? 12/29 Coco AMPS 277

RhondaL.

Member Since 2019
New to the Forum, but Coco and I have been struggling with her diabetes sine June, 2019. We were getting good results with 1.50 u of Lantus in the summer, but I did a reset to 1 unit when she started to drop at night. Since then, I've raised her dose in .25 increments to get her back on track, and just started her on 2.75u. It seems the more insulin, the higher her numbers with little to no dip. Any input would greatly be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 
Welcome Rhonda and Coco!! Leo and I are also in Ontario!! What a beautiful avatar, is that a painting of Coco?
You got some great advice on Thursday from Wendy, Marje and Sue. Here's the link: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/coco-amps-14-1-8-13-3-pmps-13-7-flat-numbers.223449/
:):):)

Thank you. The avatar is a photo of my Coco Puff taken a couple of years ago, and altered with an app that makes it look like a painting. I am hoping the higher dose improves things, but her numbers are so flat with each increase, and little difference between her AM and PM Preshot numbers. I don't understand how she could have been doing so well at 1.5u, but has terrible numbers now at 2.75u. So grateful to be on the Forum so that Coco and I can benefit from the wisdom and experience of the wonderful folks here.
 
Flat is good, be thankful she's not a big bouncer. :smuggrin: Her numbers aren't terrible, she's almost blue! Keep following the SLGS and you'll see her numbers come down soon. She got a little too used to being in yellows but you've increase her dose and now you just have to put some patience pants on! :joyful:
Come on Coco work that increase!! :bighug:
 
Flat is good, be thankful she's not a big bouncer. :smuggrin: Her numbers aren't terrible, she's almost blue! Keep following the SLGS and you'll see her numbers come down soon. She got a little too used to being in yellows but you've increase her dose and now you just have to put some patience pants on! :joyful:
Come on Coco work that increase!! :bighug:

Thank you! I feel encouraged now, and a bit more relieved.
 
Welcome!

I had the same reaction as what Wendy posted when I took a look at Coco's spreadsheet. We use two dosing methods here and it seems like you figured that out and are opting for SLGS. With that method, you evaluate the dose every 7 days unless numbers drop below 90, in which case you reduce the dose. It looks to me like you've not really been following SLGS. For example, you were at 2.5u from Nov. 9 to Dec. 15 then increased to 2.75u for 4 cycles then dropped back to a fat 2.5u for 10 days.

Generally, you don't want to use a "fat" or "skinny" dose unless your cat is spending the majority of time in normal numbers and your are zeroing in on an effective dose. Coco's not there yet. In addition, if you stick with a dose that's not bringing your cat into a normal number range, as Wendy pointed out, glucose toxicity can develop. The name sounds worse than this is. Glucose toxicity is when your cat's body becomes accustomed to spending time in higher than normal numbers and treats that range as the new "normal." This is likely why you are not seeing much of a change in Coco's numbers despite increasing the dose. When you hold dose that's not bringing numbers into the range you want for 5 - 6 weeks, you may have difficulty getting the numbers to come back down. I'd encourage you to read through the details of SLGS and follow the method closely. Please let us know if you have questions.
 
Back
Top