose and reduce as needed. If you go with the latter, I'd encourage you to keep Maggie in the greens for as long as you can by using MC/HC food to prevent a dose reduction. In a sense, you want to make Maggie work very hard to earn a reduction since it's harder to get a kitty OTJ a second time. If the issue is one of an infection, the numbers could change in a hurry as the infection clears.
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140; +3 113; +7 84 - Question

Hi Ronnie - 6:00 pm PST, so aabout 2.5 hours until shot time since I stalled a bit.

if you're able to monitor, i'd stick with the dose for now. a nadir of 84 is pretty nice albeit on the alphatrak. using our modified version of the protocol, a reduction would be "earned" when maggie drops below 70 on the alphatrak since she is no longer considered a newly diagnosed diabetic
.

Thanks Jill for your input. I am usually around during the day except for a few hours but always close by. Maybe I should keep her on this same dose.

Hi Sienne. Did you mean if I stuck with the .50 dose, to keep her in the green with MC/HC food? Boy she would love getting some HC food.
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140; +3 113; +7 84 - Question

Yes. If you look at Gabby's SS, that's what I try to do. Ann and Michelle are doing the same thing although they use varying % of carb. I'm not that creative!!
 
Re: 12/29 Maggie AMPS 140; +3 113; +7 84; +10 106

Thanks Libby and Jan. She surprised me today doing so well. I'm out of practice, and this morning I was gone for a few hours. Maggie was sound asleep when I got home and didn't even open an eye. I got worried she may have gone low and so I woke her up and did an ear prick, and she was fine. She puts up with a lot! :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top