12/29 Biscuit 216 AMPS +3.5 49 +5 69

Hope you gave Biscuit a teaspoon or two of high carb.

Shannon - the 49 is generally a dose reduction. The way to draw up "some" insulin is to put as much pressure as you can on the plunger of the syringe and then release the pressure once you insert the syringe in the vial.

The issue at hand is that Biscuit's numbers are good but your kitty isn't quite ready for an OTJ trial. One thing to consider is feeding a variety of food that's a little higher in carbs so it's tougher for Biscuit to earn a dose reduction. A different alternative is to hold this dose until Biscuit drops below 50 on three separate cycles. (Actually, you can do both.)
 
Hope you gave Biscuit a teaspoon or two of high carb.

Shannon - the 49 is generally a dose reduction. The way to draw up "some" insulin is to put as much pressure as you can on the plunger of the syringe and then release the pressure once you insert the syringe in the vial.

The issue at hand is that Biscuit's numbers are good but your kitty isn't quite ready for an OTJ trial. One thing to consider is feeding a variety of food that's a little higher in carbs so it's tougher for Biscuit to earn a dose reduction. A different alternative is to hold this dose until Biscuit drops below 50 on three separate cycles. (Actually, you can do both.)
Not quite a reduction yet as he’s not newly diabetic. As I understand it though the next step will be “some” - like actually on the 0 line vs just a hair below it as we’re doing now per the pictures. I did give him some HC with his lunch to bring him back up. At home, I usually test more often (we work from home) and try to control his numbers a bit better to help him hold a dose longer but hadn’t considered just mixing in a bit of higher carb food to help stave off his early Nadir dip. We are at a convention and he’s up in the room here. With his numbers yesterday and his 216 this morning I really thought he’d stay up there and so didn’t rush to make it up for the +2. Oh well...
 
I saw the second diagnosis date. Sorry!

You could add a bit of HC to Biscuit's food. I'd just wonder if the carbs would be the same if you're mixing on your own. Try it and see if it works and if not, find a food that's a couple of percentage points higher than the FF you're feeding Biscuit.
 
I saw the second diagnosis date. Sorry!

You could add a bit of HC to Biscuit's food. I'd just wonder if the carbs would be the same if you're mixing on your own. Try it and see if it works and if not, find a food that's a couple of percentage points higher than the FF you're feeding Biscuit.
Ah yes... that wouldn’t ensure consistency. So right now we stay under 5%. Would you suggest a 10% or as far as 15%? for say breakfast. He usually eats at AMPS, +3 or +4, +8, PMPS, and sometimes +3PM
 
Depending on the carb sensitive of the cat, sometimes a 8-9% carb food makes a difference.
 
@Judy and Freckles - Like Wendy said, the majority of numbers need to be normal range. A fair portion of the pre-shot numbers are not in normal range. This essentially means that without benefit of insulin, the numbers are rising as the Lantus is at the end or its duration. For a cat to have a successful OTJ trial, you want to see everything under 120.

Shannon - I agree with what Wendy posted above in #9.
 
Back
Top