12/28 Todd AMPS 433, +3 335, +8 412, PMPS 544 (Labs)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
BG is 433 this morning. Our vet thinks we should bump him up to 2u again and see how he does. I think this morning I am gonna go ahead and shoot the 1.70(ish)U. May I ask, how I should go about upping him to the 2u? I want to do it the right way, instead of just messing with it like crazy. Suggestions?.. should I just start it tomorrow morning and see how he does over the next week?

*Edit, I started him on the 2u and will check him at +2 and again at +4 and 6.


His labs are back and they actually look better than they did on the 13th when they were last checked! YAAY!

I'll be stopping by their office in a little bit and I will get the actual print out and post the whole set of labs here, but in the meantime, here are todays numbers for the kidney values, which I was VERY worried about.


Anemic: 26% (Hasn't changed since early Nov)

BUN 58 (Down from 79!)

Creatinine 3.2 (Down from 4.2!)

Phosphorus 4.3

Potassium 3.5
 
Re: 12/28 Todd AMPS 433 (With question and labs!)

Dont know much about the labs, but when he was on 2.00U he had blues & green Numbers...
I like to be home to monitor when I raise the dose on Moonie, so even if you can get early (+ 1-+3) numbers and mid point nadir numbers(+6 or +7) just to see where he
would be going when you raise to 2.00U it would be good.
You do want to be around to monitor a new dose.--He did well last time on 2.00--I would try it soon--Are you off this week?
 
Re: 12/28 Todd AMPS 433 (With question and labs!)

I work from home, so unless I have to run to the store or up to my mom's place (20 minutes away) I am home during the day. So it's NO problem.
 
Re: 12/28 Todd AMPS 433 (With question and labs!)

Ok, so he was due for his insulin, so I gave him 2.00u. I am home today, so I can check his BG and see what it does now.
 
Re: 12/28 Todd AMPS 433 (With question and labs!)

You do have syringes that are in 1/2u increments, right?

Your current dose is 1.75u. Based on the protocol we use, the next dose increase would be in the amount of 0.25u. (The protocol specifies that in most cases, increases and reductions are in the amount of .25u. There are exceptions, but they don't apply here.) So, your vet is on target with the protocol and it makes sense to increase the dose to 2.0u.

As for Todd's labs, it would be very helpful if you could include the reference ranges. It looks like the potassium and phos are in normal ranges. Was a urine specific gravity (USG) done? You really need that info to know whether this is kidney related.

The BUN and creatinine are still out of whack . Did your vet do a thyroid test? Often, hyperthyroid can result in elevated BUN and creatinine.

The anemia could also be a result of the azotemia (the elevated BUN and creatinine) and could be indicative of renal involvement. There can also be other causes, such as parasites (e.g., hemobartonella infection). Do you know, or can you ask your vet, if the anemia is regenerative or non-regenerative? Tonya's CRF site has a great deal of information on anemia if you're interested in the reading.
 
Re: 12/28 Todd AMPS 433, +3 335 (With question and labs!)

just stopping in to say hello...and best of luck with the extra juice...

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/28 Todd AMPS 433, +3 335 (With question and labs!)

Ya! You must be thrilled with the improvements! I would be elated.
Did you get a urinalysis done?
How is todd feeling today? Eating? Urinating appropriately? Cleaning self? Social?

Hope the increase helps his bg's. Since you are home so much its a great opportunity to get some curves done. How lucky!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top