12/28 Zener PMPS 249;~3 95;+4 67;~5 158;~6 118;~7 140 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;4.7 115;~5 158

Melissa and Bailey said:
Has he had bloodwork recently? And has he ever had pancreatitis?

Yes, he had blood work done about a week before his dental, and his dental was two weeks ago. All was good. He has not had pancreatitis {{{anti-jinx}}}and early in our FD treatment when he suffered from inappetance we had him tested for pancreatitis and it was negative. May be worth another check if this inappetance continues.
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;4.7 115;~5 158

hmmm, if his numbers have been going up when you've stopped giving him bupe... well, that suggests he's experiencing some pain, but where? obviously the mouth would be suspect only because of the recent dental.... but it *could* be anything. i wonder if it would pay to have another set of x-rays done on his mouth.
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;4.7 115;~5 158

That's great that he ate something on his own! Keep up the good work Zener cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;4.7 115;~5 158

This time it wasn't his numbers going up, but his appetite disappearing. He had been off the bupe for about 36 hours. And we had reduced to only 0.1mL once a day. We'll call our vet in the morning and ask about another set of x-rays. I'll be checking his BG again in a few minutes.
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;4.7 115;~5 158

i sure hope they can get this figured out. i wish kitties could tell us what's bothering them...
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;4.7 115;~5 158

We will call our vet in the morning and get in as soon as possible. We'll ask for another set of x-rays just to be sure and whatever else testing might be useful to figure out why he might be in pain and not eating. Though he was doing much better with his eating before the dental and was doing much better after until tonight. Off to get one more test and then maybe to bed.
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;~5 158;~6 118

Numbers down again - the post-karo/honey wobble?

+6.5 118, ate 2T 11% on his own with 1 drop honey, 2 treats (with honey) and 1 pill pocket with 2.5mg pepcid ac.

Looks like I'll be up a bit longer and get another test before bed.
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;~5 158;~6 118

yes, the honey/karo has worn off. i'm glad he ate a little on his own!
are you comfortable handling this from here? be honest. if you're not, i'll stay up with you.
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;~5 158;~6 118

I should be okay. It helps he is eating a little on his own and hopefully his nadir is near.

Do you think this would qualify as a dose reduction or is the lack of food make this a very strange cycle?
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;~5 158;~6 118

i don't think i'd base any dosing decisions on this cycle. although, i wouldn't hesitate to reduce the dose in the morning if i couldn't monitor and he's not eating.

i'm not ashamed to admit there have been times when i've skipped or reduced a dose for reasons as simple as needing sleep after having been up the night before... all night. yes, lantus likes consistency, BUT sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do. kwim? you'll get kitty back on track in no time. :-D
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;~5 158;~6 118

Jill & Alex said:
i don't think i'd base any dosing decisions on this cycle. although, i wouldn't hesitate to reduce the dose in the morning if i couldn't monitor and he's not eating.
Okay, that's what I thought but I just wasn't sure. We will be around to monitor but if he won't eat we may opt for a reduced dose until we can get him to the vet. I'm not sure we can repeat the testing and syringing again tomorrow although it doesn't seem nearly as stressful in the daylight.

Jill & Alex said:
ii'm not ashamed to admit there have been times when i've skipped or reduced a dose for reasons as simple as needing sleep after having been up the night before... all night. yes, lantus likes consistency, BUT sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do. kwim? you'll get kitty back on track in no time. :-D
Yes, I understand and glad to know that this is an acceptable option. We've just been having such a run of much better numbers, it's hard to think about skipping. But if the beans get sick, it would be really hard to care for Zener! Thanks for the vote of support on getting him back on track. We're mostly worried about his not eating. Off to get another test in 15 minutes.

Thank you Jill for all your help tonight. It takes me back to my first night in LL when someone from health got me connected and it was to you!

Thanks to everyone else who replied tonight with help and support. I'm sorry I didn't reply to each of you personally. I thank you each and everyone.
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;~5 158;~6 118

you're welcome. you did all the work... and a fine job at that. i know it wasn't easy.
i'll catch up to you tomorrow. i'm headed off to bed now. that darn alarm clock will be going off in 3 hours! :lol:

ni-ni...
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;+3.5 95;+4 67;4.3 71;~5 158;~6 118

WOW! :o

What a night you guys have had! I hope whatever had Zener off his feed clears by morning. Be well.
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;~3 95;+4 67;~5 158;~6 118;~7 140 A

Here is a summary of our crazy not eating, syringe feeding night and where we are now. @-)
PMPS 249, 0.1oz 8% & 0.4oz 11%, 1PP with 3mg Zobaline, 0.1mL bupe
+1.5 241, would not eat
+3 118, 4 treats, a few licks of baby food beechnut chicken and chicken broth
+3.5 95, 1 treat, 2mL of 17%FF mashed with water via syringe
+4 67, 2mL syringe fed 17% with honey
+4.3 71, 2mL karo
+4.7 115, 2mL HC syringe
+5 158, ate a few small pieces of FDCK
+5.7 177, 2mL HC syringe
+6.5 118, 0.3oz 11% (ate on own) + 1 drop honey, 2 treats with honey, 1PP with pepcid ac
+7.5 140, 0.3oz 11%, 1 treat, negative ketones and glucose

Thanks to everyone who wrote in support and to Jill who was fantastic in getting us through! Not sure why Zener was not eating - either pain and/or upset stomach. It was like someone just turned off the switch. Around +6, he started eating small bits on his own so I've left food out, just in case, and am going to get some sleep. Paws are crossed he is back to eating on his own tomorrow. If not, another trip to the vet.

Ni ni LL (or good morning to some of you). I-)
 
Re: 12/28 Zener PMPS 249;~3 95;+4 67;~5 158;~6 118;~7 140 A

Anne and Liz,sorry to hear Zener was not eating and what a rough night. Sending some vines and prayers that Zener will get his appy back and feel better. So glad there are the two of you and can take turns. Hugs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top