12/29 Henry AMPS 349 starting Lantus tomorrow

Henry’s Mom

Member Since 2022
After 2 months on Vetsulin, Henry is starting Lantus tomorrow. Hoping this gets his glucose under control! He is starting at 0.5U twice a day.
 
Kay it looks like Henry dropped under 50 on 0.25 U of Vetsulin today. Is that correct? I’m on my phone atm so can’t see the SS as well.
If that is the case you would not want to start in 0.5 U Lantus
 
Kay it looks like Henry dropped under 50 on 0.25 U of Vetsulin today. Is that correct? I’m on my phone atm so can’t see the SS as well.
If that is the case you would not want to start in 0.5 U Lantus
Hello again, yes that is correct. His last dose of 0.25U was this morning. Vet said to skip tonight (no insulin at all) and start Lantus tomorrow. Should I start Lantus at 0.25U tomorrow?
 
Let me talk to a couple of other experienced people about the dose and I will get back to you. Is that ok?
I notice the sensor has ended …are you going to be home testing the BGs ?
 
Kay, do you have the correct insulin syringes for Lantus?. They are different to what you use for vetsulin.
You will need U100 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings.
Definitely don’t use the syringes you used for vetsulin.
 
Kay, do you have the correct insulin syringes for Lantus?. They are different to what you use for vetsulin.
You will need U100 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings.
Definitely don’t use the syringes you used for vetsulin.
Hi there :cat: Yes I do - thank you for checking! The vet gave us the prescription for U100 syringes, but since our pharmacy won’t get them until Monday, the vet gave us 10 wrapped syringes to last til then. Also ordered a box off Amazon with overnight delivery in case, lol.
 
I agree with Bron, I would start at the lower dose of Lantus tomorrow.

ADW is also a great place to buy syringes online. And they periodically have discounts. From the Sticky Note on Insulin and Syringe Info:
 
I see Wendy has posted above:) We agree that the starting dose should be 0.1 units which sounds like a very small dose, but we can see that Henry has dropped low on the 0.25 units so to be safe we need to reduce that dose and the next dose below that is 0.1U.
I will post a photo of how to draw up the 0.1 units below.
I will be asleep by then but I am going to tag @Bandit's Mom so she can help you with the drawing up of the dose if you need help.
Here is a photo of the 0.1 unit dose. You will need to hold that dose for 5 to 7 days unless Henry drops under 90. We can talk about dosing methods tomorrow.

upload_2022-12-30_20-0-8.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-30_20-0-8.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-30_20-0-8.jpeg
    52.3 KB · Views: 165
I agree with Bron, I would start at the lower dose of Lantus tomorrow.

ADW is also a great place to buy syringes online. And they periodically have discounts. From the Sticky Note on Insulin and Syringe Info:
Thank you :bighug:
 
I see Wendy has posted above:) We agree that the starting dose should be 0.1 units which sounds like a very small dose, but we can see that Henry has dropped low on the 0.25 units so to be safe we need to reduce that dose and the next dose below that is 0.1U.
I will post a photo of how to draw up the 0.1 units below.
I will be asleep by then but I am going to tag @Bandit's Mom so she can help you with the drawing up of the dose if you need help.
Here is a photo of the 0.1 unit dose. You will need to hold that dose for 5 to 7 days unless Henry drops under 90. We can talk about dosing methods tomorrow.

View attachment 66008
Thank you so much. I will start at 0.1 this morning.
 
Back
Top