12/29 Basic AMPS 146 +140 +4 135 +10 108 PMPS 111

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
I've switched Basic to TR. I've been educating myself on the dosing method today. My prior knowledge was only for SLGS.

Can anyone using this method tell me when you know you need a reduction? I know the numbers we base this off of. What I mean is...when should I stop trying to control his lows with food and know it is time for a reduction?

He's been getting reductions lately. I want him to remain safe, but it is time we make this switch. I don't want to do anything to jeopardize his continual improvement that I've been seeing lately.

I'm not sure if these changes are from the cosequin I've started, his new raw diet being introduced, or a combination of both.
 
He won't eat them. When I was feeding him an ⅛ of a cup it was suggested that I switch to TR. Now that he gets a tablespoon, which is less, he shouldn't? Makes no sense. I'll figure out his lows on my own I guess. No biggie.

If my cat didn't refuse to eat for 24 hours after I remove the kibble, I would remove it. We went from ½ a cup a day before diagnosis to ¼ C, then ⅛ lc of a cup and now we are at 1 tablespoon of low carb kibble. I will continue to try reducing this, but in the meantime I'm moving forward with the change.
 
If you read the TR sticky you will see reductions are earned if the nadir is under 50 or almost all green with nadirs under 80 for a week. I don’t know who told you that if you fed 1/8 or less of dry food you can follow TR but Basic is your cat so you can decide what’s best for him. Christie was just telling you what the sticky says about SLGS.
 
Last edited:
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
 
I was thinking of the air dried as well, like Angela mentioned, there is the ZiwiPeak and I’ve come across a few other air dried brands. One of them is Kiwi Kitchens, I can’t recall the second off the top of my head.

I see real progress in Basic’s SS, Sybil, and that was with following SLGS. I appreciate that it can be difficult if you get differing opinions, and as Elise said, ultimately Basic is your cat, and all we can do is point out where there might be a discrepancy or wrong information given to you, and you can choose to do what you feel is best.
 
I thought about dumping an old bag of temptations out and putting the freeze dried salmon in it. While I don't feed him much fish, he loves it and won't touch those.

I haven't tried that. I see that chewy has it. The thing is spending $20 on a bag of something he won't eat is silly to me. Well, at this point it is because it's been 3 months of that. I have 3 bags of Dr. Elsey's too, which wasn't cheap.

I wish we could buy samples of things. And I know chewy allows you to be refunded and then donate, but I don't want to even contact them again regarding that because they've been so good to me. I didn't with the last 2 bags of Dr. Elseys.

Maybe I'll try it. What's another $20 right.

Thank you @Angela & Cleo for the suggestion I truly appreciate it. I'm determined to do what I can for him.

How long did it take you to get her off it completely? I'll win at chicken against a human anyday. I cave to my cats though. My female just went 2 days without eating much because of her kibble reduction. She's having GI issues from Dr elsey. I refuse to give her hc kibble anymore. Don't even have any here anymore. She wouldn't allow me to do all that I have to do with Basic if she got sick though, so im trying to do what i can for her too. Basic having hepatic lipidosis terrifies me when it comes to monitoring calories and someone's not eating.
 
There are freeze dried treats that are just like dry and you can buy a small bag too. I bought some for Max. Let me look and see if I can find the brands. Max preferred dry food as well but once he had pancreatitis and I switched to wet he ate it willingly. First I switched to canned that came in pieces but when he became diabetic I had to change his food again.
 
Okay. I'll order this tonight and I'll make sure to get a novel protein. .

I'll try and remove the kibble in the morning and see what he does.

I'm not trying to go against protocol. I'm not going back through my post to see who said it either. It isn't relevant.

Can anyone explain why that is the protocol though? I feel like I need to explain thst when I ask questions it isn't to be an asshole. This is simply how my brain works. I need to know every aspect of something when researching. I understand the high carb kibble, but why is that the case for lc kibble? Again, not questioning you and your responses. I'm simply trying to understand.
 
Thank you @Angela & Cleo for the suggestion I truly appreciate it. I'm determined to do what I can for him.

How long did it take you to get her off it completely?

I have NO problems asking Chewy for a refund, they make plenty of money :joyful:. The Ziwipeak Air Dried comes in several different proteins.
Before dx, she was fed wet food for bfast and dinner and free fed on dry food. It was easy to remove her dry because we just replaced it with more wet food. We were luckier than most with the transition because she just loves food. :rolleyes:
 
One of the problems with dry food, regardless of whether it is LC is that it is a variable with effects on BG that is hard to know or control, particularly how long it can last in the cat's system. And, to complicate things, we’ve seen kitties who are fed the LC dry have raised BG since they are more carb sensitive than others. To me, there are enough variables in what we do, so why add another that you can’t control, especially when you are considering following an aggressive dosing method. Once again, just my 2 Cdn cents ;)
 
I have the data showing that isn't occurring though. Again. Not trying to argue, it is just very confusing to me.

I am holding off on ordering that and I'm just going to see what he does tomorrow food wise. With him getting insulin, I can't allow him to go long without food.
 
Also, Basic has chin acne. He's never had it in his life. I first noticed in late October. I got stridex pads and unscented anti bacterial soap and a baby brush. I clean his chin after he eats. It went away and is back now. While his coat is back to being beautiful, his chin is a mess. It doesn't help that he scratches it. I've even held a warm compress under his chin periodically. Anyone else have experience with this? Nothing I'm trying is really resolving the issue. I looked through the forum and I think I've tried everything. His appt is the 8th, but it can't come soon enough. He hasn't had a full panel done since October. It has been very hard for me because I know he needs bloodwork done. I just had to wait this long to get into his new vet. Because of what clavamox did to his system, which antibiotic should I ask her to give him, if she goes that route regarding the chin acne. I see the black spots, so I know it is that.
 
Here is a link to a list of treats from the health forum of https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/list-of-low-carb-healthy-treats.9172


Can anyone explain why that is the protocol though
As I understand it, the tight regulation protocol is a published protocol in the Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery and what is followed here is a slightly more aggressive version derived from http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm.

The sticky Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) explains TR.

The TR protocol as researched and published is based on not feeding dry food.

Hope this helps :cat:
 
I’ve returned to Chewy as well although they have told me to donate the items. I bought two bags of Dr. Elsey’s but found out both contained chicken which Mocha could not eat at the time. It was back when they were kittens and Mocha had EGC.
 
Just as a point of clarification, TR requires that the cat is on a low carb, canned or raw food diet. The actual protocol links to a page on diet. It also emphatically states that a cat needs to be exclusively on a low carb, canned food or raw diet. TR was developed by Rand and Roomp. Jacqui Rand is a vet that was at University of Queensland. Kirsten Roomp is a researcher at University of Luxembourg and developed the original Lantus online board in Germany. One of our now deceased moderators, Jill, was in touch with her once TR was published on the web as well as in the the Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery. We cannot claim to follow a published protocol if people are not following the the inclusion and exclusion rules of the methodology. We also can't allude to their results if you don't follow the protocol. It would be no different than saying that you're following TR with the small exception that you're dosing Lantus once a day. (Or my favorite, there's a feline diabetes website that refers to Prozinc dosing as TR.)

Regarding the chin acne, you might try changing your cat's bowl. I'm guessing that you're not using plastic. If you are, switching to glass or stainless steel may help. If any bacteria may have infiltrated the material of the bowl, which might be the case if the bowl is scratched, it may be contributing.
 
Snickers had chin acne once. It appeared from nowhere, and I had no explanation for why she got it. I did take her to the vet, and everything else checked out okay. It went away on its own and never returned. That was several years ago now. I still have no explanation for it. Maybe you'll get lucky and Basic's chin acne will just also go away on its own after a little while.
 
Sybil

Try witch hazel for his acne. I also found these great little brushes on Amazon which allow you to gently brush the area which also helps: JGocot Dog Toothbrush 2 Pack, Cat Toothbrush 360 Degree [Soft Silicone Bristle] [360o Full Bristles Surround Brush Head].

I just want to reiterate what Christie said because you’ve asked “why” on no dry food with TR. TR is aggressive. I know you feel, based on his BG with SLGS, the small amount of dry won’t matter but you’ve not used TR before thus you don’t really know how aggressive it is and how that “might” change his patterns with dry food in the mix.

We have an established protocol written and published by two scientists based on data they have gathered. We also have our own experience with it over a couple decades.

If you are feeding dry, then you are not doing TR and it makes it more difficult for anyone to offer you safe advice. You will need to remove it from your signature block and SS if you wish to continue to feed any dry food.

And while he’s your cat, I respectfully ask you to think how difficult it would be for us to help members keep their cats safe if everyone just did what they wanted in terms of dosing and feeding.
 
Can anyone using this method tell me when you know you need a reduction? I know the numbers we base this off of. What I mean is...when should I stop trying to control his lows with food and know it is time for a reduction?
With both TR and SLGS (especially if you're testing as much as you do with SLGS), it's okay to use higher carbs to keep the kitty at a good dose and avoid a reduction. For example, bounce breaking cycles see additional downward momentum and sometimes, reductions earned in those cycles do not hold. However, if you find that you need too much carbs to prop him up, it might be safer to take the reduction.

I'm not sure if these changes are from the cosequin I've started, his new raw diet being introduced, or a combination of both.
It's probably both. Any kind of inflammation/pain can elevate BG. Maybe his body is responding better to the raw diet? The reduction of the dry food (even though its low carb) might also be helping. We've seen here that for some cats, low carb dry affects their BG while for others it doesn't! Its also possible that 4U was a breakthrough dose for him - it's not unusual for cats to turn around and go down the dosing ladder after hitting a breakthrough dose.

Since you are testing so much and have enough data, you also have the option of lowering the reduction point with SLGS to say 80 or 70 - so that he can stay at a dose where he spends some time in normal numbers.
 
Last edited:
I had recently shared some thoughts for Sybil to consider regarding lowering the reduction point in this post since she asked. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-138-dosing-and-bloodwork-question.284951/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-138-dosing-and-bloodwork-question.284951/
From my point of view, at the moment it doesn’t seem to be necessary since Basic has been holding the reductions taken under 90. Caregivers should be aware that there risks they take on when making adjustments such as lowering the reduction point.
 
Since you are testing so much and have enough data, you also have the option of lowering the reduction point with SLGS to say 80 or 70 - so that he can stay at a dose where he spends some time in normal numbers.
Christie is correct and I also have concerns when members start making changes to our methods of regulation.

It is one thing for a person who has been here well over a year and gathered copious data, understands their cat completely, can read and correctly interpret a SS (this is harder than you might think and I’ve seen members who have been here over five years that still can’t properly decipher a SS), etc and based on their knowledge, customizes dosing for their cat. This kind of member no longer needs to rely on us for dosing advice but stays for the support and to help others.

However, as long as a member needs advice and does not understand how to read the finer points of a SS, that member should stick to one of our dosing methods as it is written. I encourage all advice givers to stick to this instead of telling members still needing assistance that it is ok to lower the reduction point for SLGS. And anyone who is not following TR exactly as it is written, is not doing TR.

With both TR and SLGS (especially if you're testing as much as you do with SLGS), it's okay to use higher carbs to keep the kitty at a good dose and avoid a reduction
I just want to qualify this. It’s ok as long as the higher carb food is in the 10% range. If a member is using HC food such as 15% carbs to hold a dose longer….not ok. There is a difference between “high” carb and “higher” carb. If one is feeding 3% carbs, than higher carb can be 6%.
 
Last edited:
Sybil, I hope that after reading all the posts in this thread that you can walk away knowing that there are many people who want to help you and Basic.

I also think that making sure that your kitty eats and eats well, should be your top priority especially considering the history of ketones and hepatic lipidosis. I don't have any personal experience with either of these and can only imagine what you were going through as Basic was going through it. :bighug: If it were me, my fear that it would happen again would make me crazy.

You did a great job getting Basic to surf greens in the 12/25 and 12/27 PM cycles and gathered some good data.

In looking at your SS and your meticulous notes, you have made a few changes this month: removal of high carb dry, decrease in the amount of low carb dry food, introduction of raw food and addition of Cosequin. Any/all of those changes CAN have an effect on BGs. If it were me, I would give a little more time to see how these changes play out before making any further changes.
 
Sybil, I hope that after reading all the posts in this thread that you can walk away knowing that there are many people who want to help you and Basic.

I also think that making sure that your kitty eats and eats well, should be your top priority especially considering the history of ketones and hepatic lipidosis. I don't have any personal experience with either of these and can only imagine what you were going through as Basic was going through it. :bighug: If it were me, my fear that it would happen again would make me crazy.

You did a great job getting Basic to surf greens in the 12/25 and 12/27 PM cycles and gathered some good data.

In looking at your SS and your meticulous notes, you have made a few changes this month: removal of high carb dry, decrease in the amount of low carb dry food, introduction of raw food and addition of Cosequin. Any/all of those changes CAN have an effect on BGs. If it were me, I would give a little more time to see how these changes play out before making any further changes.
Two excellent points here:

—If Basic needs a certain type of food to keep any concerns of DKA away, he should have it.
—Considering that, it might be wise to stick with SLGS which gives more flexibility in what you can feed…and it has been working for him.
 
I am not trying to do whatever I want with my cat. I'm not asking for anyone to make exceptions for me.

Tweaks are made to these dosing methods. Maybe not the one I stated I was going to implement, but they are made. Pretending they aren't is silly.

I was asking why it couldn't be made in this case. When I was presented with the reasoning on what kibble can do to bgs and I explained that I had data proving that isn't occurring, I didn't then, continue to imply that I was still going to make the switch without removing the kibble completely. In fact, the last thing I stated was that I would try again this morning to remove the kibble completely.

He received no kibble this morning. I had to leave though and he wasn't eating when I left. He was pouting in his bed. He was high this morning, so I wasn't too concerned.

Which bring me to why I even asked any of this...Basic's bg is high right now. Why? I believe because of the 3 reductions he has lately. He hasn't been bouncing. While he may have needed some reductions, I don't think he needed all three. Time will tell. If any of you think I am just trying to do whatever with my cat and not follow advice here, again that is your assumption.

I am asking questions. I'm not doing whatever I want.

One of the mottos of this forum is every cat is different. This applies to my cat as well.

I appreciate everyone's time addressing your concerns. What I need each of you to understand is...if you don't read through post here and see contradictions over and over again, I'm not sure what to tell each of you. I'm not the problem. I'm trying to understand the problem and decipher what is what. I didn't for one second think, "oh, I know more than these people. Let me make changes for my cat because they don't know anything." If that is what is being assumed, I have no control over that.

My cats have never had any plastic bowls nor are their bowls scratched and cracked collecting bacteria.

I'm taking a break from posting here. I'm dealing with enough. I'm not going to be arguing with people on line.

If I've been abrasive in this post, I'm fine with that.
 
Sybil, I think you’ve asked some good questions in the past and continue to ask good questions. It can sometimes happen that it stirs up what I would call some lively debate, it was unequivocally not meant to make you feel like you are not doing everything best and possible for Basic. There were some good general points of clarification, and over my time here on the board, I have learned that we have a lot of what are called lurkers - caregivers who read but don’t post specifically about their cat, don’t ask the pertinent questions that you do. I happened to look earlier today and there were over 800 non-members (guests) reading various posts.

I understand today’s cycle in yellows can be deflating, and empathize more than you know. Over the years, I’ve gotten excited when I saw greens, only to have yet another a bounce, or highs that came out of nowhere. To see two back to back cycles all green I would say for Maverick was near to a Christmas miracle. So I get it. FWIW I think Basic may still be bouncing, funny enough the sticky on bouncing states *usually* clears in 6 cycles. Over the last few years, people here have interpreted that to mean less than 6 cycles, and some will say 4-6 cycles. Funny thing is, as written that was actually intended to mean that there are some cats who take longer than 6 cycles.

I will leave you with a few final thoughts:
- I, for one, and I am sure there are others, have appreciated you stepping in and helping other members.
- being that this is a peer reviewed forum, you may get differing opinions, that’s just part and parcel. Don’t let that dissuade you.
- I will be happy to help you if / when you need it.

:bighug:
 
Tweaks are made to these dosing methods. Maybe not the one I stated I was going to implement, but they are made. Pretending they aren't is silly.
Yes, of course. But they should not be made by inexperienced members and a “tweak” is not adding dry food to a protocol that specifically states feeding canned or raw is a requisite. A “tweak” might be shooting a little early or a little late or feeding after nadir if you have a really hungry cat. Look at my Gracie’s SS. I left it there for a teaching tool for new members. I was completely doing custom dosing but I didn’t start doing it until I was pretty experienced. Until then, I followed TR to the “T”. No tweaks.

The goal here is to teach members how to get their cats regulated using TR or SLGS. It takes a minimum of a year before a member really has enough data to know their cat and they must study the SS constantly and compare it to what they learn here. Please go back and read what I said about experience and then customizing a method of regulation.

Basic's bg is high right now. Why? I believe because of the 3 reductions he has lately.
I would agree that he did have three back-to-back reductions which were fast and not something we would have done under TR; but SLGS has nothing built into to allow for not taking a reduction every time one is earned. Again, that’s because TR is more aggressive. I don’t really see his BG as higher than what is his norm. When I look back over his SS, his current BGs are about what they have been until the recent greens. Is he bouncing? Well he looks pretty consistent to how he did after his last greens and it took 14 cycles after them to hit green again. And while bouncing can be into the 100s, he came down to 108 yesterday and as his depot depletes to the 3.25u, you will likely see higher BGs. Time will tell.

No one is accusing you of anything. Remember if you decide to “take a break”, the one that is affected most by that is Basic. I honestly don’t believe that anyone who has only been here a few months, as you have, can go this alone. I speak from experience on that. I couldn’t have and I have an MS in biology but that didn’t make me knowledgeable enough about FD to walk away after three months, even temporarily.

if you don't read through post here and see contradictions over and over again, I'm not sure what to tell each of you
No, I don’t see contradictions. What I see are members on a peer review board who are free to offer you their opinion. Do opinions differ? YES!! Do people interpret TR and SLGS incorrectly? YES!! That’s why we have posts that address FD Myths (and there are MANY). It’s up to the CG to decide who is offering the most solid advice they can trust. When Moderators or more experienced members see incorrect info, we correct it. Is that a contradiction? No it is not. It’s just providing the correct information....a teaching moment. Heaven knows how many I provided the Moderators and experienced members with when we were new. I wouldn’t be here today if I hadn’t stayed and soaked up as much as I could even when I felt like you probably feel today.

You and Basic are an important part of our family here and community. Take a deep breath and let’s move forward to help him and you.
 
Couple things I like to point out and then I'm moving on from this thread. If you comment after this comment, that is fine. I'm not reading it though. The back and forth is a bit much for me.

If you send me a private message regarding me possible feeling ganged up on and then you continue to leave messages on said post where I could've felt that way, you seem a bit tone deaf. We, as a forum, have a very bad habit of kicking a dead horse. The proof of why I needed to remain on SLGS was given in the first part of that conversation. No need for it to be 30+ messages. I do appreciate the different links on TR though.

Insinuating that if I take even a short break from posting in this forum, that my cat's health may be affected is wildly outlandish. While I appreciate every single thing I have learned from this group and everyone'stime and energy for us, my cat is alive because of me. Period. I have taken the time to print out all of the info on here and have studied it. I held my cat for over 6+ hours a day while trying to wait on food or meds to go through a feeding tube, not this group. I took my cat into the vet every time a libre failed, not this forum. I have had to deal with the stress of an absolutely horrid vet while dealing with the stress of cat being on death's door and trying to comprehend info on this disease, not this forum. Again, I'm grateful for this forum. I know that my cat has benefited from me being here. However, my cat will survive if I don't post here. I would make sure of that. You may have helped us, I don't credit you with my cat being alive. If this triggers you, investigate your triggers.

My cat's specific situation has nothing to do with my tenure to this forum. My tenure to this forum has NOTHING to do with my comprehension level or ability.

Furthermore, as a whole, this forum needs to truly work on reading the room. We shouldn't be trying to kick a horse while it is down, nor should we beat a dead horse. We shouldn't be tone deaf to a post. We shouldn't be posting about spreadsheets and signature when a cat is dying. We shouldn't interject ourselves into someone's post to talk about either of those things if that's not what's being discussed. We shouldnt be liking random comments in a post of a cat we never even check on. I have to remember how dark and isolated this disease is in the beginning. We've all been in those same exact shoes. While I understand we have rules and protocols to follow, let's make sure an animal isn't dying while asking for a signature or info dumping.

@La-La Leo His numbers weren't great Saturday, they've been much better since his increase. He may have needed 1 or even 2 reductions, but I'm not thinking he needed the 3. Thank you for changing the tone of the post. I appreciate it.
 
His numbers weren't great Saturday, they've been much better since his increase. He may have needed 1 or even 2 reductions, but I'm not thinking he needed the 3. Thank you for changing the tone of the post. I appreciate it.

Hi, there.
I had to stop looking at other spreadsheets lately because it seems when I do, I get a View Only for my own spreadsheet; this situation is so annoying and disruptive, that I vowed to not look at another SS for now. If I wasn't in such a stressful time with Leo, the temporary problem of not being able to enter Leo's data in a timely manner wouldn't be a problem. I tend to be one of those lurkers who read other posts to learn. :bookworm: So I haven't a chance to look further.

Glad to hear Basic's BG was even better on Saturday. :D
Everyone here really cares about all our sugar kitties. Their heart and for all they do/offer is beyond comprehension and most admirable, IMO. :bighug: I should know by now how to manage Leo's diabetes, but here I am! Thankful for the help.
 
I think we will still be learning years from now, Joni. The information to retain is vast and it also changes from time to time. Also, lurking through post, even if they are really old, can teach us. I've been back a few years reading post. We are lucky to have this domain of information for sure.

I've had the view only message and it is when I'm looking at others SS. I am not sure if it was you i told or not, but I researched the error in different forums. It is definitely an app error. The only suggestion that I read that has actually worked was deleting the app and then downloaded it again.
 
I think we will still be learning years from now, Joni. The information to retain is vast and it also changes from time to time. Also, lurking through post, even if they are really old, can teach us. I've been back a few years reading post. We are lucky to have this domain of information for sure.

I've had the view only message and it is when I'm looking at others SS. I am not sure if it was you i told or not, but I researched the error in different forums. It is definitely an app error. The only suggestion that I read that has actually worked was deleting the app and then downloaded it again.

So, so true. ECID, just like people.

Regarding the View Only SS prob, most of the time I can resolve it by first Manage Access and changing General Access to Restricted, back out and close Sheets. Reopening Sheets, Manage Access, change General Access to Anyone with a link. Back out and close Sheets. Reopen again, and Then I can enter data. Sometimes when that doesn't work, I change to my second Google ID (has another Gmail address). Sometimes, even the second Gmail ID gives a View Only, too. :banghead: Then I restart the phone and hope something changes. I need to repair or replace my laptop. Using a computer will cure the problem.

At least now I know you've experienced this problem amd it's just not me. I've had this problem since 2022. I couldn't find anyone experiencing this until Bhooma told me she did, too. I learned to use the computer to 'fix' it or to try another Google ID. Now I hear to uninstall Sheets app, and to reinstall it. Sigh.... I blame Google. :woot:
 
Last edited:
It is definitely an error on Google's end. Searching forums revealed that. I just had to uninstall the app this morning and reinstall. I have to do this probably once a week.

I didn't hear back from you last night and ended up falling asleep. Was the ketone reading .5 or 5 mmol/l? This really matters for Leo.

How is he this morning?
 
It is definitely an error on Google's end. Searching forums revealed that. I just had to uninstall the app this morning and reinstall. I have to do this probably once a week.

I didn't hear back from you last night and ended up falling asleep. Was the ketone reading .5 or 5 mmol/l? This really matters for Leo.

How is he this morning?

I fell sleep, too, as it ended up after midnight.
Ate after BG test! AMPS was 177. +1.5=208.
The bottle for the first result after negative is Trace (5). And it does say mg/dL. That test was almost that color. On alert to test him this morning! Ladle and strips close by! Wish me luck. We have two kitties and even though we have more than one box, they both prefer the same one.
 
I thought you had the meter. Sorry. Now I understand the numbers. So, trace means he has some ketones. I'm not sure if anyone that's been helping you knows this unless I've missed that convo. His numbers being high, not really eating or drinking is concerning on top of the trace levels of ketones. I'm going to tag some people for you. I know this isn't your most recent post either. Maybe I'll copy this convo over to your newest post and tag some people.

Good luck on collecting. You've got this. If it is hard for you, maybe get a meter for ketones. I had to because basic is sneaky.

@Marje and Gracie @Christie & Maverick @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Wendy&Neko

What should Joni for for Leo who is showing a trace of ketones amd displaying signs of ketones.

Great idea to move over the topic.
I was able to easily get a urine sample after a quick move, which for me is an unusual feat, and get a reading. No separate litter box or closing him up in the half bathroom. I am ready to repeat that, but hope I don't miss his exit to the litterbox. He's sleeping under the kitchen table.... halfway between me and his box. Yes, a meter would be better. I started to read about these last night from a post in the Feline Diabetes FB group, but fell asleep. Now I can pick that up again. Hopefully there are recommended meters to get to measure ketones.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/
 
Back
Top