12/29/14 Keiko AMPS 98 - Advice Plse!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I checked him twice this am 45 minutes apart and he was 96 then 98 before food. I just gave him some food but have not given the insulin. Please let me know what you think.
Thank you.
 
Hi Keikos Human, I don't have shooting advice per se. If you are considering giving a shot, do not feed Keiko. You would want to see if his BG is on the rise (without the influence of food). Hopefully, a more experienced member will be along soon. If you are not going to be around to test, if I were you, I would skip. If you are going to be able to monitor and you have adequate strips, high carb food, then shooting may be an option (perhaps even a reduced dose). Because you fed him and he's dropping from last night (perhaps breaking a bounce), I would be extra cautious about shooting - but I would defer to a more experienced member.

ETA: I'm off to work. Hope someone else comes along soon to help advise you. Good luck.
 
Last edited:
Good morning!

I would continue to check every 20-30 minutes until you see his BG start to rise on his own without feeding him and at that point decide what you are going to do.

Once that happens, will you be around to monitor Keiko for the next 4-6 hours and do you have supplies on hand such as sufficient supplies (test strips, HC cat food/karo, etc.) in case things go south? If that answer is no, I wouldn't shoot no matter what.

In the event that you do shoot, with him being that low, you will want to test very frequently so you can respond accordingly.

Also, please remember if you shoot this morning, your PM shot time will be 12 hours from whatever time you shoot. Depending on your schedule, you may need/want to skip at this point. For me, once I get an hour past my normal shot time, I have to skip no matter what because I will not be around (pesky thing called work :)) for his next shot.
 
Hi, Marial

If you look back to 12/24, you shot a reduced dose when your AMPS was 74. That is likely a good strategy for this morning. Are you going to be home to monitor today and are you stocked with strips and high carb food should you need them?
 
I have already fed him and given his shot. I will be here to check him out. Since the shot his BG has risen to 107 (+.5).
The last time this happened he got a delayed reduced dose he rose into the 200s and 300s on Alphatrak ( 166-268 human meter).
Concerned but hopeful.
 
looks like he's having a great cycle, maria. I'm glad you're home to monitor him. Sometimes shooting low can really change the game and allow a person to get control of the blood sugar, lowering the range and flattening out the cycles. I hope that's what you see with Keiko.

When is it you are taking off for the 2.5 days?
 
Hi everyone!
Things went really well today. Keiko stayed in normal range until an hour ago when he was 245.
I'll be gone starting 12/31.
 
Super day for Mr Keiko today! Great job shooting this morning, Maria. Well, let's see how tomorrow goes. This is a nice surprise today. I'd like to see Wendy's opinion about the dose while you're gone. Will you be able to post tomorrow?
 
Hi Maria, given that Keiko came back to green today (good boy :D and good job shooting Maria!) I agree with Julie that it'd be safer taking his dose down a notch while you are gone. Maybe go to 10.5U while you are gone, then you can take him back up to 11U when you get home. That way you can have a great time while you are away, knowing that he will be safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top