12/29 Ares PMPS 497, +2.5 232, +4.25 137, +7 99, +8.5 123

Ashleigh & Ares

Member Since 2021
Ares AMPS is 66 and i checked to make sure the compact was not read upside down!
(Last +2.5 226, +6 117)


Then right after he got blood, he ran and ate some of sisters food while i was putting stuff away...im going to have to keep the door shut for now on.

Please advise on what to do at this point.
Since he has already eaten some food, small amount of FF (possibly 15cal?) not sure stalling and taking bg again will do what it normally does?
How long to wait?
He is now locked in bedroom with me, and freaking out cuz he is so hungry, ravenous!
Thanks

@Diane Tyler's Mom
@FrostD
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...pmps-276-1st-lantus-dose.257178/#post-2893982
 
Last edited:
Thank you Katherine.
Is it ok if i feed him now?
He is flipping out scratching at door, like a mad man!
 
i let him go eat since im not going to shoot. I will take his blood once he is done, in like 5 min. tried to get it just a couple minutes ago, but he was too flippy to let me get any.
 
Sorry I stepped away from the computer. Sure, let him eat what he wants. I know how hard it is to get a test when the kitty is hungry. Ruby won't sit still for a poke if she is starving either.

The only time you want him fasted is before you test at shot time. Once you have an idea of how carb sensitive he is, you can feed him even before a shot if you know his numbers aren't going to go up too much as a consequence. I like to give Ruby a small meal at +9 or +10 because 6 hours without food is too long for her.
 
69 @ +.75, that is right after FF pate
Should i be getting out gravy at this point?

i have 13, 14, 18 % gravies on standby
And lots of honey
I just gave him ONE crunchy Tiki Cat treat, not sure of the carb content (no grains/potato, but has tapioca startch, pea flour, beans)

he is calmer now that he got some food.
 
Last edited:
69 @ +.75, that is right after FF pate
Should i be getting out gravy at this point?
Since you didn't shoot, I would stick to low carb and let him "surf" in those green numbers. :D We want his body to get used to being between 50-100 so that his liver doesn't freak out and dump glycogen into his blood, causing a bounce to higher numbers. Keep feeding him small amounts of food, like a spoonful, and test him again in an hour. He will come up again.
 
It's great to see how well he is responding to Lantus right off the bat. I've seen a few kitties switching from Vetsulin to Lantus and they go down the dosing ladder pretty quickly, so keep an eye on this guy!
 
Wow! A great first reaction to Lantus.

Wondering if you want to reduce the dose from the PM shot to 2.75U. If you are following SLGS, a reduction has been earned.
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Btw, did you feed at +6 last night? A little food with every test in active cycles, helps them surf.

he insists on being fed after i poke him, so ya, he at at 3am after +6, (then he took a huge poo and wiped it on the bed...lol, had to clean and change sheets)
usually only time he fasts is if im sleep or 2 hours before amps and pmps.
He is so skinny, but i think he is gaining weight...so i try not to deprive him of food if he is hungry.
Still so bony in the back! but i can feel a tiny bit of difference in past few days since i have been feeding him as many cals as he needs.

I fell a reduction has been earned also
 
Ashleigh is following TR according to her signature, so technically no reduction unless he drops below 50, but I was wondering too about a reduction nevertheless since 3 seems high and we don't want too many skipped shots.
Katherine, i was kinda waiting it out to see how he reacted on Lantus before deciding the method. I will update my signature and SS right now
I could use advise on which one to go with.
Thanks
 
he insists on being fed after i poke him, so ya, he at at 3am after +6, (then he took a huge poo and wiped it on the bed...lol, had to clean and change sheets)
usually only time he fasts is if im sleep or 2 hours before amps and pmps.
He is so skinny, but i think he is gaining weight...so i try not to deprive him of food if he is hungry.
Still so bony in the back! but i can feel a tiny bit of difference in past few days since i have been feeding him as many cals as he needs.

I fell a reduction has been earned also
Yeah once he gets better on insulin he will start gaining weight my boy got super skinny too! Let him eat just fast the 2 hours ps.

As far as reduction I also feel he earned it...you are following tr but still in the 7 day depot build so.... if I'm wrong I understand I'm still learning too:)
 
Katherine, i was kinda waiting it out to see how he reacted on Lantus before deciding the method. I will update my signature and SS right now
I could use advise on which one to go with.
Thanks
Since you're feeding wet food only, it's a matter of personal preference. When I joined the FDMB, I was still feeding a little dry food and I didn't have the hang of testing, so I did SLGS. Once I made the switch to TR though, Ruby went almost immediately to being tightly regulated as though a switch went off. She was in mostly greens and low blue numbers until 6 months ago when we had to start steroids for her small cell lymphoma so remission isn't possible for us. TR is a more aggressive method because you reduce at 50 rather than at 90 and so you have to be ready to test at least 4 times a day and ideally more than that, but it is the way to go if remission is your goal.
 
I think I would reduce to 2.75 as the depot hasn’t begin to build. I think I remember a discussion about whether to start at 3.0 or 2.5 so you could even go to 2.5 if easier to measure for the first week. Some cats do have a strong first reaction.

I strongly encourage TR as it gets cats regulated so much faster.
 
oh my gosh, he fought me so hard on that last test...ggrrrr
if i go the TR route, and he fights me like this every time i try to test, both our lives will be miserable
new number: @+1.75 79
 
oh my gosh, he fought me so hard on that last test...ggrrrr
if i go the TR route, and he fights me like this every time i try to test, both our lives will be miserable
new number: @+1.75 79
Make sure to give treats and lots of pets...I would pet ears randomly during day and treat him if let me even just pet...eventually he will associate it with treat time and be better
 
both our lives will be miserable
Trust me and everyone else here when we say it gets easier. Testing was the absolute hardest hurdle for me to get over, and Ruby is a very easy going cat. Most of it I realized was me and my nerves. I was so afraid of hurting her and ruining our bond. I started singing softly to her to get both her and me calmer when I did it. Once I discovered how much easier poking was with a lancing device rather than freehanding, it was like a gift for both of us! Now Ruby comes to remind me when it's time for a test, and she jumps on the couch and assumes the position. Afterwards she waits for me to bring her bowl of food to her as her reward.
 
You won’t need to test every two hours again unless he’s super low. Since you skipped and he’s not continuing to go down I’d take a break from testing until +4-5 as long as he’s eating.

Ok, i will test again at 1pm as long as he keeps eating

Thank you all for helping me!
Tonight 2.75? depending on numbers?
 
We usually tell new members not to shoot over 150, so let's see where he takes us later.
Actually, we tell new members posting on this forum that if they see a number below 150 at shot time, to NOT feed, and post for help. You did exactly the right thing this morning. I'm glad Katherine was around to help you. If you see a number under 150, and you are following TR, there are several options as to what to do next. Skipping is just one of those options.

I would take the reduction to 2.75 units and see if we can get you to a dose where you are shooting twice a day. Eventually you will be shooting those lower numbers right away (another of the options for a preshot under 150), but maybe not right away.
 
I did a double take at that title, holy cow!

Seconding (fourthing? Fifthing?) a reduction. That was just two shots, no depot, I'd reduce out of caution.
 
I did a double take at that title, holy cow!

Seconding (fourthing? Fifthing?) a reduction. That was just two shots, no depot, I'd reduce out of caution.
did you see how i had to make sure i didnt read it upside-down again...lolol
 
+2.5 232
drop seems a bit faster than his first 2 doses...
im thinking he could be one of those quick reactive kittys.
I gota keep both eyes on him!
i just gave him like-3-4 treats while warming his ear, then 3 afterward...he did very well.
they are freeze dried dog treats that i can break up (one ingredient, chicken) much cheaper this way than cat freeze dried, thanks to a member, i cannot remember who suggested that
and he LOVES them
 
That is indeed quite a drop. Feed a little of his LC food and test again at +4?
It's great that you are finding your groove wrt tests. Nothing like bribes to smoothen the way! :p
 
Back
Top