12/29 Lucy PMPS=164;+2=144 // doing stupid thing

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!!!

Yesterday's condo

12/28 AMPS=140 (0.75u); +1=157; +2=160; +3.5=167; +6.5=194; +8.5=185
12/28 PMPS=180 (0.75u); +1=193; +2=167; +4.25=187; +6.75=184; +8=153

12/29 AMPS=148 (0.75u); +2=178; +4=160; +9.5=158
12/29 PMPS=164 (0.50u); +2=144

I am very happy to report to you that Lucy is feeling and eating good this morning!!!
She was feeling and eating better yesterday, and today even better!!!
And I haven't given her cypro since Friday morning!!!
And she had a nice solid poo before breakfast.

I still have no idea what has made her appetite go on/off, but I am praying it stays ON!

Sending vines to all in need. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy AMPS=148

:-D :-D :-D - I love reading this kind of Lucy report! We're sending prayers for appy staying on, too. Have a wonderful day, Mariko!!!
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy AMPS=148;+2=178

That's good news that her appetite has returned. :razz:
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy AMPS=148;+2=178

I'm so happy that Lucy is having a great morning, and eating all her fuds :-D :-D Paws crossed it continues, go Lucy! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy AMPS=148;+2=178

Thank you, Amy, Carla, Dyana and Rachel!!!

Lucy ate the 2nd and 3rd breakfast well.
She's in such a good mood she's been meowing at me to come sit with her while I did condo visiting.
I also sent a long e-mail to Lucy's regular vet with her recent numbers and asked her what she thought about how her numbers haven't improved when increased from 0.5u to 0.75u, and also mentioned about the recent appetite wonkiness.

I'm going to sit with Lucy for a while just as she wants.
I have lots to do today, I have to clean, do laundry, go Lucy's moussey Wellness hunting, make a batch of Ginger's raw food, but these have to wait till later because Lucy wants loving now. :-D
She's been patiently waiting. It's so nice and makes me so happy Lucy wants something - especially when it's me!!!!
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy AMPS=148;+2=178

Mariko - enjoy your "loving on Lucy time". Way to go Lucy on the improved appy. Just keep doing like this (with your canned food ;-) )
 

Attachments

  • Kitty eating#2.jpg
    Kitty eating#2.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 187
Re: 12/29 Lucy AMPS=148;+2=178

Mariko, I'm smiling BIG right now :-D :-D :-D (and if was more awake, I'd be doing cartwheels! :lol:).
Give your sweet LucyGirl lots of love. I hope she continues feeling well ♥
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy PMPS=164

I sent an e-mail to the vet this morning with her recent BG as well as how Lucy has been doing.
I mentioned that I was going to increase her dose to 1 unit once her appetite stabilizes, but the vet wants me to try another experiment.
She wants me to cut her dose back down to 0.5u again, and do a fructosamine in 7 - 10 days.
It bothers her that how her last fructosamine was low and her weight was up - both could be an indication of too much insulin.
And it also bothers her that her appetite and energy were very poor the whole time she was on 0.75u until yesterday.
The way she asked me is "Could you humor me and try this experiment?", so she is not saying that 0.75u is too much, but I guess she wants to be sure.
She said she'd feel a lot better about increasing her dose if we get a higher fructosamine at 0.5u and Lucy's overall well-being (appetite, energy, drinking) isn't any better on a lower dose.

I'm not happy about this.
You probably think I'm stupid.
But I agreed to try this experiment, although I know I'm likely making a mistake.
It does bother me about her fructosamine. I know she dropped to a 40's number right before the fructosamine test (12/17), but that was just one time.
If the fructosamine takes an average, she should still be within the reference range.
It also bothers me a lot that her numbers have been quite similar on any dose since November, no significant changes in her BGs on unit 0.5u, 0.75u, 1u, 1.25u, 1.5u, 1.75u or 2u, except few greens here and there on higher doses.
I just don't feel right about that.
I've already got a great advice on this board to stick to the TP, and how I can't be overdosing her with the amount I test.
I know I know I know, but I couldn't ignore what the vet was suggesting.
I also want to make sure what the vet wants to make sure.
The another reason I agreed to this is because I don't think her BG will raise all that much even if I reduce to 0.5u, seeing how she's been reacting to dose change in the past 2 months.
Plus the most important thing for me is that Lucy feels better than I see green.
If she trends too high and starts feeling sick, I'll then increase the dose.

Again, I know I'm probably screwing things up again.
I'd appreciate your thoughts on this, but please do not say anything negative about my vet.
She's a good vet, and she has always been sensible treating her with various issues.
She cares about Lucy and her safety.
At least, she didn't tell me to stop insulin, so she's compromising and meeting me half way.......

Anyway, I'm a bit frustrated about this, but other than that, Lucy is doing great!
Eating and Feeling very good tonight.
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy PMPS=164 // doing stupid thing

I'm glad to hear that Lucy is feeling better and eating better today. It's great that she was demanding some loving. :-D :-D

If the vet is so keen on a fructosamine, I don't know why she can't do it now. I thought the concern was that you were missing some diving low numbers. Lucy has been almost two weeks on a lower dose with hardly any evidence of green, so a fructosamine now should tell you if you are missing the lows at an odd point in the cycle. I just hope Lucy doesn't start spending time in yellows during the experiment. Paws crossed you are right and she stays mostly blue.
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy PMPS=164 // doing stupid thing

I agree with Wendy. I see no reason to drop the dose just to do a fruc test. I would suggest that to her as a compromise because you've seen how her numbers went up a bit on the lower dose.
 
Re: 12/29 Lucy PMPS=164 // doing stupid thing

I know, Wendy, it doesn't make sense.
But in March, when Lucy got really sick, her BG went stinky high, like 300's and 400's even, but her fructosamine was right in the middle of the reference range.
How could that be?????

Is there any condition where a cat could have high BG (without low dive) and low fructosamine at the same time? - some sort of rare disease?
If not, this doesn't make sense at all.

The vet is not going only by the fructosamine.
She doesn't like the combination of low fructosamine, increased weight and poor appetite.
I haven't checked her weight since I started the low dose, so I guess we could test again now.
But I'd rather wait and let the next test prove that she needs more insulin, if that's what she needs.
 
I sincerely agree with you, Wendy and Marje.
But I'm going to let the vet have her way this time.
As long as Lucy stays feeling fine, that is.
And after this experiment, I'll stop talking to the vet about her diabetes.
I felt obligated to report to her this time because of her recent diagnose when she was super lethargic a couple of weeks ago.
I also want to eliminate my own doubt completely once and for all, and this experiment will do that if she starts going high again.
I wouldn't be so wobbly about believing in how I'm taking care of her FD if there is an explanation to her low fructosamine.
Poor appetite can be anything considering how many other issues she has.
 
I think it's the wording she used. When we want a vet to prescribe something or to do a test or want their "permission" to try something that they don't necessarily agree with, we sometimes try using the words "Could you humor me and let me try this experiment?". So, she's doing it back at you. At least she only wants you to try it for a week.
I know how hard it is to go against a vet, because in the back of my mind, there is a little teeny tiny voice that says what if they are actually right? If you're going to try it, I would try it for 3 days and then report back to her and see what she says then.
 
Hi Mariko!

So happy to read how well Lucy has been eating! :-D Just the report we have been waiting for! But now the turmoil for you over the vet suggestions and TP.
I hope you are able to find peace within yourself, that no matter what you decide to do, you are doing it for Lucy and out of pure love for her. As long as she continues to feel good and eat well, that peace will come. So fingers crossed for Lucy and big hugs to you. When I come back as a kitty, I wanna be YOUR kitty!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top