12/29 BuddyM: AMPS 351, +2 247, +4 63, +9 99, PMPS 107.

Higher carbs can take 20-30 minutes from the plate to the blood stream. Maybe Buddy needs those extra 10 minutes to show the effects of gravy. Stopping the drop is good, which is what you did.

Good - Elise is here too.
 
Thank you so much Wendy and Elise!
I'll keep monitoring. Okay if I keep up with the 15% this afternoon?
 
You don't want to shoot him up too high. Ideally surfing about here or a touch higher would be great. But you are also learning how carb sensitive Buddy is. Whatever you do (and it's an experiment at this point), take good notes of how much, what carbs, and when you fed. It'll help you next time.
 
I may have overreacted and gave him too much. I gave him more than half of the can. Also some LC but he usually gets some small meals throughout the day and was due for one.
 
Just here to cheer on Buddy! Hurray for those greens! :D:D:D

may have overreacted
lol, do not fret, we all have :bighug:

Okay if I keep up with the 15% this afternoon?
FWIW, I would switch to LC for the second half of his cycle unless he drops again (....though the insulin is wearing off plus he may bounce from those nice greens but crazier things have happened :))

And I saw you wrote down in your SS what you fed but you will also want to write down the amount - so it would be like "+4 Gave 1.5T FF 15% Chicken Hearts & Liver" (I think half of a 3oz can is about 1.5T but I haven't measured it in awhile). When Buddy sees these numbers again, you'll want to look back to your notes and see what and how much you fed (and if you want to feed the same or less or more).

When Jax goes low or I'm helping him surf, I give teaspoons of food - you can check my SS for examples - just scroll to the right to see my remarks columns. ECID of course and, like Wendy said, it's all information gathering for awhile to figure out what works for Buddy.

Yay greens :D
 
Just here to cheer on Buddy! Hurray for those greens! :D:D:D


lol, do not fret, we all have :bighug:


FWIW, I would switch to LC for the second half of his cycle unless he drops again (....though the insulin is wearing off plus he may bounce from those nice greens but crazier things have happened :))

And I saw you wrote down in your SS what you fed but you will also want to write down the amount - so it would be like "+4 Gave 1.5T FF 15% Chicken Hearts & Liver" (I think half of a 3oz can is about 1.5T but I haven't measured it in awhile). When Buddy sees these numbers again, you'll want to look back to your notes and see what and how much you fed (and if you want to feed the same or less or more).

When Jax goes low or I'm helping him surf, I give teaspoons of food - you can check my SS for examples - just scroll to the right to see my remarks columns. ECID of course and, like Wendy said, it's all information gathering for awhile to figure out what works for Buddy.

Yay greens :D

Thank you Susanne!
I'm very happy about the green too! Who knew he had it waiting for me today. I certainly wasn't expecting it after that 351 preshot number. Although looking back he does do these big drops sometimes. It's scary!

Thank you also for the guidance regarding food notation. Will take a look at yours. I just dumped the food in a plate in panic. Next time I'll do better.
 
Jax is super lucky to have you!
Awh thanks :bighug: I hope you scrolled up to the top because we were one hot mess this summer :p (i.e. before I joined this board).

I just dumped the food in a plate in panic. Next time I'll do better.
really, we've all done it :bighug::bighug::bighug: And honestly you did a really good job slowing/stopping that drop. Huge drops can cause bouncing just like new or low numbers.

He's 110 at +6. I'll test him again at +7.

Do I keep him at 4.5 tonight?
He's looking good! And yes keep your dose since he didn't earn one on TR (he has to drop <50). And per TR, since you are seeing green for the first time, you'll hold this dose for at least 10 cycles (he's on cycle 8...I am not counting the FS on 12/25 AM). Basically, you want to see if Buddy likes this dose enough to return to the greens after any bounce has cleared.

Hope that helps some :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Per your spreadsheet you’re following TR so you will hold the dose, you’re waiting for a drop under 50 to reduce. Can you add TR to your signature too please.
 
He's only 107 now for the preshot test. I'm really nervous about giving him the full dose.

Can someone give me a sanity check please? I go ahead and shoot the 4.5 units?
 
He could very well bounce. You could stall without feeding and test again in 20 minutes and see if he is heading higher.

Will you be able to monitor him tonight if you shoot the full dose?
 
Thanks for the quick replies Bhooma and Elise!

I am here with supplies, but I won't be able to monitor as well as in the daytime because I'll have to get some sleep.

I can stall and test and see where he is heading.
 
Thank you Bhooma! It shouldn't be a problem getting him eating. He lives for food these days.

I had a mess up with the shot. A tiny drop didn't make it in. :banghead:
 
Thanks Elise. It probably derails the tracking of this dose a bit though?
It may have been more like a 4.25 in the end. The needle slipped out at the end while I was still pushing the plunger. Sigh.
 
Ah, I'll keep that in mind.
Lordy I still feel like I don't understand how any of this works yet! Thank you for sharing your experience :)
 
Back
Top